We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.. but you would expect that with the price tag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dwarika's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dwarika's Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O.Box 459, Battisputali, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 134 hotels in Kathmandu
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel.. but you would expect that with the price tag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Dwarika's for two nights. The building is incredible in design and the rooms didn't disappoint; large, clean and very comfortable. Room service was spot on and traditional restaurant was good although one of our party of six fell ill afterwords. Expensive hotel but you get what you pay for. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    476
    112
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
70
275
48
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isola del Gran Sasso d'Italia, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Luxury and romance, in the middle of everything. It was everything we hoped for and more. This hotel is a great place for honeymoons and anniversaries. The staff, room and hotel location are excellent. The little touches really made our stay special. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Staying at Dwarika's is like living in a museum. It's beautifully done in newari architectural style with lots of tibetan art decorating the rooms and halls.
The staff is great, and the rooms are very spacious. All the rooms face away from the noisy road outside.The breakfast is amazing and they serve the best coffee in Nepal. They strive to be everything organic which is great.
However, the class of the hotel also gives really high expectations.
Minus for bad air in the rooms, the pigeons and that the cleaning personnel would knock on our door to clean the room before 10.00am (even when they knew we were still inside) every day of our stay. Also, they did not clean the floors every day.
Dwarika's location is a bit far from good restaurants etc, and the taxi drivers right outside the hotel rip you off (at least twice the price). The sad thing is that if you ask in the reception how much you should pay, they will give the same price as the taxi drivers. Walk 100 meters up the road and taxi prices drop to half.
This being said, Dwarika's will give you a truly unique experience of Nepal, and offers a much more "authentic" Nepali experience than the rest of Kathmandu. This is good value for money. And what you pay supports a great initiative.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed 1 night for a treat with the family. Most impressed - totally not your average could be any where chain hotel. Very distinctively Nepali. Beautiful rooms, architcture and decoration. Wonderful ambience. Good service. F&B a bit steep on the $$ and service was slow the (busy) Friday night we were there. Only a short walk to Pahupathinath temple. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Room 32 is excellent. The contrast between the city and the hotel makes Dwarika's a special place. Courtyard service could improve but overall a very nice experience (especially returning from lodge life during trekking).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The staff go out of there way to make you feel welcome. The service at the hotel was better than i have received at some top resorts in more established tourist destinations

Food was great
Atmosphere was pleasant despite bing packed

Will never stay anywhere else again but Dwarika when in nepal

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Arriving in Kathmandu is an assault on the senses. Sights, sounds and smells are overwhelming in their intensity.

Diving into Dwarika’s and you dive into a pool of calm. Pure escapism from what is going on just outside the walls and the world outside.

Dwarika’s my hub for a trip to Nepal and Bhutan. I was there three times in the space of three weeks. It is not cheap and I would not have booked it myself as the rest of my vacation was budget, but my tour operator must have got a good deal and I was grateful.

Everything is wonderful here. The staff, the service and the food. I was so dirty when I first arrived my socks stood up by themselves, but I was treated with the same graciousness as if I had arrived in a limo.

Room Tip: Over look the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dwarika's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarika's Hotel

Address: P.O.Box 459, Battisputali, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#6 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwarika's Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon a rich tradition of Nepali hospitality and incorporating some of the country’s most exquisite architectural traditions, The Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu is an authentic experience of Nepal’s ancient cultural heritage.Originally established as a heritage restoration project, The Dwarika's hotel has become known as Nepal's premier property, and a model for heritage preservation in Nepal and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Dwarika's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dwarika's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.