We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent affordable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Friends Home

Save Saved
You added Hotel Friends Home to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Friends Home
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   G.P.O. Box 25221 | Jyatha, Thamel (Beside Kantipur Temple House), Kathmandu 4600, Nepal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 134 hotels in Kathmandu
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent affordable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I can't recommend Hotel Friends Home enough. They say "come as a guest leave as a friend" and it is absolutely true! The owners Prahba and Rajendra and staff Rajesh, Pramod, Gokul and co are very attentive and care to make your stay and time in Kathmandu exactly how you want it. They know you by name and always ask about your day when you walk in the door. They are happy to give directions and recommendations on sight seeing, travel and food though the restaurant food is delicious! The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. There is hot water available throughout the day. There is wifi and a laptop available free of charge for use by hotel guests.

Hotel Friends Home is located just off one of the main streets in Thamel so you are close to the action.

Overall I would definitely recommend staying here, it's affirdable, comfortable and the hospitality is so comforting in the hustle and bustle of busy Kathmandu.

Thank you Hotel Friends Home for making my first time in Kathmandu a positive memory and I will be sure to return to the hotel on my second visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Cigi-Kaya
Thank you for your great review. we are vary happy to know that you had great stay with us. We always do our best for all our clients. we really hope to welcome you again in Friends home. Prabha sapkota and hotel friends home team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    48
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
92
63
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahti, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great place to stay! Staff really becomes your friends and they do everything for you to make your stay better. Clean and comfortable rooms. Welcoming, warm, peaceful, friendly and helpful atmosphere. I won't ever forget this place and staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Hmariah
Thank you for your great review. we are very happy to know you had nice stay with us. we will always do our best for all the clients stay enjoyable and comfortable. Thank you again. Prabha sapkota and Friends home team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I've chosen this hotel based on other people's rating before this trip. It turely deserves the high rating. 5 star service plus newly decorated room, good location, everything satisfies people's needs.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear valuable client.

we are very happy to have your great review of hotel friends home. we will always try our best for all our clients. we also very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. our all the clients are God we always do our best for their needs. our priority safety, peaceful, comfortable and real friends home for all our clients. once again thank you for your review. Prabha sapkota and hotel Friends home family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel well deserves the 1st spot in the hotel listings here in TA for Kathmandu. Clean, comfy and wonderful staff. It's not pretentious but delivers more than what you would expect from the usual hotels in this range here in Kathmandu. Their staff is very helpful and the hotel owners are hands on. Clean sheets, hot water, great location and warm smiles. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear valuable client.

Thank you very much for your review. we are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. we will always do our best for all our clients like you. Thank you for review once again.

Prabha and hotel friends home family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The staff at the hotel is very friendly and helpful! I arrived at the hotel after being ill for several days, and it really is the perfect place to recover. I was picked up from the airport and friendly faces welcomed me when I arrived at the hotel. When I felt better they also helped me arrange a trip around the city for some sightseeing. And I have to highlight the great beds and the amazing shower (waterpressure is super). And most importantly, the staff really makes you feel at home, and there is always the opportunity to sit downstairs and chat a bit. I would fully recommend to stay at this place if you go to Kathmandu!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Hilde
Thank you so much for a great review. we are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. we will always do our best for those clients who will stay with us. Hope to welcome you again.
Prabha Sapkota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is a really nice heaven in Thamel. Nice and quiet, comfortable and extremely clean. The staff were incredibly friendly and extremely helpful. They were also really useful in helping me organize my everest trip and plane ticket. Really welcoming atmosphere to all guests. I'd definitely come here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Ben
Thank you very much for a great review of Hotel Friends home. we are very happy to know that you had comfortable stay with us. We will always do our best to make all our valuable clients stay comfortable and memorable. we really hope to welcome you again in Friends home. Prabha Sapkota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

So surprised that we can find such a nice hotel in Kathmandu. The room is very clean,and hot shower,free wifi... Nice breakfast and good service impressed me, you can feel 5-star hotel service here. Also, boss is polite and kindly, I think it's the best choice if stay in Kathmandu.

很好的酒店,下次去加德满都,还是必然的选择!

Jiangjing.(From SH,China)

Room Tip: Every floor have free wifi,but room near stair have more stronger signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendshome, Owner at Hotel Friends Home, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear jiangjing

Thank you for your great review. we are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We again hope to welcome in our hotel. really thanks for your review again and always try our best to provide same service for all the clients like you Prabha sapkota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Friends Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friends Home

Address: G.P.O. Box 25221 | Jyatha, Thamel (Beside Kantipur Temple House), Kathmandu 4600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 134 hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Friends Home 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the eastern part of Thamel in Kathmandu, Hotel Friends Home offers genuinely friendly accommodation to all kinds of travelers, with a spirit of newness and constant innovation in its services. From the moment you check in at this family-friendly hotel, the amiable staff will readily receive you with the warmth of Nepalese hospitality and dedicate themselves to make your stay as cozy and comfortable as you want it to be. In short, Hotel Friends Home provides one of the best retreats in central Kathmandu and also caters to all of your travel plans in Nepal including activities like hiking, trekking, sightseeing, rafting, jungle safari, cultural tours, day tours, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Friends Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Friends Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.