We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely shangri la” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely shangri la”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great gardens.
Stayed in basic rooms as art of a group.
Worthwhile
Great restaurant and pool.
Great hot rocks massage
Good spot to start trekking in nepal.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    112
    62
    22
    9
See reviews for
46
71
38
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I had a great experience in Shangri-la, Kathmandu. The staff including manager was very friendly.
The hotel is nicely located with maximum distance of 5 km max to mostly eatable place.
The hotel is family oriented as it has nice swimming pool, tennis court, a beautiful lawn, cafe, 2 restuarants, bakery shop, spa etc to name a few.
For others I want to tell you one thing You are not staying in Versace Hotel - so dont compare or dream of that.
The best casino in nepal soo far.

Overall its a great place for family with kids to enjoy.

:))

Room Tip: Its better to upgrade to suite and top floor is best for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The grounds are lovely and the whole property is very clean and safe but I found the rooms to be quite basic for the kind of money charged. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajasthan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Quite well located, close to Thamel , the trekkers/tourist market. The lobby is quite ordinary and the Air Conditioning was not on (May is pretty warm). Even the Hotel van which picked us and dropped us to the airport did not have the AC on. The rooms were very comfortable, the housekeeping excellent. The Coffee shop was pretty shoddy, especially at breakfast time it was a mad house. The breakfast was good but the spread was not worth a 5* hotel. Hotel also has a casino but did not use it

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Beware, it is not a property of Shangri- La, the genuine brand. It is actually a 3 star hotel with the same name. The rooms are small with no quality interiors. One of the days during my stay, I thought of utilizing the bath tub but then I saw brown water running through the tap. One of my friends also saw few insects in the water. And this episode happened two days in a row.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This hotel is very well located and also well priced. Got a smiling welcome and easy check in at the hotel. The rooms and wash rooms are very nice with good wooden flooring.
Few hitches, the bed is not stuck to the back and if you try and sit it keeps sliding down.
Another irritating thing is no milk with the tea kettle, but outstanding tea bags. Outdated tv maybe from the 90s. Else the room functions well.
One morning at about 6 had construction above my room, like drilling very noisy. When I complained at the reception felt it was ignored. The breakfast is excellent with a large variety but the staff would remove it 10 minutes before the scheduled time, any if you are even eating they would ignore. Had the same experience and saw many guests complaining. Guys get a life this is the service industry, 10 minutes late pick up won't harm your schedule.
They have a nice massage parlour and a casino.

Room Tip: You could get a cold shoulder with service, else the property is great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We were here recently as part of a trekking tour group, and stayed here 3 days at beginning and 1 at the end. I'm very happy with quality of the place. Feels very nice and peaceful (Note that in my mind a 4 stars here wouldn't equal to a 4 stars in Hawaii, or Paris, for example -- bc after all you're in Nepal, and I don't expect ultra luxury accommodations). The grounds area are very nice, with a large dining room and pleasant outdoor patio for breakfast, drinks etc, overlooking lush green grounds. The rooms themselves are less impressive than the grounds, lobby. But it's perfectly clean and comfortable and we had no problem with a hot shower/water pressure. It's a bit of a walk to the touristy town center, probably 20 minutes. While I normally prefer being very central, given how incredibly hectic Kathmandu is, I find this location much nicer and don't mind the inconvenience of taking a taxi or walking to town. There a a number of nice, good restaurants right across the street (a Vietnamese restaurant right across from the hotel, and another one that starts with T or K...?). Not sure if room typically comes with breakfast included, but I would recommend getting that -- really good breakfast spread with everything, e.g., fruits, savory foods, individually prepared omelettes. Service also very professional. In short, would stay here again if i come back to Kathmandu. P.S. -- I don't think they have real queen beds, as our "queen" was two twin put together. Not a big deal for a few days, and I don't think most people come here to linger in their rooms anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nepal's Own five star boutique hotel in a quite diplomatic district. 100 Deluxe suites, apartments and rooms. Beautiful serene landscaped garden and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kathmandu
Shangri La Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.