We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Manang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Manang to your Saves list
Hotel Manang
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Recommend this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My nepalese friend selected this hotel for 3 friends and I in preparation for a trek. The hotel offers many amenities, including easy access to Kathmandu, good breakfasts and a very amenable staff. The rooms are sufficient, nothing fancy. But for the casual visitor to Kathmandu, a great value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    109
    59
    15
    21
See reviews for
53
54
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idrija, Slovenija
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Really nice place for pre- and post-trekking stay, at the edge of Thamel, yet not burdened with its crowd. For Nepali standards, service is outstanding, and the cuisine really excellent. The breakfast buffet is surprisingly rich, with the food of a good quality.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We were using this hotel as an assembly and departure point for the Annapurna Sanctuary Trek. It was apparent by the number of trekking groups checking into this hotel, that it is very popular for trekking and adventure groups. The hotel staff was helpful and accomodating as we needed to stow our non-treking gear for 13 days during our trek and between checkout and airport departures times.

I agree with other reviewers about the bed comfort. We used our Thermarest pads to soften their hard beds.

Having a ATM machine on the grounds was a definite plus as was the espresso/bakery.

The food was tasty but you'll find much better bread/pastries purchased from the bakery than the breads served in the buffet.

Room Tip: As true for all hotels in the Thamel area, get a room away from the streets if possible. We had expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

In a nutshell. We received very good service from the hotel Manang. The rooms were clean and the location was ideal for all the tourist things. Oh and given our overall experience I'd say that this hotel is top value!

The only criticism I can think of is that although the rooms are very clean, the decor is starting to look tired.

Apart that I definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We have stayed here twice now and found the best thing about the Hotel is the staff. The service is very good, they are helpful and accomodating always.
The food is also good and the organic coffee surprisingly so.
We will return.

Room Tip: The top floor (5th I think) has a great view out the back of the Monkey Temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Manang in Kathamandu for a week and our experience was excellent.

We found the hotel very clean. The staff from the junior level to senior level - all very very friendly and co-operative. They made us feel "AT HOME". The Manager - Mr. Suresh Shreshta - helped us to organise our trip locally including our Mountain Flight, which was memorable. Quality of the food was reasonably good.

We would strongly recommend this hotel, for anyone who has plans to visit Kathamandu.

Room Tip: Generally the rooms are quite spacious, neat and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

In my last stay there was a mishap. While we were checking out, we got a additional bill for water. At a point we were pissed of about the behavior of service guy. Lastly the GM came to took care. I was really impressed with the GM's attitude and service. I was honored also there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Manang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manang

Address: Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manang 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Manang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manang Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Manang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.