We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busiest area in Kathmandu!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thamel

Thamel
Kathmandu, Nepal
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$83*
and up
Kathmandu Day Trip: Budhanilkantha and Hike...
Ranked #16 of 59 Attractions in Kathmandu
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
Activities: Nightlife
Attraction details
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Busiest area in Kathmandu!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I think it's the busiest area in Kathmandu, so many tourist- including me, so many cars- horn all the time, so many shops- good for shopping, so many money exchange store and so many restaurant- good for tourist. I stayed in this area because it's quite convenient for shopping and eating although the food price was higher than other areas. But you can find some cheap restaurant in this area as well. ^^

Although there's lot of pollution here but that's Thamel, I think it's something exciting like a new experience. Lol But you can get away from this crowded and full of dust street by going to the Garden of dream which is just a few steps away.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    591
    295
    62
    28
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed there and the atmosphere and colorful streets were great. It was busy and we had to be careful of the motor bikes. There were so many great places to eat near by.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“A tourist mecca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Whilst there is a lot of accommodation options in the Thamel area, we chose a hotel closer to the airport which was away from the "hustle & bustle, the chaos, the noise, and the excitement" that is Thamel. If you prefer like us, not being pushed & prodded, and being almost run-over by the cars & motor bikes, then may we suggest you visit Thamel in the late afternoon / early evening. It has a different feel and a seemingly more relaxed environment. Being a "tourist area", prices seem to be higher as compared to other areas but you are able to bargain down ... it can be fun.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Location for Staying and Shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A great location for staying and shopping in Kathmandu. Though the roads and communication system are not that good but still a good place for cheap hotels and restaurants.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bit silly really”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

do not see the appeal of this place. After a quick visit to aroma Garden for great incense and some soap, short lunch we headed straight back to the Durbar area. Next time we skip thamel, unless someone reeeeeealy needs a knitted hat from thamel, and spend more time in Patan.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thamel also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Thamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thamel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.