We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt at home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Manang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Manang to your Saves list
Hotel Manang
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Felt at home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

When I reached the airport there were no one to pick us. Frustrated I called the hotel using a friendly local guy's phone- to my surprise through phone the hotel arrange 2 taxi which was there to pick us. Upon arrival v were greeted well. They were very sorry as there were some miscommunication. I believed it is genuine.
Though breakfast was nothing to shout about - was clean, mixed of western n eastern. There was hot water through out the day. Get use to the frequent current cut off for few min.
The staff were very friendly I would say very humble in fact. The Operation Manager Suresh is a real sweet talker, u can get him at any time, most of the time ur request are fulfill.
Overall they made us feel at home

Room Tip: No great views so any room would be same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    109
    59
    15
    21
See reviews for
53
54
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

On tour to Kailash Mansarovar I was looking for reasonably priced good hotel in Thamel area of Kathmandu. I and my friends were happy to have selected the Hotel Manang in the heart of Thamel - the best tourist residence area in Kathmandu.

We stayed on the way to Kailash and on the return again total for six nights. It is one of the most comfortable hotel with v good hospilality, service, food and amenities. The room service, house keeping and front desk service is v. good. Some times we faced power failure incidents for short time but it was tolerable knowing power situation in Nepal. special thanks to Ms.Diksha and Mr Suresh who are the prime assets of the hotel for guest care.

Manang is one of the best hotels in Kathmandu in its category.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Manang hotel is situated in market place. Hotel staff is co-operative and helps in all needs. Restaurant is also good serves good tasty food. When there is rush in restaurant then staff is in problem and not able to serve properly. All other things are OK and in its place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel at edge of the Thamel district is welcoming. Public spaces and restaurant bar areas are clean and well kept. The food service is good and locals eat here. The rooms are good quality and adequately provided. We stayed here twice and have no complaints. Give this hotel serious consideration if staying in Kathmandu

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gangtok, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Tried to find a best place at Thamel and landed up here, wished could googled more hotels and looked at other option as well. The prices were a little high after i checked in the room, the TV not working, the latch broken, no coffee in the room. bed sheet dirty. Requested to shift the room but the other one was also horrible, the bed was so noisy so avoid using room No 408 and 305. Also one needs to find what are the facilities provided in a 3 star category hotel of Nepal. Certainly not matched to the Indian Standard at all. Breakfast was complimentary available till 10 AM
The restaurant was good, thumps to the welcoming people there, the food also good, didn't check its bakery but fresh bed was in the menu which i liked. Recommend the dinner also.
Note: please check the room first, as they have segregated the room as budgeted, deluxe and luxury so ask for good discounts after that.

Room Tip: Avoid 305 and 408 please... bargain for good discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed in Manang for 3 nights, very quick check in and excellent services, Specially Anil from reception, always there to help us with any query. good service during breakfast. only down point was no power on two occasions but not a big deal. definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The ripped me off. They took 1.6 times the money I booked. I booked in nepali rupees (which should be in nepal), during check out they said the rate was in Indian rupee. So I have to pay 1.6 times more (currency converted)I talked to one of my local friend. They said to my friend that they are sorry for over charging me but cant refund. They are sorry and regret for their activity????

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Manang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manang

Address: Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manang 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Manang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manang Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Manang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.