We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - but don't be surprised that it is and Eco Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kantipur Temple House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kantipur Temple House to your Saves list
Kantipur Temple House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chusyabahal, Jyatha Tol | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - but don't be surprised that it is and Eco Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Kantipur Temple House is an Eco Hotel - this means that you shouldn't expect a traditional 4* hotel:

1. The lighting is dim to save power
2. The bed linen is thin and poorly laundered to cut back on polluting detergents
3. There is no air conditioning
4. There is no TV in the room
5. There is no elevator (lift)

I loved the hotel and was more than happy to make a few compromises by staying in an eco hotel - my wife was less than keen, so it is horses for courses.

The restaurant was good for Nepal, serving organic Nepalese food. Not to spicy but it makes a nice change from Indian food.

The location was great for the tourist spots in Kathmandu. And the hotel garden's are beautiful (make sure you get a seat early for breakfast).

We met the owner, Mr Basnet, on our last day and it was great that he took an interest in our views and shared his vision for promoting eco tourism in Nepal. He has also employed a Swiss intern for a few months and she was especially keen - it is good to see that Mr Basnet is making a real effort to further improve what is a great little hotel.

Room Tip: A garden or courtyard view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    188
    45
    15
    8
See reviews for
48
200
84
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Busan, South Korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

There are plenty of hotels in the Thamel area which offer generic room and mediocre customer service. Although the Kantipur Temple House is an excellent exception to that rule! From the moment you enter the property, the staff makes a sincere effort to make eye contact and greet you. This is so simple but it really makes a difference, I felt genuinely welcome! Upon entering the hotel you feel like you're in an oasis from the crazy city, it's peaceful and quiet. The architecture and design are beautifully authentic Newari style, even the smallest details are considered. The rooms are simple, clean, and comfortable. The hotel focuses on reducing waste although the customer's experience isn't sacrificed. Kathmandu/Nepal suffers with major power cuts, but I found there to always be enough light to read at night and have a very hot shower. I also really appreciated the evening visit from the staff offering drinking water and extra T.P. I only enjoyed one meal at the hotel, my friends and I all agreed that the food was really tasty and the ambiance was relaxing with very attentive staff. I also overheard some rumors of a potential meditation or yoga classes in the courtyard or beautiful rooftop, I think it would be a great touch! Overall I really enjoyed my stay at Kantipur Temple House and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Build like a newari palace, like many world's patrimonies classified temple of Katmandu, this hotel with private garden and terrace is a marvel. Rooms are beautiful, and the restaurant is really excellent. And staff very very friendly. The perfect place to stay in Katmandu

Room Tip: It's not necessary to reserve a "deluxe" room. Prefer the rooms close to the garden fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavnagar, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Best place to stay and best shopping area all near by good food and very very helpfull people and the best thing is very quite and calm so that people can enjoy the peace and beauty togather no noise no polution . thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It was only a one night stay but it was clean, well prepared and the staff were very, very, very polite and helpful. I felt like a true guest. The food in the morning was terrific and the staff were very obliging to help me with directions and getting services.

The atmosphere of the Temple House is what is the feature here and the amazing architecture is a true draw card. I would recommend a stay here to experience Nepal at it's best.

Room Tip: You are in the Nepal where everything is cheap. Do yourself and them a favour and choose the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed one night in Temple house.Beautiful building. Rooms were large and very comfortable. Had our evening meal at the Hotel which was really good.
Very quiet street but just around the corner from the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu .Loved everything about my visit. Was my Christmas pressie from my lovely daughter and her boyfriend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
654 helpful votes 654 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you are looking for boutique accommodation in Kathmandu that is in Thamel, but something different to the cheap backpacker accommodation, or sprawling trekker guesthouses, then Kantipur Temple House might be just what you are looking for. While still effectively on the edge of Thamel, it is located on a very quiet lane toward Durbar Marg, about a 10 minute walk from Thamel's noisy heart. The hotel itself is something of a quiet oasis. If you want somewhere with more people and more interaction, you might want to look elsewhere.
What sets Kantipur Temple House apart from other accommodation is that it is built 1998 in the distinctive Newari architectural style that is historically indigenous to the Kathmandu valley, and more commonly seen on old Nepalese temples. The building is built in brown brick, with ornately carved window frames and features. It is five story complex, with 48 rooms set around a central courtyard atrium. Most hallways have alcoves with comfortable chairs and tables if you wish to read, write etc.
To my knowledge there is only one similar hotel in Kathmandu - the luxurious and heritage 5-star Dwarika's Hotel (located some distance from Thamel, near the Pashupatinath Hindu Temple). If you are not up to paying the much higher price at Dwarika's and want somewhere adjacent to the activity of Thamel, then I suggest you consider KTH.
Behind the high brick walls on the lane, you will find a very pleasantly manicured garden, with tables for eating, reading etc in the sun.
The hotel has two restaurants, although as far as I could see, one was primarily for breakfast and one for dinner. I didn't have dinner there - choosing to eat at the many restaurants in Thamel, however the breakfast was quite satisfactory - with juices, tea/coffee, cereals, yogurts, organic fruit, toast with organic jams, and nicely made omlettes with fried vegetables, bacon and sausage. I found the breakfast service staff to be particularly friendly and attentive. I booked my room through an online agency and breakfast wasn't included in the room rate. They charged about 600NR for breakfast. I don't know whether other packages include breakfast with the room.
The hotel makes a genuine effort to be organic and sustainable. Plastic bags are not used, garbage is recycled, solar power heats the water, drinking water is provided in jugs instead of plastic bottles, and rooms do not have airconditioning or TV.
Wifi is included in the room rate however - although I found that the service and speed fluctuated significantly during the day - but this is typical with all hotels in Kathmandu.
The other major problem was power outages. All of Nepal is currently suffering from huge power shortages, and city wide load-shedding means that the power is often out for most of the working day, and periods of night. As mentioned, this is not the fault of the hotel directly, but definitely affects guests, particularly as many of the rooms have limited natural light. (Trust me, Nepali citizens are as frustrated about the situation as you probably will be). There was a sheet in the room that identified exactly what hours of each day the power would be off for. During these times, the hotel runs on backup generators and batteries, and so there is still basic lighting, wifi, etc.
There are two standards of rooms - basic, which are quite small, and deluxe, which have about double the floor space. Both are simply furnished but comfortable and clean. The hotel has 24 hour running hot water, and in the evening on cool nights, housekeeping staff will turn down the beds, turn on electric blankets, put hot water bottles in the bed, and turn on bedroom heaters.
Many rooms do not have a desk, so if you are staying for business, or want a desk, ask for a room that has one. Note that the hotel does not have an elevator, so if you have any mobility issues, be sure to ask for a room on a lower floor.
Apparently the hotel has a rooftop terrace, but I didn't visit it, and no reference was made to while I was there - so perhaps it is mainly used in the summer?
I found the hotel pretty quick at arranging me taxis when I needed them, although make sure you take a card with the hotel phone number on it, when you return, as not all taxis know where the hotel is and will need to phone for directions. A taxi arranged from the hotel cost 500NR to the airport (around minutes depending on traffic). The hotel can also arrange an airport pickup on arrival, although it charges about US$10 for this service.
Like all hotels, laundry can be arranged by Kantipur Temple House, although there are couple of laundry services just around the corner in the next lane, that only charge 50NR per kilo for overnight service - a lot less than the hotel, particularly if you are getting EVERYTHING cleaned after trekking!
I also recommend a small flashlight or headlamp. The shortest route to the hotel from Thamel is down a lane that is not lit at night, and the ground can be potholed, or even have open manhole covers which pose a real risk in the dark. The hotel does supply small rechargeable flashlights in all the rooms.
(For those people really hanging out for a good coffee, the best I found was Himalayan Java - upstairs in Tridevi Marg, at the entrance to Thamel, across the road from Fire & Ice Pizza. The closest thing to Starbucks you will find in Kathmandu!)

Room Tip: A lower floor, facing the garden will give more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kantipur Temple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantipur Temple House

Address: Chusyabahal, Jyatha Tol | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#19 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kantipur Temple House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kantipur Temple House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantipur Temple House Hotel Kathmandu
Kantipur Temple Hotel
Kantipur Temple Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kantipur Temple House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.