We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three nights in Thamel- Kathmandu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Encounter Nepal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Encounter Nepal to your Saves list
Hotel Encounter Nepal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thamel North | Ward No 29, Kathmandu 20062, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Three nights in Thamel- Kathmandu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived by taxi from Bhaktapur, and our bags were whisked away by the smiling staff. Check in process was very smooth, and our luggage was taken up to our room. We were in 302 in the main building overlooking the garden / courtyard area. You hear some street noise, but having spent a week in the Boudha area, you realise that street noise is Kathmandu. The rooms are large and the bathroom floor slopes so that the water is drained, which does not happen in any other place we stayed. All staff were attentive, even the small action of taken my broken shoe to a boot maker for repair.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Yvonne v !

Your photo is wonderful. Thank you for sharing them. We are very glad that you had a really pleasant time at our hotel. We are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation and as you like our smooth service and hospitality....

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    183
    55
    25
    23
See reviews for
78
169
173
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heerlen, Limburg, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went here in oktober. We felt very welcome. We also booked a very nice trekking for a good price. Good service and every day cleaned room. We will come back here. Pramod helped us with everything. Its the guide on the photo

Room Tip: Ask for block a if possible. Its very nice and more quit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello Ralph M !

Your photos are wonderful and thank you for sharing them. We are all so proud to hear about your review. It really motivates us further to get up every day and deliver our very best. Thank you for having chosen us and encouraging us with your sincere appreciation. We do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Thank you for the sharing your photos and providing the room tips for other travelers.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Nepal Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Encounter Nepal after our trek to Mera Peak. We were stuck in Lukla for several days due to bad weather and few to no flights. When we got back to Kathmandu, it was wonderful to stay in a clean hotel with a nice bathroom! The staff was also very helpful in making sure we were able to get return flights back to the US (we had missed our original flights). The service, even for food and drinks at the restaurant, was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear aliciabear !

Thank you for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are truly honored. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team as we feel validated when customers return to our hotel.Of course, it does not come easy. Customer Service is our focus and the guiding light in all our actions.We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel, rooms, bathroom,restaurant, food & drinks, friendly & helpful staffs.

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again.

Hotel Encounter Nepal
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I was very pleased with the professionalism of the staff. Everyone made it a point to address me by name. Additionally, I wasn't sure what exactly I wanted to do during my week in Nepal. I went to the travel office in the lobby and was given a list of recommendations. Once I narrowed down what I wanted to do, the entire trip was arranged for me. I was very pleased with my experience and recommend anyone traveling to Kathmandu to stay at Hotel Encounter. It is in a great location and the staff are all wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi Kristen !

We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel, location, staffs, and also glad to know you like our travel office and we were able to organize a nice trip for you. This really validates our guiding principle of putting Customer Service as our Top Priority.
Thanks for choosing Hotel Encounter Nepal and hope you'll stay with us the next time you're in Kathmandu.

Hotel Encounter Nepal
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Henconter Nepal is very good hotel to stay in Kthamndu ...
Very quite place, is possible to stay for holiday or work ...
The room are clean and very big, there is A/C also ...
The staff is very good, managers, tour manager, waiters, receptionnists, etc. This people have every day the smile ...
When we will come in Kathmandu we will stay again in this hotel ...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Stefano !

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they sure are proud to hear about your review.
We hope to see you again soon.

Hotel Encounter Nepal
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I've been travelling for 3 months in India and Nepal and this was by far the most friendly, comfortable place that I have visited yet. The room was clean, the bed was super comfortable and lovely fresh sheets and towels. Housekeeping offered to clean my room each day, and ensured that I had adequate toilet paper, soap, fresh towels etc. All of the staff in the hotel and restaurant were above and beyond friendly and helpful. A beautiful atmosphere to just relax, and a very short walk to Thamel if and when you feel like getting amongst it. Extended my stay just to spend time in the garden relaxing and drinking chai! As a solo traveller I felt supported and safe here at all times. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Jen Jen!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and sharing your feedback in Tripadvisor. We are glad to receive your nice review of our hotel and your satisfaction with our services. It really motivates us further to get up every day and deliver our very best. Also we are glad to know that you like our hotel, facilities, beautifully atmoshperic garden with courtyard and friendly staffs.
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope that you will give us an opportunity again to welcome you back at Hotel Encounter Nepal on your next visit to Nepal.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I like it very much!
The service excelent and the people Are very helpful and nice.
the atmosphere is welcoming And pleasant. And restaurant is very good,too!
A very good place where stay in kathmandu.
I'm sure I'll be back here!!!!!!

Room Tip: I like it very much! The service excelent and the people Are very helpful and nice. the atmosphere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncounterNepal, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Encounter Nepal, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guimone,

Feels great to hear your review. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel, room, restaurant and prompt service and helpful staff of our hotel.
Thank you for choosing our hotel and we do hope to see you again during your next visit in Kathmandu.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Encounter Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Encounter Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Encounter Nepal

Address: Thamel North | Ward No 29, Kathmandu 20062, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Encounter Nepal 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Encounter Nepal is a Nepalese Character hotel on the northern edge of Thamel just 4 minutes walk away from the lively Thamel Centre, 15 minutes from Tribhuvan International Airport, and 30 minutes from the major world heritage sites. Would you like to have travel information our travel consultant at travel office will help you after your arrival next to the reception? No problem! It does not cost you any money and use public transport to get around from there! You will find the taxi or rikshaw stop which will take you to the city tour only 50 meters from the hotel. Majors restaurants bars and pubs of the city are only a 4-minute walk away. The hotel offers 36 different characters rooms all well equipped with a range of facilities and you can choose your room from 7 rooms are balcony with valley view, 16 rooms are garden facing on your preference. Hotel Encounter Nepal also offers a restaurant, renovated in 2009, with bar and sunny area, FREE WiFi, computers, 24 hours security, free high-speed Internet and free parking in front of the hotel. 25 rooms offers AC, 24 hours of electric back up although there there is 14 hours of power cut in Kathmandu. Construction Date 1991, Renovation Date 2010. Room Capacity: Suite Super Deluxe Double Super Deluxe Single Deluxe Double Deluxe Single Standard Double Standard Single ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Encounter Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encounter Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Encounter Nepal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.