We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing encounter!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Encounter Nepal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Encounter Nepal to your Saves list
Hotel Encounter Nepal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thamel North | Ward No 29, Kathmandu 20062, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
india
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing encounter!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed before at encounter Nepal and we went to pokhara from black diamond expedition company Mr lama arrange our all tour we were satisfied with the tour and all the facilities and services that are provided us from the hotel including all the housekeeping staffs and others.also the staffs from the reception they are very helpful and make feel that your stay happy whenever we come to Nepal I surely will come to hotel encounter and highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello binodtorani !

We are pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. As customer service is our No. 1 priority and we take it very seriously from the bottom of our heart. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue with efforts to make us a leader in excellence.

Also I have forwarded your review to all our team specially to black diamond expedition company & Mr lama and all of them are so proud to hear about your review.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    171
    51
    25
    23
See reviews for
74
158
166
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girl friend we stayed on December. We booked in advance from Saudi Arab and when we arrived here it was warm welcoming from front desk and next day new year eve was wonderful party night with DJ we love it. We got here totally family environment room was nice and clean but bit outside from main Thamel staff are so friendly. Foods from the restaurant chicken mono and we most like thali set so delicious. Main things they provide us pick up service from an airport to the hotel because first time in Nepal and so much hassle at the airport thank you encounter. Regarding power short everywhere in Kathmandu is same but they will provide you power by genarator upon your request as we did once when my girl friend to ironing her dress to present on party. Hot water was not problem and every single day clean the room change towel makeup organizing room fentastic the manager call Badri we had drink one night and we shared our travel it was so goog. The hotel encounter Nepal is home away home!!!! I am gone recommend highly.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Hobk !

Tank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to our hotel. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. Also I have forwarded your review to all our team specially to Mr. Badri and he is so proud to hear about your review.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We are coming from India to visit nepal. We are staying at hotel encounter with my friends. The room was very clean and 24hour hot and cold water in the bathroom. The staff are very friendly and helpful they always try to help you the manager of the hotel awesome and friendly to all. I most recommend hotel encounter nepal.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Abhinak,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation.
Thank you for having chosen us and recommending our hotel to other travelers.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We visit in Nepal with group of nine peoples and we stayed here for three night all staff are so friendly room are clean such good garden we camp fire at night it was so good. We made tour package through travel desk and our tour was fentastic in pokhara I do recommend highly.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Hitendrasharma,

We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. I have forwarded this review to all those concerned specially Travel Desk and they all are so proud to hear about your review.

Thank you for recommending other traveler and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Encounter Nepal in the coming days.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had an awesome father/son adventure! Hotel Encounter Nepal was a oasis in Kathmandu! Fair price, friendly staff & it was safe! The rooms were modest, always had hot water & electricity. The courtyard was a good hang out! Kathmandu is super polluted & dusty so make sure your hotel is not right on a street!! Black Diamond Expedition arranged most of our travels right from the hotel. I recommend it!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello Ivan W !

We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation.Also I have forwarded your review to our Hotel Encounter and Black Diamond Expedition Team and all of them are so proud to hear about your review.

Thank you for having chosen us and encouraging with your sincere appreciation.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had booked the room for my family online based on the photos in their website and in TA. Upon checking in, both my wife and I were not satisfied with the allocated room. We decided to move to another 'better' room but had to pay up the difference. The upgraded room still was not great for the price they charge.

Service was purely towards selling more (tour plans, bus tickets, forex, ...) nothing much.

And yeah, extensive power outages in Kathmandu for over 4 to 5 hours every day - and do not expect the hotel to arrange for back up options during the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Sacred_Yatri !

We apologize for any inconvenience that was caused as your bad experience will completely ruins it. I understand your feelings.We are investigating this matter and finding the points where we were lacking.We will definitely try our best to make our rooms more valuable with adding extra amenities and necessary facilities.However, the room which you have booked is low cost budget room at which is same as shown in the website.However, out staff upgraded your rooms but again you were not satisfied even though you had paid less amount.

Regarding the travel, we always want to make sure that our guest receive the right information and service so that they don't feel like a stranger as customer service is our No. 1 priority and we take it very seriously from the bottom of our heart. Nonetheless, we apologize for any inconvenience that was caused to you and thank you for choosing our hotel. We will definitely try to provide you more better service in your next visit. We look forward to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Mr. Llama and the group at Hotel Encounter have provided endless generosity for which we are so thankful. They've gone far and beyond their point of call and we look forward to staying here again. Multilingual and can organise all trekking and activities inhouse at competitive prices.

Room Tip: Choose the sunny side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi AnnieRose !

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to our hotel. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. Also I have forwarded your review to all our team specially to Mr. Lama and group and they all are so proud to hear about your review.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Address: Thamel North | Ward No 29, Kathmandu 20062, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese Character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception? No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Majors restaurants bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms are balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hours security, free high-speed Internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. Room Capacity: Suite Super Deluxe Double Super Deluxe Single Deluxe Double Deluxe Single Standard Double Standard Single ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Encounter Nepal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.