We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and friendly hostel in the heart of Thamel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodhi Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bodhi Inn to your Saves list
Bodhi Inn
Buddha Galli, Kwa Bahal | Thamel Marg, Kathmandu 009771, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quiet and friendly hostel in the heart of Thamel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Simple and clean, this hostel has nice basic rooms at a budget price. Great location in the backpacker district, friendly and patient staff, and cheap & tasty breakfasts. There is also a rooftop garden, hot water, and free wi-fi throughout. They can help you organise onward travel and rafting trips. It feels really safe and secure, and it's easy to meet people in the hallway/cafe area.

However, there aren't always power sockets available, due to Kathmandu's "load shedding" (this is the same as most other guesthouses), though they post a timetable of the power cuts at reception so you can plan around it. They also have back-up power so the lights and internet will work. Also, they allow smoking here, though the rooms I've had here have never had any residual smell. One thing to note is that they close up the shutters quite early at night (around 10 or 11pm), so if you want to go out late, you might need to mention it to the receptionist.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
3
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Missing Kathmandu because of this amazing hostel. The host are really nice and the boys are so kind and help a lot. Make me feel really safe here. Definitely a must go back one day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The best hotel in Thamel by far! I've stayed here about 6 times on my way back into Kathmandu and have really enjoyed it every time. The place is always impeccably clean and the staff are all really lovely and very helpful!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I can't recommend this hotel enough. I kept coming back everytime I was in Kathmandu as it's just perfect. The rooms are very simple, but have everything you could want at the cheapest price available. Reliable hot water, clean sheets, quick internet and great location. The best however, is the staff who are so friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. If you want added comforts, ask for the top floor roof room!! Highly recommend and thank you Bodhi Inn for a wonderful stay in Kathmandu!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here both in the beginning and the end of my trip to Nepal. Simple, very clean rooms with comfy beds. But Bodhi Inn's most priced possession is its staff. You won't find friendlier people.
Will definitely stay here again when I return to Kathmandu.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Can easily recommend this nice budget hotel. Stayed there two times, before and after a trek through the Annapurnas, all together more than a week. Clean, soft beds, good location and a very friendly staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Room was cheaper than other places I have stayed at my visits to kathmandu. The place was clean. The staff was friendly and welcoming and hooked me up with a travel package deal. I loved my chats with the owner too, he gave me suggestions on new places to visit. Their breakfast was really good too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bodhi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodhi Inn

Address: Buddha Galli, Kwa Bahal | Thamel Marg, Kathmandu 009771, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gently tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the busy tourist central Thamel, we are located in Buddha Galli off of Thamel Marg. Everything from us is at walking distance including the famous Everest Steak House, Yak Restaurant and countless other souvenir shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bodhi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodhi Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.