We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tortuous experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gokarna Forest Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gokarna Forest Resort to your Saves list
Gokarna Forest Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rajnikunj Gokarna, Kathmandu, Nepal (Formerly Le Meridien )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Super Saver Deal
Ranked #19 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Dubai
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A tortuous experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

The Le Meridien Gokarna is unquestionably a lovely hotel set in a stunning environment of old forest teaming with exotic animals such as deer and monkeys. Its golf course is another huge draw, extremely challenging whilst also playable for beginners. Unfortunately, that is all the positive remarks I can make on the establishment. For the abysmal level of service manages to eclipse any advantages the hotel might posess. It is as if the whole army of staff serving at the hotel were employed the very day before our arrival, given uniforms and job titles, but without a single word of training or advice on what it is they are supposed to be doing. Think of an entire hotel staffed by Basil Fawlty’s, and you will be somewhere near understanding the tragedy of comedies the hotel represents. On the first day my companion and I laughed off the inordinately bad service, reassuring ourselves that it was all part of travelling and we just had to relax. But after 3 days of monumental blunder following monumental blunder, the whole experience felt like ancient water torture, ie small droplets of water continuously falling onto your head until you are so broken you are willing to confess to anything. I’m sure survivors of these practices have been no happier at their release than we were when we were finally able to check out.

  • Liked — Golf course
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    178
    26
    9
    16
See reviews for
98
165
42
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

This is a great hotel with the only 18 hole golf course in Nepal. Its peaceful and set within the forest. The local party town of Thamel is also close and teh hotel taxis can tak eyou there quite easily. Highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

I would only recommend this place for people who are looking to stay outside the city and not be in the bustle of things. My boyfriend and I stayed here as a treat after our trek and really enjoyed the peace, quiet, and solitude. The grounds are very nice but we didn't try out the golf course, so no opinion about that. The hotel itself is pretty big and the rooms vary. the first night we had a great room, but a problem with the shower. They attempted to fix it, (after we called them 5 times over the course of 2 hours) but they just made a quick fix and didn't solve the problem, which didn't work for us. We asked for a room change and got a downsized room, which was unfortunet, and the bathroom was not as spotless as it should have been. The food was okay, not so great compared to other places, and very expensive for what we got. I tried out the spa and it was alright, but the messages and other services where over-priced, even for a resort. I didn't get a message, but the jacuzzi and saunas (wet and dry) where nice and hot. Suprisingly, the water in the showers never got really hot. They run only on solar and don't have a a genorator, which was a real suprise and dissapointment. For a facility like this, they should have hot water 24 hours a day and be able to provide it to everyone. All in all we had a nice time, but I don't think I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

Paid for premium deluxe room with garden view - got the standard room. Figured we would work with concierge on sight seeing tours but there was no one filling that position. The travel agent attached to the hotel is hit or miss - he goes with clients if he thinks they are going to buy from ripoff tourist sights so he can get his 25% cut.
Many people staying at the hotel complained that they had no one to work with for tours.

Flip side- the staff that is there was very nice. They have free yoga classes in the morning, the sunsets are beautiful over the golf course, the massage was fabulous.

  • Liked — the golf course and massage
  • Disliked — no concierge to help with anything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

The hotel is beautiful but definitely in bad location. It\s about 30 minutes from downtown and to reach the taxi is headache. The food is very soso compared with the 5 star hotel standard? Breakfast is definitely not good .Few choices and bad pastries.The front desk provided us very slow service. Any service I requested had to wait for half to two hours and needed to make several calls. The atmosphere was nice with the forest but the golf courses looked like a desert. We took the guided forest walk which happened to be like walking around the dying golf course.Finally we decided to pay 800 rupees to get the transportation to the airport .The transportation came with the small horrible hotel car and was late for 30 minutes. The front desk staffs are absolutely irresponsible. Shame for them to call themselves 5 star hotel.The waiters and housekeepers are ok but I prefer not to go back there again.

  • Liked — the buiding itself
  • Disliked — front desk services
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haastrecht , the Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

last review in april 2007 was favorable but our 3 nights in october 2007 was a dreadful experience. The hotel was almost deserted, perhaps 5 rooms were used. Stil they did not offer the superior room that we had booked and paid for and were given a deLuxe , just because it was ground floor directly behind the corridor. Staff was totally uninterested and in sharp contrast with India it was difficult to communicate in English up to the level of the staff.
The restaurant was a great disappoinment, no real appetizers and 5 or 6 options for main course that were mostly a variation of the same. When we were there, bottles of white wine were just not available for two days ( downtown it would have been available in every shop), which underlines that the staff was just not really interested.
It is a disgrace that Meridien has continued provideing this hotel 5 stars. As starwood member and guest can say it is not worth it!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — staff and restaurant
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

This hotel is located a kilometre or so out of Kathmandu city, and its golf course hugs the pine forest. Kathmandu is a fascinating, but polluted place, and it was nice at times to be away from the chaos and breathe the clean air. Bear in mind, Kathmandu roads are chaotic, and on some days, when petrol is for sale, queues of 200 cars at a time bring traffic to a complete standstill... after dinner in town, it took us nearly 2 hours to get back to the hotel!

The hotel is clean and spacious... our bed was seven foot wide and I had the best night's sleep there after nine nights of so-called deluxe accommodation in Delhi. Meals are delicious - Nepalese, Indian, and International cuisine, plus Irish Coffee beside the roaring log fire afterwards. We thought the dining room dingy for breakfast, but its dark wood is ok in the candlelight at dinner.

The golf course is stunning (Gleneagles designed), challenging yet enjoyable. Check course availability as this hotel hosts several tournments a year; we got to play with some pros! The spa is well-appointed and my reflexology treatment was very relaxing.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The dingy dining room at breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gokarna Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gokarna Forest Resort

Address: Rajnikunj Gokarna, Kathmandu, Nepal (Formerly Le Meridien )
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#5 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#5 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gokarna Forest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gokarna Forest Resort... A tranquil Heaven to quiet Hideaways.Situated within the city limits of Kathmandu, capital of Nepal, Gokarna Forest Resort is located inside the serene temperate Gokarna Forest, the former private Royal hunting grounds of the Kings of Nepal. A winding road climbs leads through the forest up to the main complex, comprising a mix of subtly majestic Malla period architecture, Rana period lodges, and sanctuaries harmoniously blending with nature. Further on exotic Forest View cottage rooms are set beside a century old restored Hunter's lodge. A quiet peaceful haven set between ancient towering trees with glimpses of the second fairway in the valley below make the perfect getaway for a few days of golf, relaxation and rejuvenation at the Spa, enchanting forest walks, and time close to nature. SPA & HEALTH CLUB Amongst majestic trees on the edge of a plateau overlooking Gokarna Forest and the grassed valley below, Harmony Spa combines therapeutic care with a natural environment impossible to recreate elsewhere. Included are a variety of rejuvenating courses, emphasizing Ayurvedic treatments within Ayura, a dedicated Ayurvedic treatment area, the Adam & Eve, and Serenity massage rooms. The Health club encompasses Apsara, the Beauty Treatment center, an indoor temperature controlled swimming pool, luxurious changing rooms each with a Sauna, Steam room, and Jacuzzi. The large well equipped gym, the finest in the country, overlooks the forest through large windows. GOLF COURSE Against the backdrop of the snow capped Himalayas, close to the heart of Kathmandu city, South Asia's finest, and one of the world's most spectacular Golf Resort Courses is stunningly set within 470 acres of the hundreds years old Gokarna Forest Reserve. Designed by David Kidd (Gleneagles Golf Developments of Scotland), the 6,715 yard par 72 course boasts the only Bent Grass Greens in South Asia, making it one of the highlights of the professional tour circuits in the region. The serenity and setting are overwhelming. Deer and monkey wander freely, as will the spirits of all who enter. Truly an enchanting sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Gokarna Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gokarna Forest Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gokarna Forest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.