We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the stay there.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Thamel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Thamel to your Saves list
Hotel Thamel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thamel Marg 723/28 | P.O.Box. 11767, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Direct booking discount
Ranked #56 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved the stay there.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

I just returned from a 5 nite stay in Kathmandu at Hotel Thamel.
This is quiet Hotel in a busy tourist area.
The place was clean and neat and housekeeping did their job quite well.
It is a budget hotel which is worth more.
The reception was very nice and helpful.
They have a small restaurant and it provides food round the clock.
I am surely going back next time with my family to this hotel.
Value for money!

  • Liked — Value and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Hmmmm.nothing.
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    62
    36
    12
    6
See reviews for
25
32
44
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

Good hotel, friendly helpfull staff, Clean and nice rooms, good service!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

Hotel Thamel definately is one of the better hotels in Kathmandu. Centrally located without being in the middle of the bustle that is Thamel, the rooms are very good for Nepali standards.
The staff is extremely nice and Anis in the reception seems to know everything about Kathmandu.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

We have been travelling for almost 6 months now in a number of countries and we have never met such a friendly hotel staff!

In peak season, we arrived one day earlier than our reservation after a very tiring journey. We knew that this might be a risk. And indeed, the hotel was fully booked for that day. But the staff of the hotel has arranged a room in another hotel around the corner. They brought us there, helped us with the luggage, it was great. The other day we moved into the Thamel Hotel.

We extended our stay twice, which put them into trouble, but they are very flexible and helped us over and over again, always with a smile.

The rooms are value for money, most of them with a balconey with a view on a little alley which is quiet compared to the other streets of Katmandu.

The bed was good, not too hard and not too soft. A relief after our journey in Tibet and China where they only have very hard beds. And always warm water!

We do recommend Hotel Thamel!

Frederik and Regine, The Netherlands

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

After staying at the Hyatt Regency and being disappointed, we stayed at the Hotel Thamel upon our guide's recommendation. It's in a convenient location (Thamel has easy access to restaurants, shops, laundry, etc.) but tucked away in an alley, so that it is relatively quiet. The AC/heating is a window unit, so that also provides some white noise. The staff is friendly and efficient. This is not a luxury hotel by any means, but if all you need is a basic comfortable hotel in a central location, this is a good bet.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Thamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thamel

Address: Thamel Marg 723/28 | P.O.Box. 11767, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Thamel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This centrally located hotel is situated in downtown Thamel and features comfortable rooms that are perfect for budget travelers. The hotel is regularly visited by local and international travelers thanks to its convenient location close to many of the areas best trekking and mountain climbing sites. Each of the 47 guest rooms are comfortable and clean and offer good value accommodation with basic amenities including air conditioning, television and mini bar. The Thamel Hotel is well equipped with rentable trekking accessories, wildlife tours, rafting and other sightseeing tours which can all be arranged at the reception area. The hotel also features a delicious restaurant that serves local Nepalese and Indian cuisine and there are plenty of local food stalls for guests to sample just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Thamel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thamel Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Thamel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.