We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation near Airport in Kathmandu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shambaling Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shambaling Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near the great Boudha Stupa | Boudha, Kathmandu 1001, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Norbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great accomodation near Airport in Kathmandu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I arrived at the hotel after a long trip from Europe, I was told that my room was not ready but as the front desk realized I was tired, they immediately offered an upgrade! A great start to a short stay. This hotel is only 15 minutes or so away from the airport and is therefore ideal for a transit type of stay, and early morning flights. The hotel arranged a taxi for early the next day, it was there at the time booked, despite the day being the biggest holiday festival in Nepal.

The room was brilliant - spotless, great shower, immaculately decorated and top quality soft furnishings. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant, I genuinely thought they wanted to look after me well, same goes for the restaurant staff. The gardens are a pleasant oasis from the chaos of the city.

The food was excellent and servings quite large, attentive and charming staff. Will definitely stay again when passing through Nepal.

Room Tip: My room was deluxe on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIgme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
It was very nice to go through your review. Thank you very much for your time and caring to write about your experience. Our aim is take care of all our guest in best possible way. We are very happy that we could provide the room at the time of your arrival, after a long flight. I am glad you enjoyed your dinner with us that evening in our garden. Our guest also loves sitting in the garden and enjoy their breakfast.
Thank you for choosing Shambaling for your stay in Kathmandu.
We look forward to welcome you at Shambaling in near future.
Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    43
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
78
59
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in this lovely hotel. Firstly was very impressed with the setting and decoration of the hotel. Such a lovely Tibetan western fusion deco. Rooms were spacious , lovely garden and delicious breakfast and my boys absolutely love this place . Rooms had hot running water . Even it's slightly further away about 20 mins to Thamel street but the hotel was so cozy and lovely ! Would definately come back .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIgme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
First of all, thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have your family at Shambaling. We are very happy to know that your boys enjoyed their stay with us as well.
We look forward to welcome you and your family at Shambaling in future.
Best Wishes,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

You will not be disappointed! I recently came back from a solo trip to Nepal and I stayed a couple of days in this Kathmandu hotel. After going through the crazy traffic of Kathmandu for the first time from the airport to the hotel I suddenly found myself in these lovely, quiet hotel grounds. The hotel is very clean, it feels authentic to Nepalese culture, and you can't ask for anything more from the service. They are all very warm and helpful to all of your needs. The restaurant food is delicious and the service, again, is fantastic! You get the feeling that these people genuinely like having you there. They want to make sure you enjoy and have great experiences in Nepal. And again, I can't stress enough that you feel that they genuinely feel this way -- it's more than just a business strategy for them. I want to point out that Suraj, the general manager, and Binod from the restaurant went beyond their call of duty for me. I felt like they took care of me while traveling alone in Nepal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIgme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate you taking time to write about your experience at Shambaling. It is very importent for every member of Shambaling that our guest feel at home and enjoy their stay with us. I am very happy that you felt welcome and personally taken care of at Shambaling. All our guest holds equal value to every member of Shambaling. The entire team of Shambaling is very happy to read your review. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to have you back at Shambaling in future.
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Location, staff, accommodation were perfect. Very satisfied with the restaurant as well. Every body is very friendly and helpful. The manager is always around to be sure that you are satisfied. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIgme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for very much for taking time and sharing your experience with us. It was a pleasure to have all of you at Shambaling. Your title "Our best Hotel in Nepal" is big compliment for us. Every member of Shambaling is very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again at Shambaling in future.
Warm regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just had one night at to hotel before flying back home. It's in a lovely quiet part of the city, just a short walk from the famous Buddhist stupa here which I loved wandering down to.
The service at this hotel is amazing and they couldn't do more for you.
The rooms are nice and well decorated mind have great showers
But by far the best bit is the restaurant......which has a lovely candle lit garden as well as an indoor area. I was very keen to have a last traditional Nepalese meal before leaving but to be honest I've had some real hit and miss experiences over my 3 weeks......but here I had the best dinner of the whole holiday.
I started with a vegetable momo which beat all momos......especially the spicy sauce. And then the traditional Thali/Dahl Bhat was incredible - amazing vegetable curry, chicken curry, dhal and spinach........absolutely delicious. And again served with immaculate service.
Look no further and eat in if you stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIgme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Abby, Thank you very much for your beautiful review. It was a pleasure to have you at Shambaling. I am glad that you walked to Boudhanath in the evening which is just about 7-10 minutes from our Hotel. We always work hard towards making our guest feel at home during their stay with us and reach their expectation with our service quality. It was very nice to read your detail on our food and I am glad you enjoyed your last dinner in our restaurant.
We look forward to welcome to at Shambaling in near future.
Warm Regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in Kathmandu for a few days before heading off to Pokhara and were so glad we choose to stay at Shambaling near the Boudha Stupa instead of in Thamel.

The hotel staff are excellent, very attentive and helpful. They helped us to arrange our bus tickets up to pokhara, a cookery calss and taxis when we needed them (no commission involved as they are not a proper travel agent, they just wanted to make sure we had a nice time). The hotel was spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were delicious and kept us full for most of the day. The rooms are lovely and spacious and well equipped, they have even thought of small details such as providing a torch as you might need it when walking to the stupa later at night as the street lights are not always on. Wi-fi is free and works in the rooms most of the time.

The location of the hotel is great as its close to the airport and the hotel can arrange a pick up for you, our man was waiting for us as we arrived. Of course this is expensive compared to the normal price but if you want the reassurance of somebody being there waiting for you and knowing where the hotel is I guess it's worth it, we just took a normal taxi back to the airport once we knew how things worked. The hotel has its own pretty gardens and is just a short walk to the Stupa along a quaint little street with lots of shops and local people milling about. Around the stupa there are lots of shops and cheap places to eat with rooftops views of the stupa and if you're lucky, the mountains in the background.

Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, our stay with them was delightful and if we ever return I wouldn't even waste my time looking for anywhere else to stay....this place is perfect!

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the gardens are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIgme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time and writing about your experience with us. We really appreciate it. It was a pleasure to have you with your parents here at Shambaling.
We are all very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Shambaling family look forward to welcoming you back in near future.
Warm regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

First timers to Nepal, we had booked Shambaling to start us off. It was perfect.
Rooms are excellent and well decorated. Staff very helpful and friendly.
However the food is the star.
We only try to eat local cuisine when we travel so can only comment on their Nepaly food section of their menu. We had the best veg momo and paneer we ever had.
Trips to Patan, Kathmandu etc are easy from Boudha and not too expensive, just make sure you bring a facemask for Kathmandu traffic.
Breakfast is probably the least interesting but still quite good. We plan to be back soon!

Room Tip: garden facing rooms probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIgme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write about your experience with us. We are all very happy to to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially for the "star" you had mentioned for our Nepali cuisines. Our kitchen team is probably one of the best in Kathmandu and I am glad you experienced it. It was a pleasure having you at Shambaling. We hope to welcome you at Shambaling again.
Ward Regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shambaling Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambaling Boutique Hotel

Address: Near the great Boudha Stupa | Boudha, Kathmandu 1001, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shambaling Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to one of the holiest Buddhist stupas and adjacent to a Buddhist monastery, Shambaling is nestled in the heart of Kathmandu’s Tibetan community in Boudhanath. A 10-minute walk from Boudhanath Stupa, through the narrow brick-paved lanes, Shambaling, meaning paradise garden, opens its door to the comforts of true Tibetan culture fused with high end Swiss hospitality. Spread in 35,000 square feet, your address will be a renovated early 70th Tibetan-style house. You have the luxury of choosing from the 28 meticulously designed suits deluxe and standard rooms based on the concept of Kalachakra. Shambaling exquisitely welcomes you to experience a true Tibetan home stay coupled with genuine Swiss hospitality. One of Boudha’s first guesthouses used by pilgrims from Tibet, the property dates back to early 1970's. Approximately 20 minutes from the international and domestic airport, the hotel is quietly tucked away from the busy streets and fairly close to the peaceful realms of Buddhist heritage sites. Two years in the making, the once old building now houses Shambaling, where old traditions meet modern amenities. While elegantly designed modern rooms and suites mirrors Tibetan aesthetics, every floor represents the Kalachakra elements of Earth, Fire, Water and Sky. Each room’s ceiling colour complements the custom-made curtains and cushion covers. The exclusively imported linen adds novelty to your private space. Shambaling also opens up its lush green garden, perfect for an outdoor meeting or a relaxation under the Peepal tree while gazing at the colourful prayer flags. If you are in search of some soul-searching, the meditation room might come to your rescue. Rooms and SuitesWith meticulous design and an eagle-eye detail, each of the hotel’s four floors represents the elements of Earth, Fire, Water and Sky. While white ceilings combined with white curtains and linen gives you the impression of being under a cloudy sky on the first floor, you transcend to the second floor to experience the warmth of red fire. As you climb further, the rooms welcome you with the exquisiteness of blue water on the third level and yellow hue representing earth on the fourth floor. You can choose between Shambaling standard rooms, the monastery-facing or the garden-facing deluxe rooms, or one of the exclusive suites, all equipped to ensure your comfort, luxury and privacy. All rooms while retaining a taste of authentic Tibetan aesthetic are equipped with modern facilities, including suave bathroom, spacious closet and a mini bar. Whether you are in the mood for fine dining or a casual lunch, Shambaling offers you appetizing delicacies for your gastronomic delight.The Lungta Restaurant is a multi-cuisine fine dining restaurant with a menu that caters eastern and western culinary. With an open-counter kitchen, wooden floor and fine cutlery, the restaurant gives you an invigorating dining experience. Shambaling also serves savories in its outdoor facility known as The Lingka, the Garden Restaurant. Overlooking the lush green garden space, you can dine beneath the prayer flags while gazing at the hotel’s magnificent Tibetan-style architecture. If you want to fulfill your dose of caffeine, our coffee machine La Cimbali serves the world-known Illy coffee. A wide selection of wines and single malt whiskey chosen by the owners awaits you at the Cave Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Shambaling Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shambaling Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.