We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fascinating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kathmandu Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kathmandu Guest House to your Saves list
Kathmandu Guest House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   KGH Sqaure | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$37 (USD)
Ranked #57 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Keighley
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This place has been going over 50 years and expanded regularly. It still retains old charm and our room was excellent with good view ovr the internat gardens. Breakfast ws basic but very nice. The location is brillajant, right in the middle old old Kathmandu

Room Tip: Pay top price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    191
    119
    70
    61
See reviews for
67
126
124
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cloudcroft, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed a week and loved it. From the custom omelet breakfast to the super friendly guests.... nice. They arranged private cars and kept the room tip top shape. Some may not like the thin mattresses that are common in asia but we loved them. Good flat screen tv with lots of crazy Bollywood offerings and HBO for those who don't want to see the crazy India movies. Doormen salute you when you come in and the staff was calling us by name second day and throughout the week. We saved money by booking online in a standard room. No garden view but $39 ....really? Nice. Clean and in the very heart of Thammel.

Room Tip: Standard is what we took. They have fancier rooms also. A lot of the other guest houses have no sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktmgh, Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,
Namaste and Warm Greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH). We would like to thank you for sharing your staying experience at KGH.Your words of appreciation and gratitude has greatly encouraged us to go the extra mile in making our guests stay pleasant and memorable.
Since Yule is around the corner we wish you and your family a merry X-mas and happy new year.
Hope to see you in near future.

Regards
KGH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The KGH is a landmark hotel in Thamel, which is a 'to-go' tourist destination. The hotel has thoughtfully designed landscaped areas which provided a respite from the bustling Thamel streets outside. The staff is friendly and helped us plan our visit in Kathmandu. The plus point is the wide price range of rooms available there. We stayed in the New wing and were happy with the experience, but the shower gave extreme water temperatures resulting in quicker baths . Also there were few vegetarian food choices in menu. I appreciate KGH's initiative to reduce electricity consumption in rooms, since Kathmandu has 10-12 hours of load shedding and also propagate this sensitiveness with customers.

Room Tip: room price depends on the age of construction of building wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktmgh, Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,
Namaste and warm greeting from Kathmandu Guest House (KGH). We would like to thank you for sharing your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time at KGH. As far as veggie food is concern we do have limited menu but we are in the process of adding some good veggie dishes to our menu, please feel free to ask the member of staff about your requirement next time, we would be pleased to oblige. Electricity is a national problem lets hope it will be sorted out in near future.

Hope to see you again at KGH

Regards
KGH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a great stay at the KGH. Very handy location to good shopping in Thamel. Staff are wonderful, food is great and we enjoyed the garden for afternoon drinks. Once you are in the grounds you wouldn't know how busy it is outside. We stayed a few nights in one of the older rooms which was very comfortable. Only one thing wasn't great - the shower is next to the toilet and hand basin with only a shower curtain across and no shower tray so the whole bathroom gets very wet.
We came back for another night after our travels around Nepal and we had a lovely surprise of an upgrade to the new section of the complex. Wow, wasn't it nice, very modern with a lovely view over the garden and great bathroom with a shower screen so no wet floor.
I would recommend the KGH, the rooms reflect your budget which is fine. Can't fault anything with the staff or food or service.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for, garden view rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktmgh, Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest
Namaste and warm greeting from Kathmandu Guest House (KGH). We would like to thank you for sharing your staying experience at KGH, your words of appreciation and gratitude have immensely encouraged us to go the extra mile in making our guests stay pleasant and memorable. Since Yule is around the corner, we wish you and your family a merry X-mas and Happy new year.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at KGH.

Regards
KGH Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Nice hotel with a variety of lodging options - we went for the "new wing" at $ 120 a night but there are cheaper alternatives and all share the lovely and quiet garden away from the mad house of Thamel. Perfect option for pre trek lodging, in case last minute purchases need to be made, there is a great supermarket across the street with every thing you might need. Need equipment, forgot that fleece jacket, no problem a plethora of fake North Face, Mountain Hardware, Quechua you name it are available and most likely will do adequate service for your trek. The restaurant is surprisingly good and a perfect alternative to the offerings "outside"
My gripe, the promised airport pick up never happened despite 2 phone calls and the front desk just shrugged it off - not a way to treat a guest. ---- OK the cab ride was 8 bucks.

Room Tip: First floor garden view - first floor and higher lets you keep the windows open at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktmgh, Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,
Namaste and Warm Greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH). We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at KGH and we are equally delighted to learn that you had a good time with us; on the other hand please accept our sincere apology for not being picked up from the Airport and the Front Desk staff behaving irresponsibly. We have taken this matter very seriously on board for action by the Management and erring staff has been officially cautioned so that similar incident is not repeated in future.Since Yule is around the corner we wish you a merry X-mas and happy New Year.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at KGH.

Regards
KGH Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The KGH is the landmark hotel in Thamel - which seems to mean that they don't need to try very hard to attract guests. In particular, this place is popular with the organised tour companies. The main plus is the lovely garden, which is a quiet respite from the streets of Thamel. The newer (top-end) rooms in the newest part of the building are quite reasonable although the bathrooms are already getting tired. The "standard" rooms are pretty shabby - and there are plenty of other hotels in Thamel charging far lower rates (half, or less) for rooms just as good, or better. After several stays at the KGH over the past few years there are far better options in Thamel, and I won't be going back again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktmgh, Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,
Namaste and Warm Greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH).
We would like to thank you for sharing your staying experience at KGH. We pride ourselves being one of the best hospitality landmarks in Thamel that is centrally located with manicured garden. We are surprised that you did not enjoy your stay at KGH. We have got the guests coming to KGH for the last 40 years and they do not look left or right and have always been satisfied and happy with our level of service and quality which we are committed to maintain invariably.

Regards
KGH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One of my friend suggested this hotel and we wasnt wrong! They have extremely cheap rooms as well as extremely luxury rooms! you can choose according to your budget! Its clean and the location is great! Heart of Thamel! The staff is really helpful, they arranged a cake in the room for my dad's birthday!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktmgh, Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Namaste and Warm greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH).
We would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience at KGH. Your words of appreciation and gratitude have immensely impelled us to go the extra mile in making our guests" stay most pleasant and memorable.We wish you and your family a merry X-mas and Happy New Year.

Hope to see you again at KGH.


Regards
KGH Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Address: KGH Sqaure | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathmandu Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.