We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durbar Square

Durbar Square
Kathmandu, Nepal
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$80*
and up
Cultural Walking Tour of Kathmandu: Swayambhunath...
Ranked #11 of 59 Attractions in Kathmandu
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monuments, temples and wandering animals dot this bustling town square, which is also where Nepal kings are crowned.
Villar Perosa, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A magic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The ancient part of Kathmandu is a jewel , well preserved , with its temples , palaces of an unique architecture , ornate windows , open markets and holy men boasting incredible length of hair and beards . Despite the crowds thronging the heart of the city , the atmosphere is a magic one , as if the history of this old country could be at your fingertips .

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    513
    249
    36
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Square thats not at all square in attetude.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I'm going back to 1972, whilst hitching all over the middle east and the Indian sub continent. Having made my way to this city at the top of the world, A city that sits on a plateau surrounded by high mountains. the valley is the only flat and level terrain in the Himalayan mountains, Allegedly the result of a huge Meteor strike back in the dawn of history.The thing that struck me, and endeared me to the Nepalese people was when i entered a Temple, unusual in as much as it was dedicated to the Hindu Elephant God Ganesha, with this country being Buddhist in its outlook.Upon entering i was surprised to see a seated Buddha in crossed legged Lotus position. Another jolt to my senses was opposite hanging on the wall a Cross with the figure of Jesus upon it..Of course there was a statue of our friend the Elephant God, Albeit only just taking pride of place over the Goddess Kali. Now to me a cynic, when it comes to the divisive nature of religion, seemed a very grown up and sensible arrangement, when upon asking it was explained simply and in a matter of fact tone.that although, the Temple was for Ganesha,. Followers of other faiths, no matter who or what were welcome to worship inside. A good and healthy arrangement to my way of thinking. The other thing that i took too was the government licensed shop that sold nothing but the best Hashish to be found anywhere.Subsequently closed down after demands from the Americans, who in my opinion interfere far too much in matters around the world. Again your date box wont allow me to select so i'll click on one, But ignore it as the year was 1972

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panzhihua, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Templetastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

D.S. is the heart of cultural and historic Kathmandu. If your into old buildings and fantasising about times gone by then this is the place to go to get that in Kathmandu. There is an entrance fee of 750 rupees per person. I feel is a little steep as cars and motorbikes erode the atmosphere a little but scores of temples and street vendors make for a fascinating place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“reliving history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

In the middle of the chaos of Kathmandu, lies a place deeply mired in history. From children playing with pigeons in the morning to architectural delights from bygone eras, this place is a must visit. Go climb one of the temples and just soak in the sights that will engulf you.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good architecture, the only place of relevance in Kathmandu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This place has a lot of historical relevance for Nepal. The different temples. The house of the living goddess. The museum with the history of the royal family of Nepal. Pretty good.

A guide is recommended. We thought initially that we wouldn't need one. But when we finally did, we thought it was worth it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durbar Square also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Durbar Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durbar Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.