We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location and very nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garuda

Hotel Garuda
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Garuda to your Saves list
Hotel Garuda
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thamel, GPO Box 1771, Kathmandu 000000, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good location and very nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hotel Garuda is an old and well known institution i Kathmandu. The location in the middle of Thamel with all the restaurants and shops are just around the corner. Rooms are basic and not overpriced your breakfast you take at "Crazy Burger" downstairs, not crazy at all. ATM and supermarket very close. The staff is very friendly and can help you out with small and big problems!

Room Tip: The noisy barmusic around stops at 23.00 but rooms at the back are best.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
4
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Varmahlid, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have stayed in this guesthouse on multiple occasions dating back to 1997.
The location is right in the middle of thamel which is great. For those wanting a quiet night sleep. I challenge you to find anywhere in Kathmandu where you can escape the dread beep beep.

On each occasion I have found the staff to be very accommodating. The rooms are fine. For those who book expecting hyatt standard rooms you should really ask why are you in Nepal to start with To experience Nepal is to experience everything the country has to offer.

For those who do visit take some time to read the various climbing expedition posters. So many expeditions have stayed here. The Garuda is a slice of history in Nepal it goes hand in hand with rum doodles,the Everest steak house and the pilgrim bookstore. enjoy

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The hotel is quite well maintained, and it is subject to mention, it has electricity for 24 hours... I know, it sounds ridiculous, but if you are researching about Nepal, you'd better consider that fact... In the evening location is bit noisy; never ending horns and shouts from the street, not to mention a bars and live music, which however is shut by 10pm.

Basically, you get what you pay for (10-12 USD per night). All things considered, it's quite good choice for Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Windowless rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville FL
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

I picked this Hotel for price and location. Luckily, being a musician, the bar next door was where I went each evening to jam with the local musicians. They kept calling me back, so I got a chance to play almost every night that I cared to. Doorman likes Whisky. Very convenient internet cafe in the lobby, and also a Good cheap eating area. And so close to everything worth walking to in Kathmandu. Paid for a 10 day stay upfront, so I was pretty much bound there. Ate, drank and was Merry!!!!!

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Just came back from Kathmandu where our group stayed at Garuda. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
The accomodation was very,very basic. The rooms had no airconditioning although they later supplied us with a fan because our room was so unbearably hot. It was really noisy from the night club next door which belted out a repition of songs til the early hours of the morning-including Smoke on the Water! We could also hear people vomiting from the hotel next door!! There was only hot water on one night of our stay.They supply thongs to wear into the bathroom- we used our own! The hotel is full of history from mountaineers who used the accomodation before they set off to climb Mt.Everest. The Manager did tell us "next time we come" it will all be up dated as they are starting renovations soon to up grade the Hotel. I hope they do a good job because the people who work here are truly lovely and deserve good business from a better Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Was here and thought the was good, everyone was friendly, and the location was right in the middle of thamel, the tourist spot so it was very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Stayed here a while ago but I just joined TripAdvisor and wanted to review the hotel. I enjoyed this place very much, we stayed here after doing the Anapurna trek and I could barely get down the stairs, which was good because the signed pictures of decades worth of climbers grace the walls of the stairwell....be sure to take a moment to give them a look, they're pretty cool. As far as the room, bathroom was ok buy beds, pillows, sheets were old.....and they didn't clean the room or change our towels for the 3 days we were there....not that we cared much but just some info.....if I returned to Kathmandu I don't see any reason I wouldnt stay here again. The price is certainly right.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garuda

Address: Thamel, GPO Box 1771, Kathmandu 000000, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Garuda 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Garuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garuda Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.