We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Friendly Staff, Great Stay"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Norbu Linka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Norbu Linka to your Saves list
Hotel Norbu Linka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   GPO Box 21288 | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Banepa
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Friendly Staff, Great Stay"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I visit Kathmandu often and prefer to stay in Thamel because it the best tourist area in the city. This time I stayed in this wonderful hotel. I just loved the location, despite being in the busy Thamel this hotel is quiet and calm, rooms are big, nice and clean. I enjoyed my evenings in their Jasmine Cafe & Bar with a wonderful drinks and foods and the price is reasonable. i recommend this hotel to everyone and I will definitely be back on my next trip.
'Value For Money'

Room Tip: Every rooms are goods for sound sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank You Sir for having chosen to stay with us. We are absolutely delighted to learn about your experience at Hotel Norbu Linka. We are very happy to know that you liked every aspect of our Service. We welcome you to visit us again!

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu, Nepa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    59
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
33
48
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Although I do not wish to write a bad review, I wouldn't agree that this hotel is a "Home from Home".

I stayed for 1 night last weekend and although first impressions were excellent around the Reception and Restaurant/Bar area, I wasn't at all impressed with the room standard.

I stayed in room 301 which is a very tired looking room and the bathroom is in a great need of refurbishment although I will say that the bed was comfortable and we even had quilts which was a great surprise up on check in.

I found all the staff pleasant but not enough to personally name any on here and it was a little concerning that the Bar Attendant tried to charge us TAX on top of the price list on the bar drinks which was not advertised anywhere!

One thing I think needs to be address is your Breakfast waiters need to check and make sure they have taken orders correctly. I wanted Beans on Toast with a Fried Egg which I was told I could not have at first! He then said I could have it, so he brought me 2 fried eggs with Salad on one plate along with beans on toast on another and then delivered me an extra plate of toast to go with it! This I found quite odd but did not wish to make a fuss as there was definitely a language barriers with the waiters.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback. Our new management have recently took over Hotel Norbu Linka at mid of July. We have already finished to renovate our rooms and amenities but we have our plans to renovate the bathroom in upcoming days. Pertaining to tax and service charge it was mentioned in our menu at the buttom which you may have overlooked on it. Nevertheless, should you have the bills send it to us we will look into it. In addition, with regards to the food and beverage service at restaurant we have just hired new candidates. We will certainly devote plenty of time to groom and train them well up to the standard. Thank you for your feedback again and we hope this incident will not make you away to come back to Hotel Norbu Linka. We really look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

double rooms are comfortable. singles are quiet small (both 44 USD per night and person). most of the staff are very friendly, some felt very busy. if you need it more quiet: rooms on the 4th floor are not recommended due to the noises on the roof garden when people move their chairs or something else. unfortunately, postcards that were delivered to the hotel's mail box have never been sent out. therefore, leave your postcards rather in the bookshop than in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Hane !

Thank you for your feedback.Great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.Yes, rooms for single occupancy is smaller than double as it is designed for single occupant.Pertaining to the postcard delivery we thank you for reporting this problem to us on time, which would have gone unnoticed if you hadn't done so. However, we will look into the issue and increase our service standard in our upcoming days.

Thank you for dropping your comments!
We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

beautiful hotel with beautiful service. loved staying there and hopefully will come again soon. the places is nice to stay in and the view is nice. loved everything about the hotel. the peaople were very nice and friendly. i definitely would visit again.

Room Tip: for me all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi Tenzin !

Thank you for rating us so high on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that you liked every aspect of our Service.We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience, and all of us here sincerely hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Norbu Linka Kathmandu on your next visit to Nepal.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Friendly staff, welcoming and always willing to please. This is a budget hotel, in a budget area; rooms are basic but clean. Electricity cuts out often but AC and hot water works. WiFi works fine all day, any floor. Breakfast is fresh and plentiful. Location is not too bad once you get your bearings. Close enough to everything yet far enough to enjoy the quiet amongst the bustling, noisy, dusty city. Mainly a trekker hotel. Lots of shops, tour agents nearby...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Ralcolm !

Thank you for liking our Hotel Norbu Linka. We are very glad that we could make your holiday in Nepal comfortable.As customer service is our 1st priority,we as a hotel team members haven been working every day & night to provide more better service to our valuable guests.Also we have taken note of your comments which will be shared with our entire team.We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belluno, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

During our 7th staying in KTM, the trek Agency, proposed to us this Hotel; we stayed there 3 nights enough to understand that will be our favourite hotel in Thamel.
Although you are only 5 minutes walking from center of Thamel Chowk, because of its innere location, you are far from the terrible , continous noises of barsa, pubs, shops and traffic.
The rooms given to our group, were all very clean ( the toilet too !) and the bed , large and very confortable; every room has wi-fi access and there are free morning news papers in the reception.
All facilities, lights, wi-fi and hot water are always running because , when the electricity stops ( very common in KTM) this Hotel has its own power generator.
If you want a city viewyou can ask for higher floors; the roof top terrace is a real fantastic place where spent evening time with KTM lights.
The bar (Jasmine bar) and the Garden Cafè are inside the Hotel anda are open every all round day and night: sometimes it would be very useful !
On our last night, the Trek Agency offered us a complimentary farewell in this Hotel: the Nepali cuisine has been absolutely tasting and enjoyable.
I dind't like too much indeed the old modern ceiling of Hall and Dinner Room; the same the boutique has something interesting but is too small.
The most important thing in our opinion remains the welcome and services of managers and all staff: day and night they gave us the ffeling to stay at home; so it's a real good title for this 3*** hotel : A Home Away From Home !
In KTM we stayed in lots of Hotel, but next time we will ask for this Norbu Linka Hotel, again .... definitely ! PAOLO

Room Tip: Higher floors have rooms with an exciting view of KTM, particularly in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Paolo G !

Thank you so much for writing such a detailed response about your stay on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to know that you liked every aspect of our Service.However,prioritizing customer service is our guiding principle which keeps our hotel going and it is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. Your comments will be shared with our entire team.

Thank you once again for sharing your wonderful experience and we hope you'll stay with us the next time you're in Kathmandu.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Who says big things do not come in small packages?????? Try Hotel Norbu Linka ,satisfaction guaranteed in reliable price.The Hotel is filled with staffs who bear a quality to satisfy their guests with all the services they provide.Though being in the heart of Thamel , Hotel Norbu Linka provides a peace full environment to the guests. In short we can call it 'HOME AWAY FROM HOME'

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hello!
Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments. As customer delight has always been our first priority and we're glad we were able to have delighted you with our service.Thank you for having chosen to stay with us and we hope you'll stay with us during your next visit.

-Jeshon
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Norbu Linka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Norbu Linka

Address: GPO Box 21288 | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Norbu Linka 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Thamel, Hotel Norbulinka features a mix of modern décor and traditional carvings and artworks. It offers rooms with a private bathroom an on-site restaurant and a free airport pick-up service.Room are air-conditioned and feature a wardrobe and cable TV. A private bathroom includes a shower and free toiletries.Hotel Norbulinka is 3 km from both Central Bus Park Gongabu and Kathmandu Durbar Square. Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu is 6 km from the hotel.Guests have access to free Wi-Fi in the hotel’s common areas. A safety deposit box is available at the 24-hour reception. A currency exchange and tour desk is conveniently located at the hotel, which also provides laundry and dry cleaning services at an extra cost.Restaurant serves a variety of cuisines including Nepalese, Tibetan and Indian. Jasmine Bar offers a wide selection of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Norbu Linka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Norbu Linka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.