We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury after Base Camp Trek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tibet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tibet to your Saves list
Hotel Tibet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 7956, Lazimpath, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Luxury after Base Camp Trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

What a charming hotel in a great location. Hard to believe that you are in central Kathmandu. Staff are friendly and polite can not do enough for you. Stayed for 3 night after our trip to Everest Base Camp. Room was clean and the bathroom spotless with as much hot water as you could wish for. Breakfast was buffet style with the tastiest omelet's cooked to order. Had one evening meal which was also of a high quality. But the jewel in the crown of this fabulous hotel was the roof top bar where you could relax and enjoy some lovely cocktails.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear JSwift14,
I am pleased to hear that our effort to exceed expectation has been noticed and you were kind enough to share your memorable experience with us on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Kathmandu.
Tashi Delek
Roji
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    107
    45
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
67
61
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My room was spacious and overlooked a nice roof garden. Meals were served either inside or outside the hotel. The outside area was very pleasant and you had a choice of shaded or non-shaded areas. The food was of high quality. Breakfast was a buffet with the option of cooking eggs to order. Three locations were available for Internet service and connectivity was good. The location is so so. It is about a 25-minute walk into Thamel and the road resembled a permanent construction site. If you walk it at night, bring a flashlight. There is a side street leading to the hotel, which had a couple of moneychangers and several shops selling T-shirts.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Adam P,
We sincerely appreciate you taking time to share your feedback. It is great to know that you liked our Yeti bar and Terrace which we tried to manage as a main concern to the guest.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Kathmandu.
Tashi Delek
Roji
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel both sides of our trekking adventure (4 nights in total)
We found they hotel to be of very high quality. The staff are all extremely friendly and couldn't do more for you.
We did experience some issues with water temperature but this was dealt with promptly and when you think of where the hotel is you have to be forgiving of some issues. Food in the restaurant was beautifully presented and inexpensive.
The front of the hotel can get quite noisy due to car horns at all hours so i would recommend a room at the back of the hotel for the best chance of rest.
One negative aspect is only 1 wifi appliance may be used in the rooms at any one time.
Would still recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable place in the middle of chaotic Kathmandu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Dale V,
We sincerely appreciate you taking time to share your feedback and great review. It is great to know that you enjoyed our hotel and its services. Pardon us for the interruption in internet we are working hard to give better service in internet as well. We have conveyed your kind words to all our staffs. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Kathmandu.
Tashi Delek
Roji
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, charming, serene, and well appointed; the rooms are great; the food is excellent and it's central location is very practical (and it's amazingly quiet in the heart of Kathmandu), but above all, the staff …. the staff - friendly, outgoing, attentive - anticipated what I'd need before I realized I needed it, and always there with a smile, and a laugh and a joke. I spent over a month there - September / October 2013 - in the middle of the tourist season (and my 5th visit to Nepal), so these observations are not just about a brief stay - it's a real gem - a can't miss, tranquil retreat to stay in the midst of the hubbub of Kathmandu. I hope you enjoy your visit there as much as I did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear George B,
Your perfect score is truly appreciated and we are happy to see that you enjoyed yourself at our hotel. Thank you for sharing your superb experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you liked our hotel, its, food, staffs and location. We succeeded in caring your every need we hope to give you even better service in future if we see you back again and do hope you’ll stay in touch.
Tashi Delek
Roji
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My first time in Nepal and stayed here for two nights. I arrived at about midnight after a delayed arrival and check-in was smooth. My room on third floor was not facing the front side where rooms have balconies so I had a view of the house next door. The room was quite simple and a typical standard room configuration of twin beds, desk, small sitting area and bathroom. All was clean except for the bin under the desk that had a dried up banana skin in. The bathroom was on the aging side but functional. Hand soap was a local brand and like a disinfectant type with not such a great smell. Shampoo was supplied in small sachets; also local brand and not that great quality. There was a hand towel holder, but no hand towel - just two bath towels. Shower/hot water were great. Bed and pilows were clean and quite comfortable.
I had breakfast in the restaurant which was included (buffet). There is an indoor eating section as well as a great outdoor area which also has a bar. Plenty of green plants and a nice garden atmosphere. The food quality was average and there was an egg bar to get cooked eggs/omlettes made to order. The juice was not that great but other dishes ok. The best though was the coffee - Illy brand and made by a very talented staff member - one of the best I have had! If you like a good coffee - stay here just for that!
There is an outdoor area on the fifth floor which offers views of Kathmandu and the Raddison hotel next door. Both indoor and outdoor areas to nap/relax or sunbath with a drink.
Overall service was good and all the staff were kind and courteous. There is also a tour desk that can arrange a whole range of activities. Location wise, it is next to the Raddison hotel where there is a casino and restaurants. There is also a short shopping street with souvenirs and a supermarket a short walk away. It is about a 15 minute walk to to the main tourist area of Thamel down a dusty road (but then all the roads are dusty)
Overall a recommended hotel - especially for the great coffee.

Overall I would recommed this hotel as

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Kleinrhys,
I am pleased to hear that our effort to exceed expectation has been noticed and you were kind enough to share your memorable experience with us on trip adviser. Kindly rest assured that your valuable comment has been noted by housekeeping and kitchen Departments. They will surely take appropriate action to follow up. I have shared your wonderful remarks with our staff and it is highly appreciated by all.
We look forward to serve you at Hotel Tibet soon.
Tashi Delek
Roji
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

+ good hot water supply; good water pressure
+ nice Tibetan decoration in the lounge and in the rooms
+ quiet
+ many restaurant staff were ready and available to assist anyone during breakfast
+ with elevator

- the water from the tap and shower smelled bad (like that from the canal or that of stagnant water)
- free breakfast was so-so
- dinner was expensive and horrendous (It's more because of the quality of the ingredients used, not really the chef's shortcomings, I think.)
- the sofas in the lounge need changing
- dim room (some lights were not functioning)
- a very pricey hotel for what you get (room and breakfast) – 198 USD excluding 13% VAT and 10% service charge. At Hotel Manaslu, you get to pay only around 75 USD but you have better rooms (some more spacious and with “character”), very good food and more professional and well-dressed staff

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Chey1880,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Hotel Tibet. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. This issue is well noted. Kindly rest assured that your valuable comment has been noted by all Departments concern. They will surely take appropriate action to follow up the maintenance plan. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Tashi Delek
Roji
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coolup
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here in September and had a fantastic stay.The staff were very friendly and allways ready to help when we asked.The room were clean and well serviced.The food was great.Breakfast was as much as you can eat and great way to start the day.I cant recommend this hotel enough. Thanks hotel Tibet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTibet, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear david b,
It is great to know that you enjoyed and liked our Hotel. Your perfect score is truly appreciated.
We look forward to serve you again in the near future!
Tashi Delek
Roji
GRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet

Address: PO Box 7956, Lazimpath, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#13 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a walking distance to all major embassies, airline offices, banks, immigration office and the famous shopping centers of Thamel. It is only 8km from the Tribhuvan International Airport and has a panoramic view of the Kathmandu Valley and the surrounding hills.The hotel offers accommodation of international standard at reasonable rates with all the basic amenities essential for a deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tibet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibet Hotel Kathmandu
Tibet Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tibet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.