We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casita De Boudhanath

La Casita De Boudhanath
Boudhanth 6, Kathmandu, Nepal
+(977)9813614384
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 385 restaurants in Kathmandu
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Spanish Home Style Restaurant Inside the Awasome Boudha Stupa. In La Casita you can enjoy one of The best views of Boudha and all The Monasteries at the Mountains . Its like a small Oasis where enjoy a Coffee or any of our Great juices, mocktails or cocktails at the rooftop . In La Casita you can experiment The real Spanish taste of food and Tapas. Best selection of Spanish menu feeling at home.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

After visiting the Boudhanath Stupa we've decided that we would have some lunch somewhere, and even though it wasn't our first choice, we went to eat at La Casita. I'm very happy that our decision led us here.

We went up on the balcony, having a great view of the Stupa, with very comfortable seats as well. We ordered some juices which were really tasty, and very large! The food that followed was really good as well, and all for a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la casita k, Owner at La Casita De Boudhanath, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear friends,
thanks very much for choosing La Casita for your meal.
I am very glad to know that you really liked all What you drink and eat and that you enjoyed in our nice Terrace.
Thanks very much for this nice coment.
Wish to See you again!!!
Best regards from all of us in La Casita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    51
    10
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big disappointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After reading rave reviews on this restaurant, I was really looking forward to eating there. The interior decoration is refreshing, thoughtful and tasteful. However, in spite of the looming rain clouds, I was asked not to eat in the downstairs empty restaurant space, but strongly 'encouraged' to eat on the top balcony. The food was not only a disappointment, but gave rise to a wicked stomach ache and the typical 'by-products'. I can only attribute it to either the watered down mint lemonade or the somewhat rancidy spahetti with tomato sauce.

Maybe just a bad day for them - I'm sure it is normally a wonderful place to dine and hang out. However, it's also one of the more expensive places in Boudha which was quite an unwelcome surprise following the tummy troubles.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estrellaelectrica, Propietario at La Casita De Boudhanath, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi dear customer!!!
We really regret to hear that you did not like the food and the drink you chose in our restaurant.So sad that you did not like nothing,
I can say that is really weird that you felt our spaguetti rancidy cause all our FOOD is FRESH. We cook every single food in the day. Maybe you did not like the style. So i would like to ask you ,due to our way of treat the food, that maybe could be possible that you got your stomach problems in another place? Or did you eat that day only in La Casita?
We have so many regular customers who eat almost everydays here and nobody reported problems like this one before . But i am really so sorry to know that you got stomach problems, in my place or whereever. Hope you are feeling better.
The water is clean and all the products we use are treated with extremly care cause i am spanish and know these problems and all my team is trainned to look after everything as i said with extremly care. But we are not perfect and i will take this feedback as an alert and will look after even more.

I had wished that you had reported to my staff at the right moment your complaints and for sure we had tried to make you happy on time and i find that is the best way to improve , knowing the problems on the rigth moment and the best way to give satisfaction to our dear customers fixing any problems .


But i am a bit dissapoint with you, when you said that we forced you to eat in the terrace. Nobody force to any customers to sit up or down
We just maybe recomended you to sit upstairs cause is the best place to enjoy the views but never if its rainning, maybe down was booked by someone else and in that case you had to sit wherever was a free space . We have down space for customers, so why we should force you to sit up? Belive me that this was a missunderstanding for sure !!
Wish you can give a New chance to us to show you that Maybe was a bad day for all !!!
Anyway, Belive me that i really apreciate you coment and will make us improve more.
Best from all the Team and looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favourite restaurant in Kathmandu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I lived in Boudha for just over a month and I returned to La Casita many times because it was by far the best restaurant in the area. The staff's friendliness is infectious and the food is excellent, as well as reasonably priced. I would particularly recommend the Spanish tortilla but the menu has a large range to suit all tastes, even imported iberico ham. The whole restaurant is a labour of love, with the attention to detail evident in everything from the beautifully bright decor to the creative menus. It's big enough that you have a choice of three different floors, each with a slightly different atmosphere, but small enough to give it a cosy feel both in the daytime and at night. All three floors have a fantastic view of the stupa, as well as covering to keep you dry in the rainy season.

It can be a bit tricky to find as the entrance isn't directly facing the stupa - look for a side street a little bit before (if you're going round the stupa clockwise) the main exit of the stupa and the restaurant name is painted on the wall and the door is down the little alley. A blackboard is usually outside to give you the day's specials. As an added bonus, the restaurant has wifi and is open late (until about 10pm if I remember correctly).

I can't wait to return to La Casita again next time I'm in Kathmandu. A big thanks to all the staff for many great meals!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la casita k, Owner at La Casita De Boudhanath, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear friend,
thanks so much for such a nice coment.
We feel so happy to know that you liked our place so much.
Looking forward to see you again in La Casita de Boudhanath
All The best from all The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Well done! Keep it up and good luck Casita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Take two young and lovely Spanish, rich in culture, experiences, passion for work and life.
Choose the most spiritual and evocative place in Kathmandu.
Joined the more polite and friendly guys of the Nepalese capital.
Well! You have the explosive recipe of "La Casita"!

Freshly cooked food with taste and simplicity; import products to give a real Mediterranean hint at the feet of Himalaya. Follow the advices of Moon and Daniel, always caring, attentive and generous. Select the menu of the day. Relax on the panoramic terrace. Chat with the staff or listen to the life swarming around the Stupa. At any time. Nothing can go wrong.

Trust the word of an Italian who will come back soon

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la casita k, Owner at La Casita De Boudhanath, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear friend,
thanks so much .
As a regular customer you were for some weeks we really want to thank you for choosing us as your daily restaurant and encourage us to Keep doing our best. We love to know that you liked La Casita a lot .
Looking forward to see you again soon
Best from all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“My favorite spot in Boudhanath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Fell in love with La Casita 1st sight. Good, polite service always. Fresh looking and tasting food and a great spanish menu, just loved the gaspacho.

Good view on the stupa and a roof terrace.

I heartily recommend this place for all who visit boudha for a spanish experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la casita k, Owner at La Casita De Boudhanath, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear friend,
thanks so much for your feedback.
Thanks also for choosing us so many times during your staying in Kathmandú .
Looking forward to see you soon
Best from La Casita Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casita De Boudhanath also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to La Casita De Boudhanath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casita De Boudhanath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.