We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm in Thamel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moonlight

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Moonlight to your Saves list
Hotel Moonlight
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paknajol, Thamel, Kathmandu 6667, Nepal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Beaconsfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Calm in Thamel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here on our second visit to Kathmandu and found it excellent value. Just on the edge of Thamel but only 5 minutes walk to shops, agents etc, it had a very calm and relaxing feel, quite different from the frantic street life. Prakesh (the manager) was delightful and very helpful in making sure we had a good stay. Breakfast was included in the room rate and, a roof terrace and free Internet in the lobby were an added bonus.
Good value and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    49
    36
    8
    7
See reviews for
22
36
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SIngapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

i stayed in this hotel the last time in 2008 dec, the hotel had since been taken over by anoter management, which is super. The did a massive clean up changed all the carpets, good good , no cigarette smell, the Hotel manager goes beyond his role as a manager to help you do things. the place is a good place to rest because of its quiet at night. Rooms are clean, free internet a bonus.

A good place to come to stay, this hotel was recommended to me by my trekking company himalayan heart day treks, a very professional company. i will definitely stay here when i come with my family in 2 months time

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed here both before and after our trek, and were able to store gear while we were away for 2 weeks, which was great. There were 8 of us, including 3 teenagers, so we got to see several rooms; rooms were all a good size, most with a little balcony, and roomy bathroom. Very clean, with bottled water provided each day, and very helpful and friendly staff. The rooftop garden is a great place to have a pre-dinner drink and enjoy the views of Kathmandu :-) Close to Thamel, but not right in it, which we enjoyed. There is a lovely small, private garden at the front of the hotel, spacious lobby and the restaurant makes delicious buffet breakfasts. Beds were a little hard!

Room Tip: Take a look at what is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I stayed here with my friends last june. I like this place very much. Actually the hotel is just outside the Thamel but not so far to main strip. The rooms are clean, there is a beautiful garden outside the hotel and good lobbey area. The staff are very friendly here with the good hospitality. There is generator for back up power when needed. The internet service is very fast and WiFi everywhere.

I enjoyed this hotel very much, when I come back to Nepal I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I stayed here last february with my friends johnson for a weeks.The hotel is located just outside the thamel area but near the main strip.The hotel has a clean room,lovely garden and WiFi everywhere.staff are so friendly having good hospitality.They will provides everything in a resonabel price and very good price negotiable for longer stays.i like this hotel excellent.so when i came back again promisely i will stay here again.

Room Tip: just look and feel once times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

At best this Hotel is ok for trekkers. For business it was horrible. The internet was out the first 8 days. Most of the time the internet did not work on the lobby floors above the main lobby. Electricity is only available in 2 shifts of 5 hours each so getting laptops charged is tricky. They were agreeable to charge it at the front desk from generator supplied electric.
Most of the time the TV did not work-fuzzy. Bathrooms were all kind of weird-very budget level-water not shutting off completely, knobs falling off in shower. Beds are hard as a rock-painful. I was staying with my business associate so we were in 2 rooms and changed our rooms 2 to 3 times each. If you stay one side faces a religious shrine which is noisy in the morning. One positive-the hotel manager was always around to hear our requests-to deal with problems. However the internet was beyond his scope to get fixed right away. Internet important for business, not so much for the trekkers. Would not go back. Stayed 16 nights there. Because there is no electricity when the maids do the rooms-my room was never vacuum cleaned. Our feet got really dirty from the carpets.

Room Tip: ask for room on parking lot side to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Moonlight-10, Owner at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your review. We are extremely sorry for the internet was not working during your stay at our hotel. It was the problems the internet provider which was nationally. During the dry season we had loads shedding 14 hours a day in Nepal but we manage the generator at least ten hours, but now we had new generator and there won’t be any problems. Anyway we thank y so much for your staying with us and comment about us, we are improving it our best for the coming days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

This hotel is right outside the busiest section of Thamel, so the noise is drastically reduced and you can achieve a peaceful night's sleep; however, it's just a short walk to the heart of the action.
This hotel is clean, extremely well managed and a great price.
We have stayed at several other hotels in Kathmandu, including a 5 star facility, but would only return to Hotel Moonlight. This hotel is every bit as good and a fraction of the cost but offers so much more than the "bargain" hotels in the area (including hot water and free wifi).
The electricity situation in Nepal has drastically improved with little or no "loadshedding periods" right now, so the hot water and wifi were constant.
The staff here are always helpful and responsive to our needs and go went out of their way to help us with needed items.
The restaurant is also a wonderful addition in this hotel, especially the breakfast buffet with a good variety and tasty items.
We would highly recommend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Moonlight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moonlight

Address: Paknajol, Thamel, Kathmandu 6667, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moonlight 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Hotel Moonlight would like to add another dimension to your memories of this wondrous Himalayan Kingdom. We not only provide you with comfortable accommodation, but also friendly service and right information for your safe and comfortable journey. The charms and delights of the fabled city of Kathmandu wait for you at Hotel Moonlight. Though situated in the heart of the bustling downtown area, Hotel Moonlight is an oasis of tranquility. There's a lobby on every floor to ensure personalized service. The hotel also has an adjoining annex with 17 rooms, with the same amenities and all luxuriously furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Moonlight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moonlight, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.