We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new baby in town. Check it out!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kathmandu Home Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kathmandu Home Hotel to your Saves list
Kathmandu Home Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jyatha, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brand new baby in town. Check it out!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This brand new hotel is conveniently located away from the busy and noisy street of Thamel although it is situated in the heart of Thamel. The boys are not only selling the rooms but also their friendly, easy going and helpful services to their guests. As it is recently opened, hence, everything is still brand new. Do take advantage of that.

Kathmandu has scheduled power failure from time to time. However, with the proper infrastructure i.e. a generator installed at the hotel, you can still freely use the free wi-fi provided, watch your favourite movie, take a hot shower and charge all your gadgets.

People said, if you pays peanuts, you get monkeys. However, this is not the case here.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and you may want to request for lower floors room unless you don't mind usi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SujanLamichhane, General Manager at Kathmandu Home Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest (shirleytyd )

Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Home Hotel!!!


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Home Hotel and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We recognize that our staff is our greatest asset and the management had put in great effort to develop them. We are delighted that you appreciate our efforts to stay relevant to the needs of today's traveler while keeping our service and product reasonably priced. Though a budget hotel, we, our team at Kathmandu Home Hotel take pride in delivering great value to our guest and would be delighted to go the extra mile to create a great experience for our guest.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Kathmandu Home Hotel, and discover….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    28
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
49
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Kathmandu Home Hotel is a new opened Hotel in Thamel, in the heart of the city Kathmandu. There is a big problem with limited electricity in Kathmandu, especcialy in the evenings. You can not use lamps, a/c, internet etc. Kathmandu Home Hotel has a big generator and you can use the a/c during the load shelding time too. The rooms are nice with new furniture. I recommend everybody to stay in Kathmandu Home Hotel. The roomprices are between 20-50 dollars. ( For travellers is a good advice: may be you can get other more cheeper accomodation in Kathmandu, but avoid the very cheep hotels) My experience is it is more comfortable and safety to stay in the newly opened Kathmandu Home Hotel. If you need assistance in the hotel keep in touch with Sujan hotelmanager.

Room Tip: Please ask the hotelmanager
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SujanLamichhane, General Manager at Kathmandu Home Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest (doktorkiss)

Namaste and Greetings from Kathmandu Home Hotel!!!


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Kathmandu Home Hotel and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

Though a budget hotel, we take pride in listening and understanding our guest’s needs and to ensure that our guest's needs are met wherever possible. In this aspect, we had installed generators for electricity backup during times of load shedding ( which could last for more than 10 hours daily ) for guest’s convenience. We will continue to be responsive to our guest's evolving needs as well as up our service standards by going the extra mile to create a great experience for our guests.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay Kathmandu Home Hotel, and Discover…..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kathmandu Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Home Hotel

Address: Jyatha, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kathmandu Home Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kathmandu Home, a new establishment opened since July 2013, is the perfect place to experience life in Kathmandu as your ‘home’ away from home. The interiors are elegantly designed and created with classic and subtle colors and, ambient lighting added to enhance and embrace the concept of less is more, thus offering contemporary style and comfort to cater to even the most discerning travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Kathmandu Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathmandu Home Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.