We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nirvana Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nirvana Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Nirvana Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 5728 | Thamel, Chhetrapati, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Kathmandu's best hidden secret garden. My third trip to Thamel and the Nirvana Garden Hotel. Staff are so accommodating and helpful. Try and book a room in the back unit on the front with a balcony overlooking the lovely garden and outdoor seating area. The beds could do with an upgrade as some are super soft or rock hard but this is a small hiccup given the wonderful setting, remarkable staff and delicious restaurant food. You can leave your luggage in storage and they have safety deposit boxes free of charge as well. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I visit Kathmandu, make it your little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: Book months ahead as this gem is very busy with expedition groups. The bonus is you can reserve and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    63
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
14
45
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights after coming down the Friendship Highway from Lhasa. Compared with some establishments in Tibet this place was luxurious with a very nice garden where you could have a meal or a beer. The hotel is located right in the Thamel area. Our room, in the annex building facing the garden, was OK, clean and with a balcony. No AC but this was not needed at this time of the year (October). AC is available in rooms in the main building. No elevator in this hotel! The breakfast was OK but as usual it seems very difficult to keep it topped up. Did not use the restaurant for other meals but there are plenty of restaurants in the area. Next door there is a building site and and a school that was very noisy during day time. Due to the location at the end of a alley there is little noise from traffic and barking dogs at night. Beware of using credit card to settle your account, the surcharge is 4%.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with AC in the main building during the hot season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights before starting our everest base camp trek. This is a two star hotel so we didn't exect much, esp on our budget! The rooms are ok, basic bathrooms (not like your going to spend that much time in there! if you are than maybe his hotel is not for you :)). The AC did not do much cooling, it just made a lot of noise. The room did have a mini fridge, which wasn't on, and we didn't even try to use it. There was some funny timing thing with the lights in the room. We were told some of the lights in the rooms only came on after a certain time in the evening (not quite sure about the reason behind it, but it didn't bother us). As fas as the breakfast goes, it was ok, good enough to get you going for the day.

In terms of location, it was in a great location, center of the thamel area. Lots of places to eat and shop.

For the price we payed for this hotel, we were happy with it. After our trek we stayed in a 5 star hotel, which cost us 4x more and the staff there don't even know what a smile is, let lone customer service. At least in Nirvana the staff smile and are much more helpful.

O nearly forgot, there is no lift in the hotel. Staff do help with bags. Overall, the hotel is ok for the price, but if they want, maybe do some work on the bathrooms and the matresses :).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was an ideal location for me as it was my first time in Kathmandu, the gardens are beautiful, the staff friendly and if you get a room with a balcony overlooking the gardens even better. I started and ended my tour here. Leaving my luggage in storage while away trekking.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystradowen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here before our solo trek to Annapurna Base Camp. The hotel manager is a saint, he helped us with everything we needed before we set off including return flights to Pokhara, orgnised airport pick up and advised of the best places to go to in the city, We had a great room with a balcony over looking the gardens which are great to relax in after a day in Thamel.
Many thanks, this is the only hotel we would consider when we return

Room Tip: Ask for 511, its a gem
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

What else to say, it´s the location, the peacefull garden, the friendly staff, that makes me fell at home every time I have to stay at Kathmandu, at least twice a year, with 2 - 4 of our biking groups staying there as well since more than 10 years.
Just one recommendation to the owners : The most of the bathrooms need to be done up !!
Same with some of the matrasses.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is Really a hidden Gem of the Hotels in Kathmandu , i have been able to stay here more than 20 Times as my self a Business man from the other city of the country i used this hotel frequently, it is Really a Garden Retreat on the Middle of Thamels Crowd you Wont Believe How cozy this place is But Still less than a Minute away from every thing , find a street (Their private Ally) Opposite to the Everest steak House takes about 2 minutes walk , & you will be so blessed to be on this quiet clam & friendly Hotel, Nice spacious rooms with burning hot Water nice roof top on Block A to sit on & watch the Sunset Or overlook the Swoyambhunath Temple. Beautiful Out door setting For varied Breakfast, Most important is the attitude of The Staffs & Their friendliness which i receive Each time very very attentive. All in One i would say Every One Do stay in Nirvana Garden its a Real Nirvana of THAMEL hope to stay Here again on My Next Trip to KAthmandu.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirvana Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Garden Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 5728 | Thamel, Chhetrapati, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nirvana Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana Garden-Hotel is located in a tranquil oasis right in the heart of Thamel: Kathmandu's hub of touristic area, within walking distance of the Royal Palace Museum, the shopping and business district and areas of touristic interest. One step away from the hustle and bustle of Thamel, guests can enjoy the serene comfort of an expansive and lush landscaped garden replete with a rocky waterfall and a profusion of flowers, trees and birds. The hotel is unique, starting from its prime location, a spacious parking area, the ambiance and decor of the lobby and rooms to the Nepalese architecture of the hotel structure. The service is friendly but efficient and polite but personal, catering to all the needs of a discerning guest. The hotel aims to provide international standard accommodation and service with a touch of warm Nepalese hospitality at very affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Nirvana Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Garden Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirvana Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.