We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that Grand!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Marg | Kalimati, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 134 hotels in Kathmandu
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not that Grand!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Hi we stayed here earlier this year, my friend booked this on our behalf so I had nothing to do with the bookingof it.
Ok lets get to the point here, it's not that bad as you enter the reception area and the staff kind of try and rush you into the next available room they have. The staff were resonably polite during the stay. Rooms look a little worn out and could do with painting and some minor D.I.Y, couldnt figure out what was happening with our AC it was blowing out warm air, we moved rooms and the same thing happened again NO A/C!!!!, called reception and the excuse was that the generators frequently stop etc etc etc so I just gave up with their Bull [--].
My Friend and myself had some bad luck as we tried to order room service, we wanted 2 Chicken Burgers and Fries.....they send up 2 vegie burgers instead, furious as we were we decided to ring the kitchen and explained to them that we ordered Chicken but they point blank accused us for the error and we had a real heated argument with the Chef and exchanged some good swear words with him!!!(we also speak the Lingo)

Oh by the way this happened again a few days later!!!....CHICKEN!!!! NOT VEG!!!!...PANCHORD!!!(rude word...wont translate)

Went for a tour of the hotel...looking for the Gym...SHOCK HORROR!! , only one running machine not plugged into wall as plug was missing also live electric wire hanging out of wall, could only find one dumbell, heavier weight bell had no fastening ends very dangerous and very depressing atmosphere no one had used this place for years and you can tell. Hair saloon looked like something from 1970 or maybe 1965, small swimming pool with only access from front of Hotel yes front hahaha....not very nice.

Breakfast very limited menu and not very good, I forgot to mention this as this is the icing on the cake......
We booked this from a agent in Delhi who didnt tell us about the secret Casino package??? yes Casino package means every night you stay at this stupid Hotel you a greeted by a strange gambling addict who will try his hardest to drag you down to the local Casino (in his car) every night and buy gambling chips on your name as the locals are not permitted to participate in gambling & once they buy the chips with their money you can play but they tell you were to place the bets and are free to leave after 10 minutes of being there. We argued with him every day as he harrased us to join him down the Casino, he also threatened us that if we dont go with him the Hotel room price would increase!!!! he also made us feel bad on last night with major guilt routine and we stupidly went and done the usual routine but this time we bought our own chips and won $16,000 hahaha!!!! result....so was worth it in the end.

My advice is to stay somewhere else....please stay somewhere else I beg you!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    33
    16
    11
See reviews for
27
37
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

No in-room kettle, tea or coffee making facilities supplied!!!! Room service only!!! This can get expensive if you drink lots of tea like my husband. We had experienced eight hotels in India and Nepal and this was the first hotel not to supply tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. Fortunately our friends had a kettle so we kept borrowing that but we had to get the cups. This threw the staff into great confusion. Why would people want empty cups? When our two men tried to get some cups from the dining room, the staff refused to let them carry the empty cups up to the rooms and room service had to deliver them! Our rooms on the 6th floor had great views and we were nearer ro Swayambhunath than we were to the centre of Kathmandu. There are no local restaurants so we had to eat in the hotel. We tried the two dining rooms and the downstairs one had a bigger variety of meals. Both served excellent food and service was good. All staff were pleasant and helpful. Bathrooms could do with updating. Rooms were clean but hot water is not supplied until after 5.30 pm. No good when we had travelled for 6 hours by road from Chitwan and were dusty and tired and not what we expected of a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathmandu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Excellent hotel!!!!!!!!! the food was wonderful!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhilwara, Rajasthan, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

I was in Kathmandu in Feb-2010 for a personal visit with my wife, kid and extended family members. One of our relatives booked us Grand Hotel which even I had heard of from many known people who have been there.

My 1st impression of Kathmandu, after landing there, was very bad with crowded and jammed roads.

Check-in was comfortable, the lobby was really grand in size but not grand in interiors. The medium sized room looked okay but the bathroom was against expectations of Grand hotel, it was lousy. The room service, specially for laundry, kept on deteriorating by the days and eventually I had to speak to the manager.

The hotel has 2 restaurants, one rooftop and one next to lobby. Both are amazing with their ambiance (specially roof top), service, food, everything. I really enjoyed an extended meal on the roof top restaurant accompanied with customized drinks. This was 1 of the best parts.

Another good thing is that Soaltee is just walking distance where you can enjoy more luxury with dining and gambling late night.

I must confess that part of my bad experience could be because of a large group of people and hence being fair in all respects, I would stay this hotel is worth a stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

I have stayed in Grand Hotel for 3 nights. I was little bit hesitating to book the hotel reading some bad comments on the website, but as I was searching for a lower price hotel I decided to book it.
As soon as we arrived to the hotel everybody was very friendly and helpfull. The room was also in a good condition, I would say the price we paid worthed it.
It takes approximately 35mins to go to the airport, depending the traffic.
The food was ok, used to order from A la Carte. Lots of variety for Asians, not much international.
They have a massage center in the hotel which is very good and cheap.
It is close to the Nepal Casino.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallorca, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Had 4 separate visits to this hotel in October 2010. Consistently good experience. Friendly staff throughout, good food and reasonable prices. 8th floor Indian restaurant had limited menu but ground floor restaurant good albeit aveage ambience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Grand Hotel in Kathmandu is an elegant 12 storey building and is rated as one of the best 4 Star hotels in Kathmandu in Nepal. The Hotel Amenities and Services are enough to cater to the needs of both the leisure hunters and the business travellers. Offering 91 luxury guest rooms and suites, the accommodation facilities include air conditioners, IDD telephone connection, satellite television, safe deposit lockers, etc. The hotel houses the Maharaja Restaurant, Rendezvous Coffee Shop, Aromates Bar and the Jharna Tea Lounge. The Restaurant serves Mughlai and tandoori cuisines while the coffee shop serves multi cuisines to the guests. The hotel houses a well equipped business center for corporate gatherings. The hotel offers internet facilities, faxing and printing facilities, Secretarial services are also offered to the guests. The hotel has a swimming pool and also a gymnasium. There are also steam and sauna and Jacuzzi facilities.
Other Amenities and Services at Grand Hotel in Kathmandu include room service, baby sitting services, postal facilities, currency exchange facilities, shuttle service, car parking and car rental facility and also medical assistance.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Red Cross Marg | Kalimati, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel, Kathmandu is a 4-star hotel in Nepal strategically located in the heart of the city's dynamic business, cultural and entertainment hubs. Some of the major landmarks of the city are located within accessible distance from the hotel which include the Swoyambhunath (Monkey Temple), National Museum and the Seto Gumba (White Monastery) . Other attractions near the hotel include Casino Mahjong, United World Trade Centre and Bluebird Mall. Grand Hotel is accredited as the tallest hotel in Nepal. The furnishings are stylish and contemporary and the hotel provides all modern facilities including wifi access through out the hotel and 24 hour cctv surveillance . Other facilities include an all day dining Coffee shop "Rendezvous" serving International Cuisine; "Maharaja" Restaurant (Fine Dining) serving Mughlai cuisine accompanied by live singing (Ghazal); 24 hour in room dining and finally a beauty parlour and a Spa which offer a range of Himalayan treatments according to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.