We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"average hotel at an overpriced rates"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Malla Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Malla Hotel to your Saves list
Malla Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Leknath Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Kanpur, India
1 review
“"average hotel at an overpriced rates"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

nice place to stay specially if you are looking to stay in mid of the city.
nice cosy room with friendly staff.
swimming area also average.
only problems is the regular water logging in their bathroom which have very poor drainage facilities.
overall the hotel is good

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    63
    50
    24
    4
See reviews for
17
36
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The hotel looks great o n the outside but has a tired feel inside. The room decor is worn . The food is OK and the staff are helpful and polite. The hotel offers two style of menu-french and nepali /indian. when we stayed there the hotel was not able to offer any tandoor cooked food.
The swimming poold id not look as if it had had much attention -but it was the start of the trekking season

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the fourth floor ,the rooms are much bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

From the outer sight, the Malla Hotel wants to play in the higher division. As soon as you enter the room, you realise that it actually cannot keep up the appearance.
The hotel lobby is the host for quite some redundant personnel, from saluting door sentinels to an irrelevant Guest Relation Officer.
The room is fair equipped, but the cleanliness is poor and the room is sloppy (half painted walls). The bathroom has everything except a good air evacuation.

The prices for optional services are exaggerated: WIFI costs are high while internet connection sucks. The bar and restaurant prices are too high.

Depending on your the room location, you may be annoyed during the night from barking dogs in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The hotel could be easily one good middle class hotel with big good rooms.
The people are very polite and very helpfull. Even in the restaurant where everything is a disaster.
Nothing works. Not the order you give comes as you specified nor the food is to the level you expect..It Is disorganized .Easily you can stay here but take your meals elsewhere..The breakfast is not bad . Just ordinary.
It is shame when even the small cafes and hotels have free Wi Fi for the guests the hotel MALLA ask hefty price for the privilege.

Room Tip: Sleep here , eat elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights before trekking and one after, eating dinner on all three.

The central location was good for shopping and site seeing; the Thamel area was five minutes walk away (if you didn't get run down on the way).

It could be seen as a somewhat pretentious tourist hotel with the elaborately turned out commissionaires, but they were helpful and friendly. Reception staff were a bit dour but got things done.

Our rooms were comfortable but had paper thin walls.

Meals were self-service, not in keeping with front of house pretensions.

The food and service was fine, apart from on our final morning. Our tour manager had arranged an early breakfast for our party but the restaurant was closed at the appointed time. I saw the receptionist who seemed incredulous but eventual produced a very dishevelled waiter, who slowly set out a buffet for our party and one or two others. So a half-breakfast for us as we had a plane to catch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one day at the start of my trip and three days at the end . It was very quiet when I was there as it was out of season , everyone was very friendly from the door man to the cleaners . The food wasn't great & watch the prices of beer by the pool ! At least it's only 5mins from the main town

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This felt like a hotel in old worlde Britsh Raj days, very grandly decorated! We stayed in this hotel with my family, my husband and I in one room, and my teenage boys in an adjacent room. The rooms were comfortable though dated and in need of maintenance, but I suspect luxurious for this part of the world.We had breakfast every day (included in the package) and the staff knew our regular breakfast orders every morning! We had dinner twice in the restaurant, the a la cart is much better than the buffet which was a little average. The staff are super friendly and eager to assist and were never far away to refill your tea or bring you more bread or open the door for you with a salute! Lovely cocktail bar overlooking superb and well kept gardens. A welcome respite from the hustle and bustle and hurley burley of Kathmandu street life just outside the door!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malla Hotel

Address: Leknath Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malla Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Malla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malla Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.