We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   JP Road, Thamel | Chettrapati, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 134 hotels in Kathmandu
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A friend and I booked the Royal Penguin for 3 nights in advance of a trek, and for 3 nights after (the latter nights booked because we were so satisfied with our initial stay and dreamed of this hotel while on our trek). What a find! When I booked the hotel, there were only about 7-8 reviews online, and the hotel was offering 20% off the rooms, a nice enticement to stay while the new property builds up its name. I spent days sifting through TripAdvisor for Kathmandu lodging and there seems to be some seriously intense competition in this city, leading to some fake reviews for other properties.

Make no mistake about this one: the service is exceptional, the staff extraordinarily and genuinely friendly (especially Laxmi, the Assistant Manager), the food very good, the rooms spotless, and the location wonderful, in Thamel but on JP Road, slightly away from Tiger Balm hawkers. Welcome drinks were offered along with genuine smiles. We are Canadian, and when we walked into our room, there was a 2-foot high model CN Tower and Canadian flag waiting to greet us. It's one of the many touches that truly made us feel like we were at home. No request was too big or small - luggage storage was free, extra toothbrushes were brought up within seconds, and a farewell iced tea lemonade was right on the mark. The Annapurna Room (#21) is right next to the gym and massage room, making the post-trek trip for my deep tissue massage literally 10 seconds long. Decor was lovely - hand carved teak wood in the dining room, glass sculptures in the room, and stunning chandeliers mixed style with the fun quirkiness boutique hotels should have. NB: they have a backup generator, so load sheds have minimal impact here.

The owner of the trekking agency we used summed it up nicely: "Wow - your place is nicer than the Hyatt!" I'd also add: it's probably under half the price too. Have fun. Be at home. Sleep in. Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, Owner at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Adale!

Thank you so much for you genuinely nice and warm review. Your great feedback is an extra prove for the fact that a good hotel is not only about cleanliness and comfort, but also about the attitude towards the guests. Which is probably the main thing. We treat all guests as individuals with their unique cultural and historical background and desires.

We strongly believe that each guest is special and deserves the highest level of hospitality, and we get the greatest satisfaction by achieving that.

We are also happy you found our décor lovely. This is one of our main prides.

Speaking about the massage – it’s surely a great to relax and loosen your muscles after the hard days of trekking. You can also use our Finnish sauna for free, it is just three few steps away from the massage room. Combining sauna and massage might give great results. Guests staying in our top-floor Penthouse suite can also pamper themselves in the Jacuzzi and the steam-cabin. What more one can desire for the ultimate relaxation?

We’ll be really looking forward to seeing you and your friends in our hotel again.

Warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    21
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
45
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We got room 51 called the Everest, the whole floor by ourselves. The price was perfect, and nicely situated near shopping and food area. Great staff and food. They let us check in early at 9am. I stayed at five start hotels but this takes a Taj.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, Owner at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

Speaking about early check-in, our hotel policy is not “check-in is strictly at 12” but to do everything possible for the comfort of our guests. We believe this policy to be both reasonable from a commercial point of view and just humanly natural.

We’re looking forward to seeing you and your friends again.

Warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

the best hotel in Kathmandu Thamel. there is no other hotel even close to it.pay some more and you get a real good hotel in the middle of the Thamel. only 13 rooms so book in advance. the staff is extermly nice. the restaurant is very good and prices are not high.this is the place to stay when you return from a trek.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, Owner at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Ofer,

We're fascinated by your kind review. Please come to stay with us again and bring your friends.

Warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We wanted something central to Katmandu, and something a little different to anything we have stayed in before.....this hotel had all the boxes ticked. We had a deluxe room, very compact, but had everything we needed. The location is central to a tourist area, so the shops had what we wanted to look at ....and again, and again, and again...we wonder some times how they make a living. Breakfast was more than adequate, and for the one meal we had in, we were more than satisfied with the taste and quantity....bearing in mind we were going vegetarian this trip. The rooms were cleaned expediently and the power never less down as they have their own gen set.....so for those, days that were a tad on the warm side, the a/c worked a treat. Of course staff also make a real difference to you experience, and they were all very pleasant and helpful....just one let down , and that is they could have been a little more informative on our arrival as to where you have breakfast etc. So for a pleasant experience in down town Katmandu....this Hotel is the go.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, Owner at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Chris,

Thanks for the nice review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your opinion and next time will try to be more informative with the guests. The breakfast is normally taken in our restaurant. You can also have a room service or enjoy your meal in our private roof-top garden Khumbu.

Warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed in Nepal for 13 days recently, had a very tough 10 days staying in really crap hotels, lodges etc, but on returning to Kathmandu for the last 3 days, me and a friend stayed here and it is a world away from the noise, traffic, smog, and trouble outside on the streets, although it cost €90 for a king size double each night - there is no comparison when in a huge clean crisp airy bed, 50 inch tv, a safe, immaculate room and top quality staff and food, free spa, sauna etc. Everything is cheap In the hotel too and its a Nepalese 4 or 5 star, so thumbs up from me! (but I will never go to Nepal again!)...

Room Tip: Low season is very cheap for rooms, €60 for executive double / suite May - July, other wise, any roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, Owner at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Tom,

We’re very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We believe that if you have booked the rest of your trip in Nepal through our travel agency your time here would have been much more enjoyable.

Speaking your impressions about Nepal, we still hope that some time in the future you wish to visit the Himalayas again as their beauty and spiritual energy have no comparisons in the world.

Warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our return from pokhara, it was a welcoming little haven in the midst of thamal to relax after our trekking. The rooms re very comfortable and clean and the service is fantastic. Location is perfect too, we will definitely be styling here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, Owner at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Jess,

What can we say?:) We're genuinely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Please come again.

Warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just got back from a great vacation in Nepal travelling with family including children. Our first stay was at this great hotel in Kathmandu and this really set us up for all the trekking and travelling that was to come in the following days. Our initial contact was via email from the hotel who kindly organised transport and answered all questions promptly. Check-in was swift, service was always with a smile and the rooms were just a haven for relaxation. The location is right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu and if you tire of walking the streets hours on end sightseeing rest assured the food and especially the room service (which my children just adored)is just terrific. We always looked forward to coming back to the hotel after a long day and nothing was ever too much trouble. Great place if you are looking for a little bit of luxury but with the intimacy of a small hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPenguin, Owner at Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Your words "this great hotel in Kathmandu" and "looked forward to coming back" sound like music to our ears. We are happy about having succeeded in making "a little bit of luxury but with the intimacy of a small hotel".

Thank you and see you again!

Warm regards,
Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel

Address: JP Road, Thamel | Chettrapati, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 134 hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in Thamel, Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Kathmandu. Set 0.0 Km from the excitement of the city, this 3.5-star hotel commands an excellent location and provides access to the city's biggest attractions. A haven of rest and relaxation, the hotel will offer total renewal just steps away from the city's numerous attractions such as Kathesimbhu Stupa, Kathmandu Guest House Minitheatre, Gandharba Culture and Art Organisation.Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. Top features of the hotel include meeting facilities, laundry service/dry cleaning, tours, restaurant, bar/pub.Step into one of 13 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day with a wide range of amenities such as television LCD/plasma screen, separate shower and tub, bathtub, extra long beds (> 2 meters), coffee/tea maker. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as garden, sauna, fitness center, massage to make your stay truly unforgettable. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Kathmandu, make Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Penguin Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.