We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kathmandu stoipover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tibet Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tibet Guest House to your Saves list
Tibet Guest House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chhetrapati, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Kathmandu stoipover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

By Nepalese standards the Tibetan Guest House in Kathmandu is very good. Excellant restaurant, plenty of hot water and friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    102
    42
    16
    10
See reviews for
15
55
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I have been in a standard room in this hotel and I think I passed my worst night in Nepal. the room was not clean. the bed-sheets were also dirty and I couldn't sleep very well. in all areas in Hotel there was a bad smell. there was no WiFi in rooms and if you want to use WiFi you should sit in the bar in the first floor. but in the bar there was not enough electricity outlet. also in rooms there was not enough electricity outlet. although the electricity was disconnected for a long time. the elevator was old and corridors were not clean so much. all the time in night, the bark of dogs, drunk scream and noise of cars and motorcycles disturbed me and I couldn't have a calm sleep. I don't suggest this guest house. staff were not friendly and you should pay for everything.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I had picked another guest house to stay but our trekking agent had put us up there. We kept an open mind as we were about to take part in a 10 day trek and wanted to be open to anything. Gulp, the room was truly sad. I had to clean most surfaces before I unpacked. The only place I felt was ok was the bed. Everything else needed a good wash. From their curtains to carpets to the bathroom. Bring ear plugs, we couldn't sleep peacefully for the time we were there. Stay there if you have too but when we finished our trek, we did stay where I had initially wanted. Cheaper, cleaner and much more comfortable...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Travellers to Nepal should understand some fundamentals about 3 star hotels in Kathmandu:
1. Thamel is still the heart of the tourist shopping/restaurant area
2. Internet connections are frequently intermittent even when your laptop tells you you are connected.
3. Hot water isn't guarranteed
4. Power interruptions are frequent.
I have been visiting Nepal quite frequently since 1969 and most often stayed at the Kathmandu Guest House. This time, because of noise from construction and night clubs that often continues into the small hours around the KGH I opted for the Tibet Guest House and was not disappointed.
Location is on the fringe of Thamel so still within walking distance of all shops & restaurants and most of all QUIET at night.
Rates are also very reasonable especially if you book through TripAdvisor or Agoda - I paid US$30 for a deluxe room. First room I stayed in (215) was "iffy" but second time I was very happy.
The restaurant and the food was ok but I do prefer to eat out especially in Thamel where there is a great variety of choices all within a short walking distance.
Generally I found the staff helpful and friendly but I do speak Nepali so obviously that helped.
I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Best room I stayed in was 204 (1 king sized bed). Avoid 215
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We chose this hotel on the recommendation of friends. The location was perfect for moving around the city. The rooms were a little small, but generally clean. The staff were helpful and friendly and always recognized our arrivals and departures. The breakfasts, which were not included, were reasonably priced and quite substantial. The rates were competitive and were actually lower than advertised due to "low season". Good wi-fi to purchase. Would stay here again if I return to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Have stayed at TGH many times over the years. The total experience is what keeps me coming back. The hotel did away with the buffet breakfast (2011) which was always a great way to have a nice relaxed start to the day. The dinning room staff seems to be new with very few able to UNDERSTAND English. Order was seldom correct. The desk staff is outstanding. Never a problem with them or a problem that they can not correct. Watch out for "Jim Carey" as he will pull your leg in a heart beat, all in fun. The rooms are fine except they are never cleaned to western standards. I don't know if it is the Tibetan thing or not but the tea houses on the trekking circuit seem to have the same problem with not understanding the need to clean. The bell men all cheerful and very professional. The rooftop is one of the best in KTM. It seems they are trying to replace the aged carpet in some areas and cover the hallways which are stone and carries the least sound all over the floor. Hope these comment help. I did not want to be a bad reporter but I told it like it is and how it has been. I enjoy the place and the people and will continue to return.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms on the left side of main building. These are close to a family building th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

the guesthouse is located in a rather quite lane of Thamel and is very well organised. Some rooms are better thant others, but tariffs are accordingly. Rooms are very clean, hot water is available almost 24 hours a day as the hotel has a big generator saving you the hassles of powercuts in kathmandu. Free internet, nice roof top....what else to ask for ?

Room Tip: visit your romm before checkin
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tibet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tibet Guest House

Address: Chhetrapati, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tibet Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular mid-range hotel for travelers, running for the last 27 years. Experienced and changing with time and meeting all the desire of the travellers. Located in the main tourist area (Thamel) yet away from the street noise.While in kathmandu if you happen to stay somewhere then visit us and then you will feel the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tibet Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Tibet Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tibet Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.