We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restful surprise in a busy area, worth a repeat stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kathmandu Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kathmandu Guest House to your Saves list
Kathmandu Guest House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   KGH Sqaure | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$37 (USD)
Ranked #57 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“A restful surprise in a busy area, worth a repeat stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The KGH is a landmark hotel in Thamel, which is a 'to-go' tourist destination. The hotel has thoughtfully designed landscaped areas which provided a respite from the bustling Thamel streets outside. The staff is friendly and helped us plan our visit in Kathmandu. The plus point is the wide price range of rooms available there. We stayed in the New wing and were happy with the experience, but the shower gave extreme water temperatures resulting in quicker baths . Also there were few vegetarian food choices in menu. I appreciate KGH's initiative to reduce electricity consumption in rooms, since Kathmandu has 10-12 hours of load shedding and also propagate this sensitiveness with customers.

Room Tip: room price depends on the age of construction of building wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    191
    119
    70
    61
See reviews for
67
126
124
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a great stay at the KGH. Very handy location to good shopping in Thamel. Staff are wonderful, food is great and we enjoyed the garden for afternoon drinks. Once you are in the grounds you wouldn't know how busy it is outside. We stayed a few nights in one of the older rooms which was very comfortable. Only one thing wasn't great - the shower is next to the toilet and hand basin with only a shower curtain across and no shower tray so the whole bathroom gets very wet.
We came back for another night after our travels around Nepal and we had a lovely surprise of an upgrade to the new section of the complex. Wow, wasn't it nice, very modern with a lovely view over the garden and great bathroom with a shower screen so no wet floor.
I would recommend the KGH, the rooms reflect your budget which is fine. Can't fault anything with the staff or food or service.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for, garden view rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice hotel with a variety of lodging options - we went for the "new wing" at $ 120 a night but there are cheaper alternatives and all share the lovely and quiet garden away from the mad house of Thamel. Perfect option for pre trek lodging, in case last minute purchases need to be made, there is a great supermarket across the street with every thing you might need. Need equipment, forgot that fleece jacket, no problem a plethora of fake North Face, Mountain Hardware, Quechua you name it are available and most likely will do adequate service for your trek. The restaurant is surprisingly good and a perfect alternative to the offerings "outside"
My gripe, the promised airport pick up never happened despite 2 phone calls and the front desk just shrugged it off - not a way to treat a guest. ---- OK the cab ride was 8 bucks.

Room Tip: First floor garden view - first floor and higher lets you keep the windows open at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The KGH is the landmark hotel in Thamel - which seems to mean that they don't need to try very hard to attract guests. In particular, this place is popular with the organised tour companies. The main plus is the lovely garden, which is a quiet respite from the streets of Thamel. The newer (top-end) rooms in the newest part of the building are quite reasonable although the bathrooms are already getting tired. The "standard" rooms are pretty shabby - and there are plenty of other hotels in Thamel charging far lower rates (half, or less) for rooms just as good, or better. After several stays at the KGH over the past few years there are far better options in Thamel, and I won't be going back again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

One of my friend suggested this hotel and we wasnt wrong! They have extremely cheap rooms as well as extremely luxury rooms! you can choose according to your budget! Its clean and the location is great! Heart of Thamel! The staff is really helpful, they arranged a cake in the room for my dad's birthday!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktmgh, Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
Namaste and Warm greetings from Kathmandu Guest House(KGH).
We would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience at KGH. Your words of appreciation and gratitude have immensely impelled us to go the extra mile in making our guests" stay most pleasant and memorable.We wish you and your family a merry X-mas and Happy New Year.

Hope to see you again at KGH.


Regards
KGH Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very handy for the sights of Kathmandu, pleasant gardens with bar. We were in a ground floor room which was very pokey for two. The upstairs rooms were much better. Open air dining area was attractive. Quiet, well-appointed refuge from the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu. They claim many celebs have stayed here, including The Beetles (sic), Chris Bonington, Doug Scott and, I think, Ricky Martin.

Room Tip: Do not opt for a ground floor room unless you are disabled (hotel has no lift) or a single traveller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaSapkota, Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Namaste and warm greeting from Kathmandu Guest House (KGH). We would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing you experience at KGH. We apologize for the room not being roomy and the problem could have been easily addressed had the front desk been informed about the same, please do let us know in future we would appreciate. As far as celebs are concerned from Hollywood to Bollywood they have stayed in our hotel and prefer KGH because of our location and atmosphere. We wish you and your family a merry X-mas and happy new year.

Looking forward to welcoming you at KGH in near future.

Regards
KGH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and staff were helpful. Safe environment so if you are a solo traveler, there are security guards and the grounds are well fenced. We only stayed for 3 nights and found it met our basic needs. There are a few small shops inside the hotel which have some nice touristy things and jewellery.

Room Tip: Ask for A/c if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeelaSapkota, Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Namaste and warm Greeting from Kathmandu Guest House (KGH). We would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience at KGH. Your words of appreciation has greatly encouraged us to do better in coming days.

We wish you and your family a merry X-mas and happy new year.

Hope to see you again at KGH.


Regards
KGH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Address: KGH Sqaure | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathmandu Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.