We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Norbu Linka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Norbu Linka to your Saves list
Hotel Norbu Linka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   GPO Box 21288 | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel in convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I booked a suite for 5 nights for £520 through booking.com. For that price I was really expecting a bit of luxury. Our room was on the fourth floor (no lift). It was a very basic room - there wasn't even shower gel in the bathroom. Kathmandu is a very poor city, but I doubt the profits from this hotel are going fully to the poor. I would say that £40 per night, AT THE MOST, would have been a fair price for this room.

Aside from the rip off price, the staff were really nice, particularly at reception and the bed was really comfortable, which is very important on a busy trip.

The bar was very expensive (for spirits) and no one seemed to go to it, so there was no atmosphere there.

I got the impression that the management would like to have sold us trips but we bought them instead in local travel agents, where I presume they are a lot cheaper. I did grow tired of people at the hotel thinking we had bottomless pits of money to spend. I for one am not earning that much at the moment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Surb9 !

We apologize for any inconvenience that was caused as your bad experience at the end of your stay completely ruins it. I understand your feelings.We are investigating this matter and finding the points where we were lacking.We will definitely try our best to make our rooms more valuable with adding extra amenities and necessary facilities in the bar as well that will match the price. We thank you for reporting this problem to us on time, which would have gone unnoticed if you hadn't done so. Regarding the trips, we just want to provide you the travel service and useful information during your trip but due to someone forcing behavior, the management faces the bullets. Alternatively, thank you for liking our reception staffs, convenient location and beds.

Thank you for your feedback again and we hope this incident will not make you away to come back to Hotel Norbu Linka. We really look forward to welcoming you back again so that you will definitely feel the differences on your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    59
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
33
48
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I made a mistake with the date of my booking but was very relieved when the staff found me another room at the same great rate as my mistaken booking. Room was large and quiet. Excellent shower with clean hot water (much appreciated after a long trek!). Warm bed, good food for breakfast, good free wireless internet (although a little slow from the room). Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hello Shane !

We are very glad to hear your review during your stay with us and thank you so much for rating us so highly on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel, room, bed, breakfast, hot shower and free WiFi.
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was a great spot in the city for peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the main Thamel drag. The 24/7 restaurant had good food, the receptionist and other hotel staff were very nice, and the beds and blankets were warm and comfortable. The hot water and water pressure in the hotel was also amazing, probably one the best among any hotel I've ever been to. The only downside to the hotel is that the internet was spotty, so I had to use my data tethering on my Ncell phone a lot, which was expensive. Unfortunately I haven't yet found a super-strong internet connection in the city, so I can't complain too much, but if you're in need of a solid internet connection when you're traveling, I suggest grabbing an Ncell SIM on your arrival into the city. All in all the stay was nice at the hotel and when I return to Nepal I'll likely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 5th floor have a lovely balcony/garden area outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hello Philip Moore !

Thank you for writing such a detailed response about your stay on Trip Advisor and we hope we can see your review in Agoda as well. Hearing positive reviews delighting our guests is the fuel that keeps our engine going. As customer service is our 1st priority and we work very hard to deliver out of the box service to you. Regarding a little bit of slow internet as you know Nepal internet speed is quite slow as compare to other country internet but also after receiving your feedback we management have decided to provide the fast pre-paid internet service in coming days to specially internet user guest. I think it makes sense to do so.

Thanks for having chosen to stay at Hotel Norbu Linka. Hope you choose to stay here on your subsequent visit to KTM.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed in Kathmandu on our way to and from Bhutan but in two different hotels. Hotel Norbu Linka was our hands down favourite because of the location and the unbelievable fact that it was actually quiet! I didn't think you could find a quiet corner in Kathmandu. The hotel staff were all really pleasant and helpful, and the Jasmine Bar attached to the hotel was the perfect place to chill and have a great breakfast and quiet cup of coffee before heading out to explore the chaotic city. Our room was on the top floor (4th - no elevator) and I don't know if it is the largest or if all of the rooms are as spacious but it had a separate sitting area. The welcome basket of fruit was much appreciated as was THE HOT WATER! Yay! I definitely recommend the Norbu Linka but it is pretty difficult to find so I would recommend having the hotel book your taxi from the airport so there is no confusion. The only thing I will mention is that we didn't use the tour services of the hotel as we found them to be much more expensive than other options for our day trip to Bhaktapur.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi NoSweatTravelBlog,

Thank you for rating us so highly on TripAdvisor. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team. Of course, it does not come easy. Customer Service is our focus and the guiding light in all our actions.We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel, location, room, restaurant, buffet, breakfast, friendly & helpful staffs and of course the support our hotel team. I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they sure are proud to hear about your review.

Thanks for choosing Hotel Norbu Linka and hope you'll stay with us the next time you're in Kathmandu.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This recently, 2012, renovated hotel has an excellent atmosphere, it is cozy, with very friendly, helpful personnel. The spacious lobby, the fine restaurant and not to be forgotten, the real ' Irish' pub (Jasmine Bar), where it is fine to relax, to have a beer, a glass of wine in the comfortable chairs or at the bar.
The rooms are very reasonable in price and has given me all comfort, it is very nice and clean, beds are really comfortable. The free breakfast buffet has an excellent choice of European, Indian and of course Nepali food.

Room Tip: choose top rooms, this will give you Kathmandu mountain view and......to reach the 5th floor by usin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Jan Wessels !

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and sharing your photographs with us. We are glad to receive your nice review of our hotel and your satisfaction with our services. It really motivates us further to get up every day and deliver our very best. Also we highly appreciate your feedback and room tips.
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope that you will give us an opportunity again to welcome you back at Hotel Norbu Linka on your next visit to Nepal.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We recently stayed at norbu linka for 3 nights in October 2013. I cannot saw enough nice things about the hotel,the staff and the service. Our stay from the very beginning was comfortable and pleasant.We were picked up at the airport on time.The rooms were spacious and clean with comfortable beds.The hot water and AC worked perfectly.The travel agency at the hotel booked our tours and side excursions.We encountered professionalism,courtesy and warmth throughout our stay.The staff from the management on to the porters are very friendly and helpful.The hotel is conveniently located in a quiet part of Thamel.The walk to Darbar square is not too long and there are numerous restaurants and souvenir shops along the way.We highly recommend choosing this hotel.We would definitely stay here again.
Jayant and Mridula Paranjpe.
New York,USA.

Room Tip: A deluxe room on the higher floors would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Jayant and Mridula Paranjpe !

Thank you for rating us so highly on TripAdvisor. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team. Of course, it does not come easy. Customer Service is our focus and the guiding light in all our actions.We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel, room, friendly & helpful staffs, quite location nearby to numerous restaurants and souvenir shops. Thank you for liking our professionalism, courtesy and warmth throughout your stay and of course the support our travel desk and all hotel team.I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they sure are proud to hear about your review.

Thanks for choosing Hotel Norbu Linka and hope you'll stay with us the next time you're in Kathmandu.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Have stayed here since 2006 during my everest expedition 2006. this is my 4 th time staying in Norbu Linka and they have improved the rooms and its very nice and clean. and the breakfast in fantastic. the service by the staff are fantastic and my first choice hotel in Nepal.

Room Tip: All room are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Ravi,

Feels great to hear your review. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel and improved rooms, buffet breakfast and prompt service of the staff of our hotel.
Thank you for choosing our hotel every time as your first choice hotel in Nepal.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Norbu Linka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Norbu Linka

Address: GPO Box 21288 | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Norbu Linka 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Thamel, Hotel Norbulinka features a mix of modern décor and traditional carvings and artworks. It offers rooms with a private bathroom an on-site restaurant and a free airport pick-up service.Room are air-conditioned and feature a wardrobe and cable TV. A private bathroom includes a shower and free toiletries.Hotel Norbulinka is 3 km from both Central Bus Park Gongabu and Kathmandu Durbar Square. Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu is 6 km from the hotel.Guests have access to free Wi-Fi in the hotel’s common areas. A safety deposit box is available at the 24-hour reception. A currency exchange and tour desk is conveniently located at the hotel, which also provides laundry and dry cleaning services at an extra cost.Restaurant serves a variety of cuisines including Nepalese, Tibetan and Indian. Jasmine Bar offers a wide selection of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Norbu Linka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Norbu Linka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.