We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in Excelsior feels like being "at home"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 9432, Thamel | Narsingh Camp, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Goes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staying in Excelsior feels like being "at home"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

I come in Excelsior once a year since last 17 years.
Came here alone, with friends and with my groups as tourleader.
Hotel is in the middle of Thamel, in a small street in front of KC´s restaurant and at the side of bakery Pumpernicle.
Owner Kunsang Dorje Lama is realy reliable and is very helpfull for his customers. His whife has a nice juwelery shop on the ground floor.
The staff is also very helpfull and friendly. You can ask them to organise trips, trekkings, air- or bustickets etcetera.
Rooms are good with TV, AC and attached bathroom. In the morning and in the evening hot water from the geaser and in daytime from the solarpannel system. Excelsior is taking care of its own watersupply and has a big genereator to cope with the daily powercuts in Kathmandu. So the elevator is always working as well as the TV and AC.
The regular guests in Excelsior for years and years proves the value of this hotel. Once a guest, always a guest whenever you"ll be back in KTM.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    36
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
14
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

My friend and I stayed at the Excelsior on the budget side of the road. The rooms where cheap. There was a quiet courtyard upstairs that no one was ever in and gave us a quiet place to chill out. There was no restaurant or any real communal space but seeing that it is smack bang in central Thamel it didnt matter. It was very safe and clean and the staff were friendly. I would highly recommend the budget Excelsior (across the road from the main hotel which we didnt spend any time in but could have) if you are looking for inexpensive, quiet, clean and friendly accommodation in the middle of Thamel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

For the price-$28.00-can't be beat. Wonderful managers. All hours. Right in the heart of Thomal. Would stay again

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

The hotel is centrally located, in the heart of tourist area. I have been coming back to this hotel for the past fifteen years. I come here for my business as well as holiday with my family. Its clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I always feel at home . Hotel has two buildings the main building rooms are bigger with ac rooms and balcony. and in the extension building they have economy rooms. which are cheaper and smaller. but all the rooms have same service. they change the linen every day. They have a beautiful restaurant with continental, Nepali, and Tibetan food. Food are really tasty and clean. I never get sick. and I never got stomach problem from the food. the rooftop garden is a relaxing spot for me, you can enjoy the view of Kathmandu while having a hot cup of Nepali brewed cappuccino. And above all it is very safe to stay here. To all who wish to travel to Kathmandu I absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Hotel Excelsior is a really great, clean and cozy hotel to stay in. Although the lobby area was a little cold in the winter, in the rooms there are heaters which really helped.
The Italian food at the restaurant was delicious and different from other restaurants around.
At night the loud bollywood music is a little annoying but you get over it after a night or two.
The hotel is located in a very central area so going for shopping and sight seeing is not a problem. There is also a great place for breakfast right next to the hotel called Pumpernickel's garden. The bread there is great.. The hotel too have nice and fresh bread...
Cleanliness is not a problem in this hotel and so isn't the electricity...
Money is also not a problem because the rates are really reasonable....

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

Positives: good location, good sized rooms, helpful reception

Negatives: the rooms hadn't been dusted for I don't know how long, the sheets were unclean with dirt and hair in them, the bathroom STANK you couldn't open the door to the bedroom without gagging.

That about sums up our experience. Due to the location there was a fair bit of noise but you will get that anywhere in Thamel and it didn't bother us. The location was excellent but due to the dirt we left after one night and had a much better stay at the Sacred Valley Inn for the same price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Hotel Excelsior is centrally placed in Thamel, the main tourist district of Kathmandu. I have stayed there every year for the last 15 years when visiting Nepal. The owners, Kusang Dorji and his wife Jigme, are very friendly and helpful, as are all the staff in the hotel. The hotel has its own very adequate restaurant; and computers that offer broadband and Skype. A generator means that electric facilities continue through Kathmandu’s frequent power cuts. I recommend Hotel Excelsior to anyone wanting a comfortable stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: P.O. Box 9432, Thamel | Narsingh Camp, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.