We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Durbar Square

Durbar Square
Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Improve this listing
Visit Durbar Square like an insider
Top Rated
$80*
and up
Cultural Walking Tour of Kathmandu: Swayambhunath...
Ranked #9 of 114 things to do in Kathmandu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monuments, temples and wandering animals dot this bustling town square, which is also where Nepal kings are crowned.
Rehovot, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The square is very interesting. But if you must choose, better go to Patan or Bhaktapur.
The Durbar Sq in Kathmandu is very crowded. There are also lots of really annoying would-be guides.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    751
    622
    293
    48
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Early morning vist.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Can I suggest that you get up at 6am and get a early morning rickshaw ride. Great to see the city before it really gets busy and you can also vista Durbar Square with out paying the entrances fees. Jason

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Colours, sounds, stimuli everywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I liked the atmosphere, the colours, the architechture. Beware of pigeons, I saw some turists getting "baptised" at the Leaving Goddess temple.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dashain Festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was here for the Dashain festival this year. Very photogenic with the ritual sacrifice of Bullocks, goats and cocks, Thousands of people, A happy time for all. Except the sacrifices, Everyone that I wished a Happy Dashain to just beamed and wished me a Happy Dashain too. I was here 30 years ago and It was much bloodier,

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site - enough said! Amazing! The touts that hang around offering tours are a detraction, but just be firm. Also, if you are staying in Kathmandu for multiple days you can go to the official office there and get your ticket stamped so you only need to pay once (have your passport and an extra photo available)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durbar Square also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Durbar Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durbar Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.