We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hope you don't like showers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Manang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Manang to your Saves list
Hotel Manang
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Madison, WI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“hope you don't like showers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

After arriving from ~30hrs of traveling, all I could think of was a nice shower, but no such luck. Brown muck came out the faucets instead of water, so I waited a couple of hours, then tried again. More muck. Not good for brushing teeth either, so I asked the other people in my group if their rooms had better plumbing, but it was definitely hit or miss as to whether the water would actually run or not. The room itself was definitely not something to write home about either, and I did not have high expectations to begin with. I'm pretty sure the air conditioner contributed to the pneumonia that I brought home and the front desk people stole my postcards rather than mailing them. For the amount of $$, there are a LOT nicer places to stay (like the Kathmandu Guest house). Good location though. Also, the breakfast is outrageously expensive - check out Pumpernickel Bakery up the road if you want a terrific brunch.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    103
    54
    14
    19
See reviews for
45
48
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We loved it! Conveniently located in Thamel, great views and friendly staff... and also affordable. We'll stay there next time!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I stayed here before and after a trek with Gap Adventures, with one extra night I paid separately from the tour. $50 a night is far too expensive for a budget hotel in Kathmandu and I'm sure there is far better. The first room was above a generator that ran all night (the electricity is frequently out in Kathmandu) and between that and the neighborhood dogs barking all night, I barely slept. Food in the restaurant is expensive and mediocre. My chicken burger was raw in the center, so I sent it back, which confused them, and it took 30 minutes to make me a veggie burger instead. Many of the front desk staff seem to be rather incompetent and easily confused, especially when it comes to bills from the restaurant. They did keep our extra bags safely while we were away, though. The rooms are dingy and the beds quite hard. The bathrooms are aging and the water smells metallic. You will likely need to use the bucket to flush your toilet most of the time. I understand that this is Kathmandu and I didn't have high expectations, but for the price, this place was not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We had the pleasure to stay for a couple of days in Hotel Manang, Kathmandu, and I can only say I wish we would have been able to stay longer. All the members of the staff were just KIND, HELPFUL and WARM to us all the time. Due to our short staying, they organized for us a trip by car to visit the most important stupas and temples in the city. The restaurant is precious, in a yard plenty with plants and flowers and lovely wooden decorations. The meals were delicious (momo, Nepalese soup...). The room was clean and comfortable, with a gorgeous view of Swayambunath stupa...
WE MUST COME BACK! We want to thank Mr Ramesh Giri and all his people for everything.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I had been to Nepal with my family in mid march.Our experience was really great at hotel Manang.We were taken good care with every detail.We could feel a personal touch in the manner they treated us.The restaurant,was superb in ambience..good food and good service.Rooms were cool ,spacious and neat.Perfect location too.We could just walk and get in to the heart of the city.
will defenitely recommend to all .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart Tasmania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

I stayed at the Manang on my first trip to Kathmandu, both before and after my trek. Absolutely loved it. Staff were friendly and helpful, hotel was - well, Nepal's a third-world country so that came into consideration, especially when I had to work out how to switch the bathroom tap from bath (very primitive one) to shower operation - but it was clean, cleaning staff, dining room staff and management all lovely, the staircase and marble floors fantastic and the foyer was ornate and quite captivating. As was the gloriously-adorned doorman with his polite manners and lovely smile. In 2004 I returned, again before and after trekking, loved the 'welcome home' feeling from the staff, and again enjoyed my visit. However, in 2007 I went back (x2 again). Management had changed, the hotel was on the down-slide, the manager of my trekking company insisted I be given a better room than the grubby one I had so I was moved to a large one with a massive (queen-size?) mattress that stank of stale urine. When I returned to my room during the morning, the cleaning staff had been smoking in my room, which had a balcony, and it was fetid. Management couldn't, or wouldn't, understand what I was telling them about all this; I ended up hauling the mattress upside down to try to cover the stink and slept on the springs just for the sake of being able to breathe. Oh, and the bedspread had been stashed in the wardrobe because it was filthy. Everything was totally rundown, and on leaving I complained in writing to the management, leaving my contact details. That complaint has never been acknowledged, and when I next visit in two months' time I'll be trying out the International Guest House - will write a review of that afterwards.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travellingwilbury66
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

This is a tired old hotel with poor management (they are more interested in selling rooms to tour operators, they're not interested in individual customers). Some of the front desk staff are very pleasant, but room service is terrible, the food is barely edible and if you leave finished dishes out in the (unlit) corridor then they can stay there for days! If you're given a room overlooking the street, then be prepared for A LOT of noise. If you are a light sleeper you'll constantly be disturbed. Reasonable value if you can knock 50% off the rack rate.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Manang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manang

Address: Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manang 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Manang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manang Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Manang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.