We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace in the heart of KTM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kathmandu Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kathmandu Guest House to your Saves list
Kathmandu Guest House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   KGH Sqaure | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$37 (USD)
Ranked #57 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peace in the heart of KTM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is very popular and busy that's for sure.

Location: fantastic, in the middle of the historical and shopping / entertainment area; felt safe and secure at all times ( female solo traveller)

Hotel itself: Clean and spacious, with a beautiful garden courtyard in the middle; as well as an outdoor restaurant with a bonfire going every night. Very welcoming. A bit pricy though...

The hotel has got its own mini mall inside, with shops, beauty treatments, a travel agent. Anything a weary traveller might need; but the comfort and a safety blanket come at a higher price of course.

Rooms: I was assigned a smoking room, 501 I think, a beautiful mountains view, but smelled so so badly I asked for it to be changed. If you are a non smoker like myself, Pls, request a non smoking room in advance, as I needed to wait a while for another room to be ready ( arrived late afternoon). Rooms were clean, but with tired furnishings. Could do with a bit of an uplift.
Also no efficient heating, one old, little electric heater on the floor, and it was getting cold in Nepal, with 5-8C at night. I asked for an extra blanket, waited a long time, called 3 times to different numbers as too many tel numbers provided for various services, confusing who does what and at what times as not stated opening hours of specific services e.g. Housekeeping; maybe it's an idea to provide one generic tel number to customers?

Overall, very good, even if more on a pricey side.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    195
    119
    70
    61
See reviews for
68
127
125
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My experience relates to the restaurant and food only - we had been recommended this venue by fellow travellers who had raved about the location and food. We were eager to try it and arrived for lunch - it really is an oasis in the middle of a hectic noisy city. The garden area was the perfect setting and we were attended to by waiting staff immediately on arrival. Food was great and tasty and the drinks were served promptly.
After such great experience and knowing how frantic the Thamel area is we decided to return later that evening to try some of the cocktails - well worth a visit!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place has been going over 50 years and expanded regularly. It still retains old charm and our room was excellent with good view ovr the internat gardens. Breakfast ws basic but very nice. The location is brillajant, right in the middle old old Kathmandu

Room Tip: Pay top price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My family took three standard rooms which was very fairly priced, albeit a bit small. To our horror we discovered there is no elevator so we had a good 4 flight stair workout daily, but the staff and porters were excellent and helpful, and managed to get my elderly mother in law in a lower floor. The hotel grounds are lovely, and I wish I had more time to spend enjoying a cup of coffee there. The Sr Front Desk Manager, Mr Nabin Shrestha was outstandingly helpful, and most friendly. When we checked in again at the hotel after our Pokhara trip, they had ensured we got rooms on the ground floor!!! Fantastic service. My only grouse is that during load shedding, there didn't seem to be a working power point at all, so no devices could be charged or used. Highly highly recommended, and if you have the budget, go for the superior rooms in the new wing, which look lovely.
Oh and the food in the cafe at the courtyard of the hotel serves excellent Nepali food, so we didn't even bother exploring the rest of Thamel for authentic Thali although I was skeptical at first. (hotel food is always expensive and not necessarily good). Very reasonably priced. I had two massages and shave as well. An hour massage in a nice warm massage room was only USD18 or so.

Room Tip: If you're selecting the standard rooms, bear in mind there are no elevators, so if you are elder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloudcroft, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed a week and loved it. From the custom omelet breakfast to the super friendly guests.... nice. They arranged private cars and kept the room tip top shape. Some may not like the thin mattresses that are common in asia but we loved them. Good flat screen tv with lots of crazy Bollywood offerings and HBO for those who don't want to see the crazy India movies. Doormen salute you when you come in and the staff was calling us by name second day and throughout the week. We saved money by booking online in a standard room. No garden view but $39 ....really? Nice. Clean and in the very heart of Thammel.

Room Tip: Standard is what we took. They have fancier rooms also. A lot of the other guest houses have no sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktmgh, Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Namaste and Warm Greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH). We would like to thank you for sharing your staying experience at KGH.Your words of appreciation and gratitude has greatly encouraged us to go the extra mile in making our guests stay pleasant and memorable.
Since Yule is around the corner we wish you and your family a merry X-mas and happy new year.
Hope to see you in near future.

Regards
KGH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The KGH is a landmark hotel in Thamel, which is a 'to-go' tourist destination. The hotel has thoughtfully designed landscaped areas which provided a respite from the bustling Thamel streets outside. The staff is friendly and helped us plan our visit in Kathmandu. The plus point is the wide price range of rooms available there. We stayed in the New wing and were happy with the experience, but the shower gave extreme water temperatures resulting in quicker baths . Also there were few vegetarian food choices in menu. I appreciate KGH's initiative to reduce electricity consumption in rooms, since Kathmandu has 10-12 hours of load shedding and also propagate this sensitiveness with customers.

Room Tip: room price depends on the age of construction of building wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktmgh, Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Namaste and warm greeting from Kathmandu Guest House (KGH). We would like to thank you for sharing your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time at KGH. As far as veggie food is concern we do have limited menu but we are in the process of adding some good veggie dishes to our menu, please feel free to ask the member of staff about your requirement next time, we would be pleased to oblige. Electricity is a national problem lets hope it will be sorted out in near future.

Hope to see you again at KGH

Regards
KGH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great stay at the KGH. Very handy location to good shopping in Thamel. Staff are wonderful, food is great and we enjoyed the garden for afternoon drinks. Once you are in the grounds you wouldn't know how busy it is outside. We stayed a few nights in one of the older rooms which was very comfortable. Only one thing wasn't great - the shower is next to the toilet and hand basin with only a shower curtain across and no shower tray so the whole bathroom gets very wet.
We came back for another night after our travels around Nepal and we had a lovely surprise of an upgrade to the new section of the complex. Wow, wasn't it nice, very modern with a lovely view over the garden and great bathroom with a shower screen so no wet floor.
I would recommend the KGH, the rooms reflect your budget which is fine. Can't fault anything with the staff or food or service.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for, garden view rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktmgh, Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest
Namaste and warm greeting from Kathmandu Guest House (KGH). We would like to thank you for sharing your staying experience at KGH, your words of appreciation and gratitude have immensely encouraged us to go the extra mile in making our guests stay pleasant and memorable. Since Yule is around the corner, we wish you and your family a merry X-mas and Happy new year.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at KGH.

Regards
KGH Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Address: KGH Sqaure | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathmandu Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.