We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Beautiful Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaju Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gaju Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Gaju Suite Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   A One Complex, 3rd and 4th Floor, Thamel Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Beautiful Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Gaju Suite Hotel for our first few days in Kathmandu. Anytime we requested anything from the front desk, they were friendly, responsive and quick to react. As a result we decided to stay at Gaju suite anytime we returned to Kathmandu from other tourist locations in Nepal such as Pokhara and Chitwan. The breakfast staff was easy to talk to and the fun atmosphere of the Reef lounge made it a beautiful place to start the day. The room itself was very spacious with a lovely sitting area for guests and a very comfortable bed. We had everything we needed to enjoy ourselves. We'll definitely stay there again on our next trip to Nepal!!

Room Tip: The 4th floor was right below the reef lounge which was great to run up for a quick beer and some ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    65
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
54
39
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We booked a suite on the fourth floor, Rm 201. It's very spacious, clean, well designed, artistic and most importantly, felt like my very own apartment; a home away from home. We stayed there 8 nights. The service is second to none; if we needed anything, no matter what the time, it was delivered to us within minutes.

There was hot running water and electricity 24/7 in a city where power outages are scheduled daily for several hours and hot water is a scarce commodity. The location of the hotel is centrally located to all the facilities in Thamel.

I will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed at the Gaju Suite Hotel both before and after my most recent trek, for a total of 11 nights, and the suite and service were excellent -- just as they were during my initial visits last October.

The rooms and facilities are in excellent condition, there is ample hot water, reliable electricity, fast and free wifi, and A/C (and space heaters during the cold months) in every room. Management and staff are top class, and will ensure that your stay is delightful.

Gaju Suite Hotel is without question the best hotel in Kathmandu. Do yourself a favor and stay here. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Spent 5 nights here on a recent trip to Nepal. Benefits are many,good location on the little streets of Thamel, close to market shopping and Durbar Square. The front desk staff try their very best , they speak good English and are limited only by factors outside their control, like the fact that the power flicks off occassionally, and the water pressure is weak. The staff in the breakfast room are attentive, the suite was large but not so well stocked, eg; no kitchen supplies and frequently run out of bathroom tissue and toiletries. Overall clean, security in the stairwells and the staff will not hesitate to help you. Would definitely return, job well done! Try the hair salon on the main level, they are fantastic!

Room Tip: With the street noise , dogs barkingand the music from the restaurantupstairs, its a good idea to tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We booked deluxe room for 4 nights at this hotel. The room we had booked initially wasn’t ready so they upgraded us to a suite room. The bedroom as huge and so was the living room with kitchenette. The cleaning ladies did a wonderful job with our room. The service provided by the staff was more than 5 star hotel could offer. I was very happy staying here at this hotel. The breakfast was awesome and so was the floor staff at the restaurant. Front desk staff was professional throughout my stay; they helped me with my tours and the air ticket.
Only disadvantage of this hotel is live music played at the 5th floor. It gets litter nosier around late evening. But the rest is flawless. Staff made my stay wonderful so I will definitely visit Gaju Suite Hotel next time I visit Kathmandu. Excellent stay overall!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The property is at good location and the hospitality is at its best. The rooms are clean and cozy. It felt like home.
Thanks to the team managing it. The suites are really large and it value for money.

Room Tip: for faster internet get rooms closer to router..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We used the hotel for one night for our tour onto Pokhara. It's situated right in the heart of the small roads in Thamel, which is a shoppers paradise. As soon as you step out of hotel you are greeted with many arts, crafts, jewellery, travel agents food etc.

The hotel is deceiving from the outside and when you walk in the first few floors are like offices or shops. When you go to the rooms your are greeted by a brick/terracotta style theme. The hallways are scattered with god like images.

The room was a suite with living room, kitchenette and bedroom. The bathroom had access from both the bedroom and living room!

Breakfast in the "Coral reef restaurant" was slow. It was nicely decorated and the food was average.

Room Tip: Book a studio room at a lower price and get upgraded to a suite... They don't have studios!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaju Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaju Suite Hotel

Address: A One Complex, 3rd and 4th Floor, Thamel Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaju Suite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the relaxed atmosphere and upscale amenities of GAJU SUITE HOTEL. Our efforts are focused on providing guests a holiday to be treasured and facilitate whatever depth and nature of experience you seek. At our hotel your intentions become ours. Our Hotel's setting is unique -an oasis in the heart of Thamel with luxurious deluxe rooms, apartment-styled rooms and suites offering guests a outstanding facilities, exceptional service and a small number of rooms to ensure exclusivity and privacy. The 22 rooms and 12 suites are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. Each room exudes a sense of tranquility and modernity with crisp bed linens, marble bathrooms with special mood lighting and offers a guest experience that is intimate and discreet while providing the highest level of service. Gaju Suite is a selection of contemporary and finely-tuned hotel that offer an enriching, enlightening and rewarding lifestyle experience. This lifestyle is about a lust for faraway places, a fascination with foreign cultures, a desire to escape and relax in surrounds that satisfy and please on all levels, where needs are met before they are even acknowledged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaju Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaju Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.