We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel to stay in nepal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Marg | Kalimati, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
New Delhi, India
1 review
“good hotel to stay in nepal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

on my official visit to kathmandu,hotel experience was gr8,hotel staff as well as food was perfect,i stayed there for 2 nights ,room was spacious and clean ,i think staying in grand (kathmandu) is a good choice .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek G, Owner at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Our team here at Grand strives to look after each and every need of our valuable guests and as you mentioned you were on an official trip makes us happier that you enjoyed the whole hotel experience, whilst doing your work, without having to face any problems. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    49
    39
    17
    11
See reviews for
30
42
10
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Writing this review just to thanks the staff for being so courteous .
Rooms were spacious and bathrooms were clean. Food was really nice especially the dinner we had in the restaurant which is on the top floor .Recommend every one to just visit the restaurant once even if they don't want to have dinner there.Live Ghazals just added the fizz in the mugs of our beer.
To sum up a real value for money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek G, Owner at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. More over we are pleased that you enjoyed your complete stay here at Grand. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Its a average hotel. In India rooms of a normal lodge are better than this. In my room AC was not working, Charging point was not working and above all the TV was also not working properly. I will not advice to stay in this hotel. Just because my hotel was booked, I use to go there only to sleep. Else its a very poor hotel. In this era, they are charging Rs.500 per day for the Internet. In many coffee shop and malls in kathmandu, internet is available for free and this hotel is charging so high for the internet. Not at all VALUE FOR MONEY

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek G, Owner at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We feel terrible that you felt this way about your stay here at Grand, however as our staff had pointed out the fact that our hotel has a central air-conditioning system which means that during winter season the hotel has heating turned on and therefore cooling cannot be turned on.

Regarding your issue with the TV, we are sorry that you had to check in into a room where the TV was not working properly, however as soon as our staff were informed the problem was looked into and fixed.

Finally regarding your comment on the Wi-Fi, I will personally look into what can be done on this matter and will try to make it as convenient for our guests as possible.

Thank you for your comments, as we will make sure such occurrences do not repeat in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I was ona first visit to Nepal and stayed at grand hotel for 2 nights. One of the best time I ever had.. everything was perfect and well handled right from airport pickup to drop. Room was spacious , comfortable and wifi was fast. Food was good . Front office manager shashi was courteous and helpful. Overall very very nice feeling. Very close to everything. Though everyone said Thamel is the place of action , it is better to stay here in a peaceful atmosphere and visit thamel when u want as it is close by. All staff are well trained and well behaved. I would be happy to recommend this place to every one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek G, Owner at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at Grand. We hope to serve you again, hopefully in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Hotel Grand it ain't. It looks superficially impressive, but it disappoints on almost every level. I'm writing this review from the lobby (because the internet doesn't work in the rooms) and it's a very chilly evening. So why is the lobby freezing cold? Because it's not heated and no one bothers to keep the doors closed. The rooms look OK, and the bed seems to be the most comfortable I've struck in India and Nepal in weeks, but the heating only works when your key is in the slot, and it takes ages to warm up. If there is a next time in Kathmandu, it won't be here. It's also on the wrong side of the city for the airport, which is a consideration I hadn't thought of when booking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agartala, Tripura
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed there recently with family. Good location, great food, bargain shops in the street outside. Above all, all the staff found extremely helpful during the stay and even after checking out. Left my mobile phone in the room while checking out, they have promptly sent it back to me by courier.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Kathmandu twice during a recent tour of Nepal. I noted some mixed reviews prior to our stay but I have to say our experience was really positive. Indeed it proved to be one of the best places we stayed in Nepal. The staff we really obliging and helpful - the Bell Boy was quite outstanding!

The rooms were comfortable, clean and well appointed. Good clean bathrooms. The restaurant was perfectly decent though as with most places we stayed in Nepal, the variety of food was limited.

As to location, it's not bad. Set back from the main street but with lots of tourist friendly shops in the local road; plenty of bargains to be had if you try!

The final word on the Grand - would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Red Cross Marg | Kalimati, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#23 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel, Kathmandu is a 4-star hotel in Nepal strategically located in the heart of the city's dynamic business, cultural and entertainment hubs. Some of the major landmarks of the city are located within accessible distance from the hotel which include the Swoyambhunath (Monkey Temple), National Museum and the Seto Gumba (White Monastery) . Other attractions near the hotel include Casino Mahjong, United World Trade Centre and Bluebird Mall. Grand Hotel is accredited as the tallest hotel in Nepal. The furnishings are stylish and contemporary and the hotel provides all modern facilities including wifi access through out the hotel and 24 hour cctv surveillance . Other facilities include an all day dining Coffee shop "Rendezvous" serving International Cuisine; "Maharaja" Restaurant (Fine Dining) serving Mughlai cuisine accompanied by live singing (Ghazal); 24 hour in room dining and finally a beauty parlour and a Spa which offer a range of Himalayan treatments according to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.