We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trekkers' Home

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Trekkers' Home to your Saves list
Trekkers' Home
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Trekkers' Home was a great place to stay, not only because of the location in Thamel but mainly for the owner (Dipendra Bhatta, or Dip, pronounced "Deep") and his staff. They were incredibly courteous and helpful, very proactive in anticipating needs and just plain nice. Dip helped us exchange money at top rates, has numerous connections for tours and trips in Nepal, and is always asking for opinions on how to make your stay more comfortable and pleasant. I had to leave early in the morning and the desk clerk (apologies for not remembering his name) came up to my room to be sure I had gotten up in time. He then walked all the way down the street to get me a cab because it was so early and few were about. These people truly care about your well being; can't say enough good things about them. Thanks, Dip!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    40
    15
    2
    8
See reviews for
7
38
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

It is like it's name, totally trekkers' home because the hostel is centrally located the trekking hub. The hostel gives us a very warm welcome and was so patient with demanding travellers like us who always ask about every details. Rajendra definitely make us feel comfortable and we were very happy with the positive vibes that we experience during our stay. About room offer, from my personal experience, I think trekkers has set a great standard for a similar type of hostels. Hospitality is definitely number one. Great job done Trekkers, I'll recommend my friends to your hostel and I wish you all the very best.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumphon, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I love to travel to Nepal and like to stay in Thamel Kathamandu
to shopping everythings for trekking, for comfortable I will stay in Trekker home,
I think this place is good for me, have good service, have friendly,
good price for room and easily to shopping that I like so much

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I totally loved to stay at this amazing home!! This is what it was to me, a home away from home!! Centrally located, quiet, friendly, the staff is simple sweet and kind and respectful, My room had this sweet balcony that allowed me to enjoy the views, Raj is just amazing and so helpful! What a Fantastic human being he is, I cant wait to go back in August and stay at ur place again... All your hotels are awesome!! Miss you lots!! Much Love Beautiful souls, Namaste from Los Angeles, California, see u in August!

Room Tip: Always look for great reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Raj and his team never fail my expectation.... new accommodation in good area...friendly staff and best Raj. As always when I received good service from my travel, i'll extremely recommend to my friends and colleagues. I should stay more nights next time. Really love the place and their services

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taoyüan, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

You get what you pay for.
The staff are so friendly, they went out of there way to ensure i was happy and didn't charge me an arm and a leg.
The room was lovely, there is free wifi, hot water, comfortable bed and all the little things you want in a nice hotel and its rite in the middle of everything without the noise you might expect.
I would advise you speak to Mr Raj the tour manager even if you are not already staying at the hotel. i cant praise him enough.
i will certainly be back, fells like home!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Trekker's Home after our EBC hike. The room is clean, spacious and has a cute little balcony. It is run by the same group of awesome people from the khangsar guest house. They are helpful and very knowledge with all sorts of travel interest. We had an impromptu short 3 day trek around the valley arranged through Raj, the manager. He had everything arranged perfectly by the very next day and totally made our trip! The people here made out stay in Kathmandu a blast!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trekkers' Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trekkers' Home

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Trekkers' Home 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu’s historic landing pad for travelers,Trekkers’ Home offers comfortable accommodation for backpackers,trekkers and tourists from across the globe.We have a total of 40 guest rooms, among them single, double, triple and family suites, all of which are complete with en-suite bathrooms. Our guest rooms feature fair-trade, traditional Nepali decor, while ceilings and windows exhibit Tibetan carvings and color schemes. Twelve of our guest rooms have open-air balconies, and all guests are invited to enjoy our rooftop terrace, which offers fantastic views of Kathmandu, Swayambhunath and the LhakpaDorjee and Ganesh Himalayan ranges. We Provide Free High Speed Broad Band WiFi.Our central Thamel location makes for the perfect starting point to get acquainted with Thamel’s wide variety. Guests can easily explore Durbar Square (15-minute walk), the Narayanhity Royal Palace (10-minute walk), Swayambhunath, or the “Monkey Temple,” (25-minute walk), and many more of the city’s most famous attractions. Trekkers home is half a mile from the Garden of Dreams and one mile from the British Embassy.Our hotel is 20 minutes (7Km) car drive from Kathmandu International Airport. Similarly the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Tourist bus station and it is located central part of Thamel at J.P. road in front of Nepal Investment Bank Thamel. Taxi is the easiest way to get to our hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Trekkers' Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trekkers' Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.