We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Singi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Singi Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Singi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 13168 | Lal Durbar, Kamaladi, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Marco Island, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

On a 1day business Trip, stayed at this hotel recommended by friends and reading Reviews on Trip advisor.
Rooms - only ok.
Beds - Small (fear of Rolling out of bed if you moved).
bathroom - only Soap (toothbrush/paste must buy from hotel =50Nr).

all i mean to say that it's not value for money paid.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    50
    52
    13
    5
See reviews for
13
25
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Location of hotel is not bad, can walk to Thamel and not in the crowded streets. However the rooms are old and in need of maintenance. When we stayed there, the WC was not working but maintenance man did fix it. Then he left with the floor all wet and I had to call housekeeping to clean it which they did. The aircon leaked and water was dripping over the bathroom door. I had enough and only inform the front desk of this when I checked out the next day. The hallway had a damp smell. However the room is clean and tidy. Only 2 bath towels and 1 bath mat is provided. No toiletries or hand towel. Breakfast spread is so so and there is no egg counter. I will not rate it a 4 star hotel. At best a local 3 star hotel. Will try other hotels next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tshering G, Owner at Royal Singi Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Namaste,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for staying with us at Royal Singi Hotel.

It is unfortunate to hear about your experience and we are taking preventative maintenance actions in every room to ensure similar experiences like yours does not occur again. All rooms are also being audited to ensure proper upkeep and necessary upgrades. The hallways will be checked to eliminate the damp smell as we conclude our monsoon season.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is situated in the centre of Kathmandu, where you can get a little supermarket and stores just outside the hotel and lots of restaurant including KFC just for 5 minutes walk. You can also walk to Thamel (around 10 mins) and Monkey Temple (around 15 mins) very easily. Staff were helpful who would guide you the way very patiently.

Room was average, as you can imagine for a hotel managed by locals. Despite the interiors were a bit worn out, the room was clean and tidy. Breakfast was better than I first expected, with quite a lot of variety of food which tasted good.

Would come back again for my next stay in Nepal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went as a team of four members in September 2009 ( two brothers & wives ).My wife kept her nice silver plated watch on the bed when the cleaning personnel came.Within minutes the personnel pinched the watch.Several of our complaints yielded no result.The hotel practically had no disciplined work force & the management was NOT fully in control of its employees.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biratnagar, null, Nepal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Dear Friends,
I had to visit Kathmandu city regularly for my business trip, I had been to this hotel thrice during last 2 months. Hotel is situated in the center heart of the city. Good location to reach from any place in kathmandu. Malls, Market, Restaurants and casinos all are walking distance of 5 minutes.
I will not say food is that too bad, but not tasty enough. Rooms are clean and ok to stay. Air conditioner was not working in my room during my second visit, but that might be a sudden issue only. But the most important thing i did not liked was the behavior of the front reception desk staffs. The staff are not friendly and not smiley at all. Otherwise hotel is good to stay at.

Room Tip: You can find a better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Like many people I suspect, I stayed here for a couple of a days before and after a 12 day hike to Everest Base Camp. Grand reception area, friendly staff and rooms that are easily comparable to more western hotels. Location was good, as I am a seasoned hiker it was no problem to walk to the Monkey Temple from the hotel, also Durbar Square and most of the other central Kathmandu places of interest. There's a supermarket across the street that sells most things than you might want too plus an ATM machine. Breakfast was a good choice and perfectly adequate for mass catering, absolutely no issues with that. Definitely would stay there again. Oh and the long hot shower that I had on returning from Base Camp was THE BEST EVER I have had in my life. Worth five stars for that alone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed for the first night on an Exodus trip to Everest Base Camp. The trip from the airport to the city was a real eye-opener for someone who had never been to Asia before and I was more than a little apprehensive about the standard of the hotel but I was pleasantly surprised. This had what felt like a bit of colonial elegance (not sure if that's un-pc!). Room was clean, neat, tidy. Inclusive breakfast was excellent. I didn't realise that that would be my last decent feed for nearly two weeks and I wish I had eaten more. Stayed here on the way back too and the only fault I could find was that the shower was tepid at best, but given the colour of the water in Kathmandu that might not have been such a bad thing after all...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Singi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Singi Hotel

Address: PO Box 13168 | Lal Durbar, Kamaladi, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Singi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Singi Hotel boasts a central location within Kathmandu with easy and convenient access to banks, Durbar Marg (adjascent street)and Thamel (10mins walk). With only a 15 mins drive away from the airport, 83 elegantly appointed rooms (4 suites) awaits you with the comfort and amenities (in room fridge) of a home away from home. Jharna- Fresh array of diverse selections are served daily for breakfast (buffet and a la carte). Lunch is also served daily a la carte Pronto (lobby level)- serves fresh house baked cakes and pastries and indulge in Illy coffee, espresso or cappuccino. Enjoy complimentary wifi in the lobby as you sip your afternoon or evening away. Mandala restaurant- serves a la carte dinner Bhanjyang Bar- open nightly with a diverse selection of spirits, liquours, cocktails and a snack menu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Royal Singi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Singi Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Singi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.