We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in the heart of Thamel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   JP Road, Thamel | Chettrapati, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in the heart of Thamel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great Hotel in the heart of Thamel. We stayed in the rooftop suite that is fantastic (the only drawback is that you have to keep the curtains closed because the windows open on the rooftop garden). The hotel is very clean, the staff is unbelievable. I have never seen a customer care like this. When I was not able to find an ATM they offered to walk me to one (try this in a five star hotel). They have 24h power supply, hot water and WiFi in every room. After a day in the noisy and polluted Kathmandu (a great city anyway!) the Royal Penguin is like a safe haven. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, General Manager at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Marco!

It's so rewarding to read your review, thanks for all the nice words.

For your information, the windows in our Penthouse suite are covered with special layer that doesn't let outsiders see anything inside the room. We're sorry for not letting you know this before. Next time you come and stay there you can freely leave the curtains open and enjoy the roof-top garden view.

Warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    42
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
69
28
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great place to stay to get away from the buzz from Thamel. Nice modern hotel, with well furnished room. Comes with a gym as well. Breakfast was amazing. Staff was attentive and friendly. Recommended for all.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, General Manager at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Han!

Thank you for taking time to provide us comments followed your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in near future and helping you get a good rest in Thamel.

Warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiato, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The entire staff is very friendly and courteous.. They greet you and hold doors open when they see you coming, ask you if you need directions... Clean, spacious, and quite rooms. We did not hear any doors open or shut in the morning or cleaning staff noise. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, General Manager at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Katyin!

It's great to hear you enjoyed staying with us. We're happy to know our staff was attentive and careful enough and made your stay even better.

We believe that quiet in a hotel is vital and that's why we make our staff follow some quiet rules.

Thank you for your feedback and we really hope to see you again.

Warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you are looking for a staid, colonial or typically Nepalese establishment don't read further. However, if you want to be charmed by the little things the Royal Penguin offers in abundance then read on!! It is so different, and like its name suggests you could not be further from the Royal Penguin home in the sub-Antarctic: the hotel could not be further removed from the other hotels in the world. It is unique and charming and like no other. The chairs and tables are different and interesting - you are literally sitting on artwork. The wall artwork & lighting is interesting and different - including that in your bathroom. The Tiger on the bed is a show stopper!! Our country flag on the desk brought a lump to my throat! It's got all the positive amenities that a traveller is looking for as written up by previous contributors - so I will not repeat but merely confirm: Great free WiFi, electricity backup, air con in the rooms, very clean etc etc.The staff: well the staff are just an absolute delight- so friendly, efficient and caring. I just love the little flip cards on the table which tells the dining serving staff if you want to have heaps of interaction with them, medium interaction or to be left to yourself. I have to single out the Masseuse: again excellent . And don't miss the top floor with its city views and waterfall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, General Manager at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Ray!

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us this much as well as it's rewarding to know that you appreciated all the small things like a flag of New Zealand and a stuffed toy on your bed:) We're happy we have succeded in providing a great stay and rest for you.

In about half a year we will open second Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel which will be close to the first one, where you'll be able to enjoy our SPA and luxurious rooms. We'll be really looking forward to seing you and staying with us again. Please take care and don't hesitate to visit us again.

Warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Royal Penguin Is located at the southern end of the Thamel district, I'd say it's a perfect location.

Transport from the airport can be arranged (ours didn't turn up) or its just as easy to jump in a cab from directly outside arrivals, don't pay more than 400 rupee.

The hotel itself is a bit quirky but the rooms have everything you need AC, hot water, super comfy beds and even a small fridge! our room was also very clean. Continuous power is a problem in Kathmandu but the Penguin has procedures in place to guarantee power supply. The Penguin has its own restaurant and serves up and good selection of dishes for your included breakfast. The staff are very helpful and happy to assist. Overall the Royal Penguin is a good choice in KTM, I'd definitely return.  

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, General Manager at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guest!

Thank you so much for taking time to give us some comments about your stay with us. It's very pleasing to know that you were highly satisfied with the services and facilities our hotel and restaurant have to offer.

We'll be very happy to host you as our guest again any time in future whether it will be in the same hotel building or in the new one. In about half a year we will open a second Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel which will be close to the first one and will feature a SPA, and elevator and a bigger number of rooms.

We're really looking forward to seing you again.

Warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Royal Penguin Hotel exceeded all our expectations in a hotel. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. It had the usual coffee making facilities, which you often don't see in Asian Hotels. The bed was very comfortable.

The bathroom has, as well as a shower a huge bath. I'm 6'3" and could lie in it comfortably. And it's wide enough for two big people.

They also boast of 24 hour electricity, and that is something to be proud of in Kathmandu, believe me. Having to try and go clothes shopping in the town, when the power kept going off, and shop assistants having to get torches out to be able to see, is no joke.

The food in the restaurant is really good and plentiful. Had a steak one night. It was so tender one could almost cut it with a butter knife.

It has a pleasant roof top garden, with great views of the surrounding streets and bustling life.

But what made it, in our opinion the 'Best Hotel in the World' was the staff. We have stayed in many of the Worlds and Asia's "Luxurious Hotels" and none of them can match 'The Royal Penguins' staff.

On arrival at Kathmandu,on a Friday afternoon, and waiting for our baggage we saw a sign that said "Lost Baggage Report Here". There was a desk, with a long line of people at it. I thought then that it must be a regular occurrence.
Lo and behold we had to join the queue as Thai Airways had lost our baggage of a direct flight from Bangkok to Kathmandu...Go figure!!

When we arrived at the hotel Laxmi the lovely young lady who is duty manager told us not to worry as they would get our bag back. She sounded a lot more confident than we felt.

Laxmi provided us with toothbrushes and toothpaste, and even loaned me her own phone charger for the weekend, so that at least I could keep my phone charged up.

Not long after getting into our very comfortable room Laxmi phoned us to say that they had found out Thai Airways had to compensate us so that we could buy clothes and other essentials that were in our baggage.

We were taken to the main Thai Airways office in Kathmandu, accompanied by a member of Laxmi's staff, a gentleman by the name of Bishal. At the Thai office the assistant manager, after taking a lot of details said that they were unable to compensate us until Monday morning as the Manager was at a meeting (probably finished early on Friday for a long week-end). With Bishal's support and argument we were eventually paid compensation.

The next day we went on a tour that was organized for us by the hotel. Upon our return our baggage still hadn't been located, so feeling dejected we went to our room. About an hour later Laxmi phoned up to say that not only had they located our baggage, but dispatched a staff member to the airport to pick it up for us. She didn't tell us until the staff member had ascertained that it was ours and in his possession.

I can't speak highly enough of this hotels management and staff. It's what makes it, in our opinion, the best little hotel on the World. On a scale of 1 to 10, it should get a 20.

It was with considerable sadness that we left there, we were treated like a valued family member, rather than a hotel guest, and we will go back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, General Manager at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Ingwe!

Thank you so much for your great words about our hotel. It's so rewarding to see your feedback.

We train our staff to do their best for bringing our customers highest comfort and satisfaction and Laxmi, our manager, has surely suceeded in this.

In about half a year we're going to open Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel 2 in a second building, very close to the first one, it will feature a SPA, an elevator and a bigger number of rooms. We'll be happy to treat you as our guest again any time you feel like coming to Nepal.

We are really looking forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a super quirky boutique hotel with a weird sense of style.. i think they just put some many themes in their. BUT you learn to embrace it.... i even had a giant stuffed tiger waiting for me on my bed :) the location is honestly unbeatable, it's literally in the heart of Thamel (where you want to be), all the restaurants and shops are located there.
The staff are beyond accommodating and super friendly. especially Laxmi- the concierge. just ask her to sit with you and help you plan your activities.
the masseuse in that hotel is a GEM.. this girl knows what she is doing. don't expect a fancy spa area. This is literally a table in the gym that is surrounded by curtains. but MAN was she good. i have not had such a good deep tissue massage in ages. if you want to get some muscles worked on to continue your activities, definitely see her. if you want more of an ambiance, go somewhere else.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean. We booked an Executive King Suite - and it was spacious. there is a big bed and a comfortable seating area where an additional person can sleep comfortably.
the rooms are also fitted with lots of plugs and extension cords which is excellent. you don't need to get your own adapters. there's also a safe in the room.
For the ladies... there is lots of light and a huuuuge wall covered with a mirror to check your outfit and do your makeup. there's also a hair dryer in the room so no need to pack yours.

For nearby restaurants, i recommend Fire and Ice which is less than 10 minutes away walking.
its a pizza place with excellent home made ice cream for desert.. foreign style food if you don't wanna risk getting sick. just turn left from the main entrance and at the end of the road, turn right. it's going to be on your right hand side after a few shops. across the street is north face. i believe the prices are a lot cheaper in Kathmandu.
one point to consider is that this hotel like many hotels in Nepal does not have an elevator so ask for a room in lower floor and do not over pack. you don't wanna carry a huge back across all these stairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, General Manager at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear guest!

Thank you very much for the nice and detailed review. We're very happy to see you really enjoyed your stay with us and our massage. We also appreciate your comments on how to enhance our service.

In about half a year we're going to open a second building Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel with a bigger number of rooms (40), an elevator and a SPA so your stay with us gets more relaxed and comfortable.

Next time you stay with us please feel free to try some of our food - you might enjoy it.

We'll be looking forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel

Address: JP Road, Thamel | Chettrapati, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in Thamel, Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Kathmandu. Set 0.0 Km from the excitement of the city, this 3.5-star hotel commands an excellent location and provides access to the city's biggest attractions. A haven of rest and relaxation, the hotel will offer total renewal just steps away from the city's numerous attractions such as Kathesimbhu Stupa, Kathmandu Guest House Minitheatre, Gandharba Culture and Art Organisation.Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. Top features of the hotel include meeting facilities, laundry service/dry cleaning, tours, restaurant, bar/pub.Step into one of 13 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day with a wide range of amenities such as television LCD/plasma screen, separate shower and tub, bathtub, extra long beds (> 2 meters), coffee/tea maker. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as garden, sauna, fitness center, massage to make your stay truly unforgettable. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Kathmandu, make Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.