We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU HAVE ARRIVED!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dwarika's Hotel to your Saves list
Dwarika's Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O.Box 459, Battisputali, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“YOU HAVE ARRIVED!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was here with 10 friends...SIMPLY AMAZING PROPERTY! We postponed our city tour so we could soak up a night enjoying this property. It's like a quaint Nepalese village with lots of real carvings from temples on the grounds. We each had a suite and they were truly spectacular! We also were given free WiFi since we had suites. In the evening they had Nepalese dancers--very low key and cultural. One girl at a time dancing gracefully and beautifully. The service was IMPECCABLE!!! The gift shops were awesome--especially the reasonably priced jewelry...I want to go back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    124
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
85
305
56
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here before and after a fantastic trip to Everest Base Camp, hotel was fantastic in all ways,most welcoming staff, the rooms on both occasions were luxurious and the in-house CD (which I purchased) Nepalese fusion music has never been off my I pod. This hotel is a must.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, Consultant at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, much appreciated.
We loved having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you back, till than stay well.

Regards
Samira Burgess
Consultant
The Dwarika's Group of Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at both the beginning and end of our trip to Nepal on personal recommendation of our Tour Operator in the UK Imagine India (Their recommendations are usually based on the personal knowledge of their staff and having booked with them now several times, our likes and dislikes in terms of holiday accommodation and it definitely didn't disappoint). The hotel is almost a living museum beautifully decorated and crammed full of interesting artifacts. It also has a lovely courtyard area and pool where meals and drinks can be taken during the day. We booked a suite on both occasions and although different in terms of decor were both spacious and well appointed with fruit and cookies on arrival. The tea and coffee making facilities in the room were also very much appreciated. We ate in both the Nepali restaurant (9 course banquet) which was an experience and also in the main restaurant which also served an extensive buffet breakfast. We found both the food and service very good. Although 15 minutes drive from the main airport and given its busy location, the hotel and grounds are very peaceful with little or no aircraft noise. It is also within walking distance of both the Hindu Temple and Buddhist stupa (also accessible by taxi from outside the hotel - negotiate before your trip. It cost us 8NR return). We really felt at home in this hotel and would have no hesitation is recommending it as a place to stay whilst in Kathmandu. Would we return - absolutely!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, Consultant at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review, My team and I loved having you stay with us and would love for you to return for another wonderful experience at the Dwarika's, perhaps next visit will be to Dwarika's Dhulikhel Opening August 2013.

Please let us know should you require anything from this part of world.


Regards

Samira Burgess
Consultant
The Dwarika's Group of Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was fortunate to be invited by a colleague to dine in this hotel during our recent first visit to Kathmandu. The dining was excellent and now I am saving money for my 60th birthday which I am going to celebrate here :) I saw 2 rooms which were absolutely fantastic, spacious, and full of character. The story of the hotel is one of dedication to conservation of the Nepale's heritage. 7 more years to go to my 60th ......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, Consultant at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I appreciate the fact that you took the time to come and dine with us. We would love for you to celebrate your 60th birthday with us and we promise you we will make it a very memorable day.

Please contact me on gm@dwarika's.com once the date is set for your travel and I will make sure to make all the required arrangements for you.

Stay well

Regards
Samira Burgess
Consultant
The Dwarika's Group of Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

No much to say....just perfect, in terms of staff, food, location, history, restaurant, spa, shop....after your trekking its a relief from your days on the mountains. A must. take your camera because every single room is different but also the patio and garden are amazing. i recommend to go to the shop for hand made paper album.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, Consultant at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your short review is much appreciated by the team at the Dwarika's.

We look forward to welcoming you back in meanwhile should you require anything else from our little gift shop, please feel free to contact me and we will make sure you do get it all the way in Plymouth.

Wish you a very sunny long 2013 summer.

Regards

Samira Burgess
Consultant
The Dwarika's Group of Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We only stayed for one night before our return flight to London but really enjoyed exploring the grounds and the beautiful Nepali architecture. Our room was large and comfortable and we had a very good meal in their Nepalese restaurant. Free wireless Internet would have been nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, Consultant at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review and I have to say one night is not enough to explore the Dwarika's and the history behind this place.

We would love to welcome you back for many more nights in the near future.

Regards

Samira Burgess
Consultant
The Dwarika's Group of Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is stunning and beautiful. The rooms are incredible. Dwarika is the place to go for real Nepali Architecture. The restaurant is good and the pool is lovely as well. Any camera bug would take two days just photographing the place. I thought the service was wonderful. The only issues I experienced are the the hotel is in a busy and badly congested area. There is nothing close by for shopping, etc., everything is a Taxi ride away. The hotel is safely and quietly behind high walls with lovely garden areas, so it can make up for that. And the much advertised Spa is very expensive. There are many more Spas in Kathmandu that offer more; even luxuriously, for less
I was disappointed at the Spa for the money spent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, Consultant at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review. It was indeed wonderful having you with us and we would love to have you back soon or perhaps to Dwarika's Dhulikhel opening August 2013.

Stay well

Regards

Samira Burgess
Consultant
The Dwarika's Group of Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dwarika's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarika's Hotel

Address: P.O.Box 459, Battisputali, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwarika's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon a rich tradition of Nepali hospitality and incorporating some of the country’s most exquisite architectural traditions, The Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu is an authentic experience of Nepal’s ancient cultural heritage.Originally established as a heritage restoration project, The Dwarika's hotel has become known as Nepal's premier property, and a model for heritage preservation in Nepal and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dwarika's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dwarika's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.