We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House

Save Saved
You added Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Pakanajol Road | Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We were there for 3 nights in Oct 2010 before heading to Annapurna and planned to stay more days after Annapurna trek but was fully booked when we were back to Kathmandu.

We have booked it 2 months before arrival via email but they did not ask for the flight details since they promised for the free pick up. So, we sent again and again the email to provide information and ask for confirmation but no response from them. After long waiting (few weeks) for reply, finally we managed to get the booking by oversea call.

Anyway, they were nice. The prices of the room went up after booking but the manager, Mr Laxman was very nice to us because he still offer us the previous price. The staffs there were nice too, provide any information if you would like to know(and never force you to take any tour packages from them and the prices for any packages were reasonable).

- They also provide free luggage storage(It is so important for someone who is planning to go for any trek at least to me).
- The location is good. 5 mins walk to Thamel.
- Free internet(but only one PC).
- Hot shower (but have to wait for some time to get the hot water and the water contains some iron smell probably due to old building)
- we enjoyed the roof top garden (beautiful view and quiet there)

Conclusion, I got what I paid.

I had a pleasant trip in Kathmandu. Thank you, Mr Laxman.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    48
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
37
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

the hotel is just 5 min walk from Tahmel, so the road it not so crowded. The Owner and the Staff are really nice: they help you in everything you need: bus tickets, taxi, rooms in other cities. The terrace in the 4th floor ist very nice with flowers and threes decorated. In the hotel there is free Wi-Fi and internet.we spent in all more than one week, always comming back from different cities. I really recomend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfc245
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Great little hotel on edge of Thamel. Great value ($8 a night) for a room with fan and tv and also good value good. Staff were fantastic. Nothing fancy but couldn't fault the place and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

The three of us were on budget and I picked this one for the night when we arrived in Kathmandu. They arranged for pick-up at the airport, for free. Driver was nice. Staff also.

Our room had no air-con and no fan, so it was quite hot. They gave us a fan, which worked not too well. The room was like the simplest room I've ever seen, but you get what you paid for. The good thing is that it's in the middle of Thamel. The bad thing is that you can hear all the noise during the night. We didn't get much sleep. We just couldn't stay one more night.

Laxman, I think it's the manager, was very helpful. Staff were all friendly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Madhuban Guesthouse had really great facilities for the price. I've stayed in Thamel probably a dozen times and this is one fine and reliable stand-by. It is hard to find wireless internet at guesthouse, let alone 24 hour (with powercuts) but they have it!
Its a nice central location near Thamel but not in the center so that your not always hassled by tiger balm hawkers and the like. The staff are really helpful and kind, they helped me answer my questions about trekking routes without pushing on a sales pitch... this is a rare find most everywhere but especially in Thamel. I highly suggest it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

In Kathmandu (Nepal) at Tribhuvan Airport itself there is a Booth which is run by Thamel Hoteliers Association. You can book your room in Madhuban Guest House at the said Booth itself. A very reasonable Taxi-charge @ 150 INR is added to the Bill.
Or you can send your request via e-mail; its e-mail ID is:
[--]

The non-Deluxe double-bed room is very reasonably priced @ 300 INR (Indian Currency).

There is an in-house Restaurant; however, room-service can also be availed without any extra charge.

It also has a roof-top Garden Restaurant.

If so desired, the Guest House arranges various facilities and cross-linkages.

The Guest House is almost centrally located, and the nodal points for catching taxis or local transport (bus, mini or micro) are within a walkable distance from the Guest House. Telecommunication and e-mail facilities are also available nearby.

I had a pleasant stay.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House

Address: Pakanajol Road | Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 69 Specialty lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House has the great location just close to the tourist area Thamel. We are located in a peaceful area for sound sleep and silent rest. We are conveniently located from the airport, only 20 minutes drive. We are also 10 minutes walking distance away from the tourist bus terminal. Close enough for easy of transport yet removed enough for a peaceful environment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.