We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A living museum - a real jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kantipur Temple House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kantipur Temple House to your Saves list
Kantipur Temple House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chusyabahal, Jyatha Tol | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A living museum - a real jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Newari Architecture at its best. Not only the former temple building took a while to explore, also the garden was very atmospheric. Don't miss the court with lovely window carvings valley style.
The restaurant was very good, too. Staff was very friendly. Our room had a heater and double glazed windows! The cherry on top was a switched on heating blanket and a hot water bottle which we found in our beds at night =). Very stylish.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subechhya B, Manager at Kantipur Temple House, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest
Namaste
we are happy to learn that we were able to live up to your expectations, and would like to thank you for sharing your experience abot our architecture, room and room ammenities, and food. It is motivating to read your words of appreciation which will go a long way to motivate our team. Thank you very much for the reccomendation.
Our entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    172
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
44
178
75
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Definitely recommendable for everyone.
Silent, peaceful in the noise of the city.
A real gem for travelers and also for business.
The rooms a not very luxe, nor is the bathroom, but nevertheless it's worth to stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I picked this hotel for it's location in Thamel, close to all the action, yet providing a respite from the business, noise etc and definitely wasn't disappointed. It was amazing how within a minute or two you were in the midst of shops, restaurants and busy streets but back at the hotel it was peaceful and relaxing.

The hotel building itself is impressive and recreated in an old traditional style. It is very tastefully decorated inside. We stayed twice in a standard and deluxe room. Both were very comfortable, clean and spacious. The main difference was the deluxe being a lot bigger. The shower was very good and hot in one room, not so in another where it was more of a trickle and varied from lukewarm to cold. There is advice in the rooms about best times to shower and take advantage of hot water/electricity so that would be worth bearing in mind.

It is nice that the hotel is thinking ecologically, e.g. no plastic water bottles, instead water jugs are provided which you can refill in common area. There is also no TV in bedrooms which may be an issue for some. Wifi was free and worked well.

Staff were all very pleasant and greeted us every time we saw them. Breakfast was fine, really tasty bread and decent coffee. I did think a little more variety and hot/cooked items would be good.

Overall I was very please with this hotel, it was very good value and I would return without hesitation.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subechhya B, Manager at Kantipur Temple House, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,
Namaste
Thank you very much for your feedback. Your appreciation of the breath taking architecture, comfortable room and our eco friendly conceptis very kind. Thank you for your words of appreciation for our associates, this will definitely encourge them to continue to strive for excellence.

We look forward to welcome you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Right in the heart of Kathmandu Valley, the tourists zone -Thamel, this hotels with warm Nepali atmosphere and hospitality is standing surprisingly attractive. Quite place inside chaotic thamel area. Very close to the public transport center - Jamal. Friendly customer service team to welcome and guide you at the front desk. This hotel is environment friendly and promotes recycling and reusing. No air conditions but there is not need for one..the rooms were warm enough with electric bed mattress in the chilled nights of December. Hot and cold water in bathroom. Clean room. Restaurant - not so recommendable; but hope it changes soon. Wifi- not so recommendable but hope it get better too.

Room Tip: Choose a room where ur bed is not attached to the wall that has bathroom on the other side for anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subechhya B, Manager at Kantipur Temple House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest
Namaste
Thank you Very much for your feedback. Thank you for your appreciation about our architecture, our Eco-friendly concept and our associates, I shall share this with the team, this recognition will definitely motivate us to strive harder for excellence.

We have tried to give the feel of Nepali culture and history in every part of our property. we have a restaurant which doesn't look very fancy " built in traditional Nepali concept " but serves very delicious and amazing varities of organic dishes. I'm sure if you try it once you will love it.

We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Back for my third stay here and there are plenty of reasons to come back. Being recognised by the staff was a surprise, but the main reasons for coming here are the location and the ambiance. It is right in Thamil, so great for shopping etc, but feels calm and refined. The garden is bigger and the hotel keeps getting nicer. Rooms are clean and well sized. Value for money, I don't think you can do better in town. Personally I like to dine out, as with all of Thamil on your doorstep, there are lots of exciting things to try. The gardens are however the perfect spot for a relaxing drink and if you are the yoga type, yet have daily sessions. I will be back again!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subechhya B, Manager at Kantipur Temple House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest
Namaste

We are happy to learn that we were able to live up to your expectations and would like to thank you for sharing your experience. It is truly motivating to read your words of appreciation which will go a long way to motivate our team. Thank you very much for the recommendation

Our entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, CO
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We statyed in this urban oasis for several nights while in Kathmandu. This place is amazing. It was recreated to look like a temple and it has exceptional workmanship. It is in no way fancy but feels very authentic and genuine. The staff was exceptional. The breakfast buffet was so-so (it seems, for the price, that they could offer eggs cooked to order). We had a "deluxe" room and it was great but certainly not fancy. It is right smack in the middle of Thamel and, when our taxi arrived, we were afraid to exit because the entrance is located in an alley. But, once you walk through the (guarded) gate, it was an sea of tranquility in the midst of a storm raging outside. The only reason that I did not rate it higher is because it was relatively expensive. I paid $140 for my room which was probably the most expensive place in this district of Kathmandu and compared with other hotels (i.e., Yak and Yeti) that claim to be 5 star, was probably over-priced. Having said that, by American standards, this would probably be a bargain. Great service; great location; yoga every morning and very authentic.

Room Tip: Probably the best hotel in the Thamel section of Kathmandu
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first hotel in Nepal and, after a crazy drive through what seemed a million motorbikes, arrived at this backstreet beautiful architectural oasis of calm hidden behind high walls. Don't be put off by arriving through a building site! We stayed three nights during the Nepalese equivalent of Diwali (when it was beautifully decorated) then used it as a base when travelling around Nepal. The rooms are good especially the more spacious ones on the third floor but be aware there is no lift. The garden is lovely but there are only tables and chairs, not anywhere to relax after a hard day's sightseeing. The staff are also friendly and helpful. The restaurant is good rather than great. The only downside is that it was built with German money and therefore tends to have large groups of German trekkers and not many independent travellers. This can make breakfast a bit of a bun fight. Very safe as there is always a security guard outside, even in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: Stayed on first and third floors - upper floor was much bigger with sitting area. Both equally quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subechhya B, Manager at Kantipur Temple House, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Namaste
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Kantipur Temple House for your stay during your visit to Nepal. It is great for all of us involved at Kantipur Temple House to learn your stay remain very pleasant. Thank you very much for your positive comment .
Let me make it clear to you as a founder of Kantipur Temple House, the investment is 100% from myself and I am born-in Nepali and my ancestor are from the long history of Nepal. I work on sustainable approach on business hence I made an effort to built this hotel in temple style. I am trying my best to conserve Nepali culture, tradition, history and let the world know about it. It is our pleasure to accommodate all our guest from all over the world in group or individual.
I would like to assure you this is pure Nepali investment.

Bharat Basnet
Owner
Kantipur Temple House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kantipur Temple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantipur Temple House

Address: Chusyabahal, Jyatha Tol | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kantipur Temple House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kantipur Temple House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantipur Temple House Hotel Kathmandu
Kantipur Temple Hotel
Kantipur Temple Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kantipur Temple House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.