We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Village Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Park Village Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Park Village Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 21218 | Budanil-Kantha, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Anand, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for two nights in February 2014; pretty good services I would say. Located in the foothills it offers great panoramic views. It was very cold, though, with each room provided with a stand-alone heater. Also, there was no tea or coffee available inside the rooms. The food was good, both lunch and dinner and the bar has a nice British retro touch. All in all, pretty good.

Room Tip: Ask for hot water bags and umbrellas beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Village H, Manager at Park Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Park Village Resort thanks you for kindly reviewing our property. We hope to host you again in near future and definitely take couple of matter you mentioned into the concern and improvise immediately.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    55
    11
    11
    1
See reviews for
22
13
14
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Although it may be located approximately 15km from town, which takes almost an hour to get to while the road is under construction, it is definitely worth the effort it takes to get to this resort. Located in the foothills of the Shivapuri mountain, this resort caters for up to 180 people and offers exceptional facilities with a range of conference rooms to fit your specific needs. The jewel in the crown however is the staff, they made our stay a pleasure and catered for our every need with a gentle reminder that anything we asked for wasn't a problem. For those of you who want to taste local cuisine they offer a menu that is delicious and will cater for a range of preferences from Halal to western dishes. I highly recommend this venue for corporate functions, it not only offers an exceptional service but offers comfortable accommodation and clean air with breath-taking views. As you can tell... I truly enjoyed my time here. Shame I couldn't take advantage of the yoga and meditation but I enjoyed their generous hospitality and support instead!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with AC in February, it is quite chilly in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Village H, Manager at Park Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Park Village Resort thanks you for kindly reviewing our property. We hope to host you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed there for a night in December 2013. The restaurant is good. The rooms are good, but it is very cold as there is standalone heater in each room. The windows have lots of openings, so the heaters don't make sense at all.

If you have old ppl staying, ask for rooms closeby to the reception, else you have to walk long to get to the room.

This is a good place if you are looking for a traditional government guest house hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

we booked two rooms during our stay here:
A standard room at Nalanda Wing & a Deluxe/Super deluxe room at Hamilton.

Couldn't fault the Hamilton deluxe room - it was like being back home- nice, clean, comfortable, warm. If there was one problem - it was the cold longish walk back to the room from the lobby on a cold, dark night. Though i imagine in warmer weather it would make a beautiful, refreshing walk. Also the deluxe room prices are a little steep.

The Nalanda room on the other hand was just your basic budget accommodation. Fairly clean though there were old stains in the bathroom, shower curtains-not cleaned and dust behind the couch. Not warm enough during cold nights even though heaters are provided. Would recommend that you take the deluxe room as after a day out in kathmandu valley you would want a warm, relaxing place to unwind.

Location :
Bad roads from the airport to the hotel : lots of potholes making it a very slow, bumpy ride which added to the already congested traffic made the trip from the airport an estimated one hour to an hour 15mins. The roads are under construction at the moment though once done up - the journey should only take 30mins. i did check with the locals - and the entire kathmandu appears to be under road construction with an estimated 2 years to completion.
Otherwise the hotel is located in a fairly peaceful, quiet area at the foot of a park. But it is far from city center. City center is where all the shopping, night life and restaurants are. Once again the road condition made the trip to city center much longer : 30 -40mins.

Hotel restaurant :
breakfast was a small affair but decent, buffet was good, a la carte menu had an overall good review from us-mainly the briyani, chicken shaslik. price is reasonable.

Spa :
tried the spa at the hotel - price was reasonable. massage was average-good. but gosh the massage rooms were cold. was shivering after the massage even though there were heaters and a blanket over you but it was not warm enough and i couldn't wait to layer up my clothes. also would recommend that you book earlier (at least an hour) as they do not have in-house massage therapist stationed there for walk-in clients and will have to call around to find out where and which therapist are free at that time. But they do have english-speaking therapist

Overall if i were to head back to Kathmandu : i may try a hotel closer to city center for shopping, variety of walking distance restaurants and nightlife, but if i were to decide on a retreat i may return to this hotel but this time will only take the deluxe room and probably visit during warmer weather to enjoy the resort and the pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Its a perfect hotel to have a relaxing time after a day filled with Neplai adventure. The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. The food is excellent and buffet has many varieties ranging from Indian to Italian cuisines.
The hotel is far from main city and with current condition of road it took us about an hour to reach to places like Thamil and Darbar square.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a quite nice place on the outskirts of Kathmandu. You need a taxi ride to the city. It consists of a nice green park with some cottages and bigger buildlings. Overall quality is 2-3 star. Mattress was a bit hard.
Staff is friendly but not overly qualified, so don't expect a lot of help if you need help beyond the usual.
I had also a lot of noise every morning because just outside the perimeter of the place some big trucks started their engines every morning and made a lot of noise. But this was particular to my room and neighbouring ones, this should not be the case in most rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Kathmandu is chaotic, noisy, dirty, but alive with friendly people, colour and interest. At the end of a day of sight-seeing or travel, Park Village Hotel is a blissful escape. The grounds are extensive, as is the range of apartment options. Ours was comfortable and air conditioned with a balcony overlooking beautiful gardens full of trees, shrubs, and manicured lawns. We booked through an agency on a deal with upgrade elements. When we arrived, we, nor the reception checked the details, so initially we were not offered what we booked. When we discovered this, they changed our room without any fuss or argument. The meals in the restaurant are good value, so don't worry about 5* prices, they are not. Staff are helpful, and pleasant. As with most hotels in the Indian sub-continent, the room services can be a bit tired. Be prepared for the missing plug, or the very slow supply of warm/hot water to bath or shower

Room Tip: Pay the extra for air-conditioned room as these are newer and better equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Village Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Village Hotel & Resort

Address: PO Box 21218 | Budanil-Kantha, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#23 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Village Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Village Hotel is managed by the famous KGH Group. PVH is located at Budhnilkantha area, which is situated at the northwest rim of the Kathmandu valley. It lies at the foothills of the Shivapuri National Park, which is designated as the most important water-shed-catchments area that feeds pure drinking water to millions. Park Village is the first resort hotel open in Budhanilkantha region which is only 15 minutes drive from crowded downtown Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Village Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Village Hotel Kathmandu
Park Village Hotel And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Village Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.