We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brand new hotel.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Norbu Linka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Norbu Linka to your Saves list
Hotel Norbu Linka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   GPO Box 21288 | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Vijayawada, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“brand new hotel.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

i loved its location,rooms are spacious,cozy and clean..and the rooms on the south side are quiter, best part was d roof top garden restaurant, if u r nt even going out u cn enjoy your beautiful nepal evenings there,staff is too friendly and helpful. wud love to stay here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: rooms are spacious,cozy and clean..and the rooms on the south side are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Purva,

Namaste and Greetings From Hotel Norbu Linka !

We are pleased to receive your nice review of our hotel and your satisfaction with our services.
If you remembered we've renovated and refurbished our restaurant which will be open 24/7 days named as "JASMINE CAFE AND BAR".
We hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Norbu Linka on your next visit to Nepal.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    59
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
33
48
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Opinion depends on whether you are on your way or returning from a teahouse trek to Everest Base-camp. It seemed better on our return. The hotel staff were wonderful, the hotel rooms could use some work as well as the bathrooms. Only some of the rooms have air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hi kilichick1 !

We are pleased to receive your nice review and your satisfaction with our services. Thank you for writing such a detailed response about your stay on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to inform you that we have recently renovated our hotel and all rooms are fully Air Con. Moreover, we also added up Jasmine Bar in our hotel where you can enjoy your drinks with either watching sports or listening music till late night.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The Norbu Linka is not the newest or the most attractive in Thamel District. The rooms can be small and the lobby dark. Some of the electrical outlets don't work, and the coffee shop is so-so. But the Norbu Linka is cool, in a old-school kind of way. The hard-core trekkers and mountaineers stay here. Driven people come in and out. Serious conversations in foreign accents are the rule. You feel like you've left tourist Nepal behind and entered a secret fraternity of the genuinely alive. The service-oriented staff is probably the most knowledgeable in Kathmandu about those distant horizons and deep snows. You feel safe with them, even if spicy curry is your biggest adventure. You will probably want to keep it a secret when you get home, and share it with only with those you trust.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest !

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.
Customer service is our No. 1 priority always, and we always prioritize your comfort and well being. Also we would like to inform you that we have recently renovated all our rooms by adding Air Conditioning in all our rooms and overall hotel interior and exterior.Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope that you will stay with us again !

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Tucked away yet close to the vibrant heart of Thamel we found the hotel quiet and safe with very helpful staff and a good breakfast - ideal before heading off for a trek - hotel entrance is hidden away and could be difficult to find

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hello Peter !

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to our hotel. We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Norbu Linka Team
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Get away from the hassle and hustle of central Thamel and stay at the Norbu Linka just a three minute walk from central Thamel. The location is actually quiet and very safe. The staff is very helpful and cares about each individual guest and their specific needs in Nepal. The hotel will arrange any tour or trek. They have a taxi service to and from the airport in KTM which is very helpful for first time travelers to Nepal. In addition, this hotel is Nepali owned so you will be supporting the local people by staying here. Stay a whole month and you will be like family when you leave!! Namaste!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNorbulinka, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste and Greetings From Hotel Norbu Linka !

We are pleased to receive your nice review of our hotel and your satisfaction with our services.
If you remembered we've renovated and refurbished our restaurant which will be open 24/7 days named as "JASMINE CAFE AND BAR".
We hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Norbu Linka on your next visit to Nepal.

Kind Regards,
Jeshon S
E-Commerce Manager
Hotel Norbu Linka
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

My friend and I were volunteering in Nepal for a few months in 2006 and we were given a tip by a previous visitors to stay in Norbu Linka. Given this was my first trip to Nepal, I was worried about finding somewhere safe because Kathmandu is a bit scary for a first time traveller! We didnt book in advance at all, we just wandered in and enquired. The staff were lovely and spoke good english, the rooms were very reasonably priced and the were lovely and clean with hot showers (after slumming it in Thankot for a while this was just heavenly!!). The secruity guard was always smiley and greeted us everytime we saw him. But most importantly for me, they offered a safe and secure storage for our bags while we went off on our various trips around Nepal, one of these being a month or so. They also have a great restaurant which is open quite late! It can be located down side street, but Kathmandu is generally made up loads of little side/ backstreets! This is not well lit at night so dont wander around there on your own if your a bit on the cautious side like me! They also offer a safe where you can store any valuables, also increadibly handy. This hotel was a place for us to return to, as it was always very safe and we felt welcomed there. If you are visiting Kathmandu I suggest you take a trip there as its only a few minutes walk from the main street/ shops and restaurants there. But also about 5 minutes away from OR2K, which is a great place to chill out and eat! Hope this has been of some help. Enjoy your trip.

  • Liked — It was clean, safe and comfortable.
  • Disliked — The entrance is down a side street which is quite dark at night time
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnorbulinka, Owner at Hotel Norbu Linka, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
It feels great to hear your wonderful review.We are glad we were able to have delighted you with our service.I will make our team to read your review, they will definitely be proud of their hard work after reading your review.Hope to see you again during your next visit.
-Jeshon
Hotel Norbu Linka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Norbu Linka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Norbu Linka

Address: GPO Box 21288 | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Norbu Linka 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Thamel, Hotel Norbulinka features a mix of modern décor and traditional carvings and artworks. It offers rooms with a private bathroom an on-site restaurant and a free airport pick-up service.Room are air-conditioned and feature a wardrobe and cable TV. A private bathroom includes a shower and free toiletries.Hotel Norbulinka is 3 km from both Central Bus Park Gongabu and Kathmandu Durbar Square. Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu is 6 km from the hotel.Guests have access to free Wi-Fi in the hotel’s common areas. A safety deposit box is available at the 24-hour reception. A currency exchange and tour desk is conveniently located at the hotel, which also provides laundry and dry cleaning services at an extra cost.Restaurant serves a variety of cuisines including Nepalese, Tibetan and Indian. Jasmine Bar offers a wide selection of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Norbu Linka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Norbu Linka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.