We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and scenic, best place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gokarna Forest Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gokarna Forest Resort to your Saves list
Gokarna Forest Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Rajnikunj Gokarna, Kathmandu, Nepal (Formerly Le Meridien )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Super Saver Deal
Ranked #19 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and scenic, best place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We chose Gokarna through reviews on Tripadvisor, and from the first mailer to the the last day was satisfying warm interaction. The property is beautiful, food is excellent, a place where you can chill and relax after a day of sightseeing. The staff is very warm, affable and helpful, the rooms spacious. With a Golf course to boast of, Gokarna is the ideal holiday resting place..We are back to Delhi, and missing the lazing around area around the bar, which we used to access the free wi-fi..chirping of the birds and occasional sighting of deer and monkeys.We would rate it excellent

Room Tip: Rooms with the forest view are the best, if you enjoy the sights
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    179
    26
    9
    16
See reviews for
98
165
42
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We went several times just late afternoon. Gokharna Forest belonged to the King I did not know that. There is a lunch buffet, there is golf, and horse riding as well as a spa.
Saturdays special meat buffet.
The green grass feels like England than dusty Kathmandu. Take a car from Boudha direction Jorpathi not so far go for afternoon tea or anything.
Decoration is nice with flowers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed two nights in Feb 2014. Hotel is located in a quiet hill side area with awesome view. Rooms were clean and luxury & overall was very impressed with the service we received from hotel staff I would like to thank Lasta Kibanayo for making our stay a memorable, thank you so much for going out your way and book internal flight and hotel at Pokhara inc transit all that in short time. But you truly did make our visit special.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here as part of our tour to India and Nepal. It is a little out of town but worth driving to because it is so lovely. We had a large king room with a patio overlooking the gardens. The hotel has a great spa with extremely affordable massages. I recommend the hot stone massage! The food was good although I thought the breakfast needed a little work. There is an indoor pool attached to the spa in case of bad weather. The hotel offers free early morning yoga classes and there is a lovely little temple on the grounds where visitor participation is encouraged. This is really a special place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a king room with a patio. Be surety visit the temple for an early morning chanting ceremony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights with a group tour. Lovely location with nice grounds, gardens, foliage and animals, monkeys most notably. Not near downtown for travelers concerned about logistics and at least 30 minutes from airport depending on time if day. But it is a beautiful oasis in a teeming city with a pace akin to Manhattan and a transportation system that doesn't support the pace. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, bathrooms modern and spacious with plenty if hot water and good water pressure. But this hotel, like so many others in Nepal offers wi fi only in a common area. I might expect that practice from a second rate, discount hotel, but this place is not in that category. I'm not sure what gives with Nepal hotels and wi fi service, but until the upscale places start offering in room wi fi they will remain in the category of second rate hotels. Yes a guest can buy in room service for a reasonable fee, as I did, but the resort doesn't even advertise it. Considering the bulk of the western world now provides included wi fi even in second rate hotels, Nepal tourism might want to consider a new approach.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a very peaceful, quiet place to stay in a very noisy, crowded Katmandu. In the mornings and evenings, there are spotted deer grazing on the lawn outside the rooms. Our room was large and roomy, clean and cheery with a big picture window overlooking the grounds. The bathroom was huge with a big sunken tub. There are monkeys on the grounds that apparently can invade your room if you leave the window open while you're not there and that happened to one of our travel mates but she swore she kept the window closed (the cleaning people were in there and we think they left it open). The simian invasion resulted in some victimized snacks but the hotel was kind enough to overlook the purloined munchies and they didn't charge for the missing food. The grounds are expansive, there's a golf course and even a working shrine with early morning and early evening chanting in the park. The main lobby with a peaceful open air atrium is surrounded by a souvenir store with relatively good prices and quality items. The bar has free Wi-Fi and the dining options are surprisingly good. The Thai restaurant is a short hike away with presentable Thai food. The hunting lodge serves authentic Nepalese cuisine and was tasty and the breakfast with made to order eggs was quite impressive given the locale and the circumstances. One thing that was surprising was that another guest was riding in a car on the long driveway to the hotel and spotted two jaguars crossing the road! Even if you don't get lucky with wildlife spotting, the hotel was a real bright spot on our trip to India and Nepal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I just finished a one to one 2 minute feedback interview with Lasta from reception. I felt that my opinion was actually listened to because I am always convinced that those written notes I usually make in other places are lost in the filing system. The staff are amazingly caring and very professional. Lasta from reception and Sabine from the terrace restaurant really made my stay comfortable, relaxing and I felt that I had the time to just let my hair down. A few kms out of the hussle of Kathmandu city Gokarna offers a peaceful setting with relaxing spa, golf club and beautiful gardens. The monkeys add value to the natural setting and you are warned by all staff to enjoy their presence but to be careful. We invaded their space and they are keen on joining us in our lifestyle. I just finished a conference and added 2 days on to travel the bits of Kathmandu that I have time for. Well try the hopper flight to get you close to Everest and then don't miss the Thamel market and many temples. Its easy to get from Gokarna to the city to do these many things. And remember, even though they say prices are fixed in the market BARGAIN. Start by being ridiculous by offering 30% of the quoted price. you will eventually pay 50% and that is still a good profit for the seller. ENJOY

Room Tip: I was in room 265. This is a lovely quiet room in the annex facing the driving range of the golf co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gokarna Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gokarna Forest Resort

Address: Rajnikunj Gokarna, Kathmandu, Nepal (Formerly Le Meridien )
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#5 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#5 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gokarna Forest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gokarna Forest Resort... A tranquil Heaven to quiet Hideaways.Situated within the city limits of Kathmandu, capital of Nepal, Gokarna Forest Resort is located inside the serene temperate Gokarna Forest, the former private Royal hunting grounds of the Kings of Nepal. A winding road climbs leads through the forest up to the main complex, comprising a mix of subtly majestic Malla period architecture, Rana period lodges, and sanctuaries harmoniously blending with nature. Further on exotic Forest View cottage rooms are set beside a century old restored Hunter's lodge. A quiet peaceful haven set between ancient towering trees with glimpses of the second fairway in the valley below make the perfect getaway for a few days of golf, relaxation and rejuvenation at the Spa, enchanting forest walks, and time close to nature. SPA & HEALTH CLUB Amongst majestic trees on the edge of a plateau overlooking Gokarna Forest and the grassed valley below, Harmony Spa combines therapeutic care with a natural environment impossible to recreate elsewhere. Included are a variety of rejuvenating courses, emphasizing Ayurvedic treatments within Ayura, a dedicated Ayurvedic treatment area, the Adam & Eve, and Serenity massage rooms. The Health club encompasses Apsara, the Beauty Treatment center, an indoor temperature controlled swimming pool, luxurious changing rooms each with a Sauna, Steam room, and Jacuzzi. The large well equipped gym, the finest in the country, overlooks the forest through large windows. GOLF COURSE Against the backdrop of the snow capped Himalayas, close to the heart of Kathmandu city, South Asia's finest, and one of the world's most spectacular Golf Resort Courses is stunningly set within 470 acres of the hundreds years old Gokarna Forest Reserve. Designed by David Kidd (Gleneagles Golf Developments of Scotland), the 6,715 yard par 72 course boasts the only Bent Grass Greens in South Asia, making it one of the highlights of the professional tour circuits in the region. The serenity and setting are overwhelming. Deer and monkey wander freely, as will the spirits of all who enter. Truly an enchanting sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gokarna Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gokarna Forest Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gokarna Forest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.