We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to slip away and have a masala tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosemary Kitchen & Coffee Shop

Rosemary Kitchen & Coffee Shop
Thamel Marga, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
+977 1-4267554
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 454 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Cuisines: Indian, European, Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Description: NAMASTE- welcome to the place of excellence! "Food for the body is not enough. There must be food for the soul." -Dorothy Day Rosemary Kitchen does not have a long history back, but the humble appreciation of satisfied clients so far makes it a Legend! It has been two year that Rosemary Kitchen was open to serve the public. Since then, it has been serving the food for soul and accumulated great client base of internal and external tourists who come to visit the Himalayan Kingdom of Nepal.
Bayside, California, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely place to slip away and have a masala tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I spent a week in Thamel and loved starting my day at Rosemary. I think that their masala tea is one of the best that I had in Nepal! Their food and service are fantastic and the outdoor courtyard is a wonderful place to relax. I think you'll find, like I did, that it will become part of your daily routine while staying in the area. Enjoy!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    96
    35
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meals in Kathmandu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Rosemary Kitchen & Coffee Shop was recommended to us by fellow travellers and we were so pleased to have eaten there. Unfortunately we only discovered this little gem near the end of our 3 week stay in Nepal, but we still managed to eat there 5 times in 3 days! The meals were by far the best we've had during our stay in Nepal. The food is fantastic, a great selection of meat and vegetarian dishes as well as great breakfast options, not to mention the delicious apple pie! Rosemary uses fresh herbs and lovely fruits and nuts in their dishes such as: dill, pomegranate and pistachios. The staff are very well trained and the service was extremely professional. All staff paid particular attention to table presentation and order details. Also, it was so lovely to eat at a place that had all the dishes advertised on the menu available to order - as we found that many restaurants in Kathmandu commonly did not have dishes available when requested.
I highly recommend Rosemary..... and I'm sure if you visit you'll be compelled to return again and again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in 3 months travelling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Every part of this meal was perfect! We had a mixture of cuisines, all fabulous! Great atmosphere, the owner was wonderful, friendly, welcoming and gives great advice. Literally the best food we ate in our three months of travelling

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Restaurant on Thamel, Katmandu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is my first review and I have to suggest this restaurant because, it’s really the best restaurant in town. Imago De is another best place after Rosemary restaurant.
Visited thrice Rosemary restaurant and all the foods I had here were delectable. The Organic Mixed Green Salad With Fresh Fruit & Nuts was enjoyable. I had a Grilled Fish here and it was excellent. Not to forget to try is Apple Pie. It was so delicious that I suggested a friend of mine. I will never forget Rosemary's Apple Pie. They have some good selection of Wine as well.
The environment is very warm and nice. Small garden outside is nicer. The price is relatively less than other good restaurants on Thamel, Katmandu.
Come and eat, you will like it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu Valley, Nepal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Rosemary Kitchen is a fab restaurant. Its the best food we have eaten since arriving in Nepal. The service is great, the waiters are wonderful... Nothing is too much trouble. The food is beautiful!! The apple pie is to die for! We have come back again for another meal after a fab night and can happily say will come back again. I can 100% recommend this restaurant to all!! Thanks for the wonderful evenings Rosemarys Kitchen!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosemary Kitchen & Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Rosemary Kitchen & Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosemary Kitchen & Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.