We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a gamble” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kathmandu Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kathmandu Guest House to your Saves list
Kathmandu Guest House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   KGH Sqaure | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's a gamble”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the KGH on 2 separate occasions. The first time they checked me into a old dingy courtyard room that smelled of mothballs. This was because they were masking the smell of petrol that was produced by the crane located behind the room. When My travel agent complained I was switched to a similar room across the way, that smelled much better. It did however come with an unwanted rat that would visit in the evenings. I was very worried when I retuned to KGH after my trek as the Teahouses were better than KGH in my opinion. However, I was pleasantly surprised to receive a room in the new wing that was very clean, modern and warm. You never know what you will get when staying at KGH and I like to know what I am getting when I stay at a hotel and cannot recommend KGH.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    235
    135
    78
    64
See reviews for
76
151
144
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nepal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Kathmandu Guest House is an institution in the capital, but unfortunately, it doesn't live up to its name. We booked garden facing rooms 2 weeks in advance and was promised a room. I was given a "good" room on the 5th floor, not garden facing, and looks more like a worker's quarters. I insisted on a change and got a garden facing room, but still, it costs $50 and I expected better! Furniture was old, room was dark, and manager was unfriendly. When my friend arrived the next day, they pulled the same trick, saying "Madam, sorry we have no garden facing room ... but we have a room for u." She ended up in a hole in the wall, no attached toilet. Fine she paid $12 that night, but I think an institution like this guest house has a reputation to maintain. Extremely poor service and unreliable, highly un-recommend.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel, unless you want to have the same bad experience. For the same amount of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We only stayed here for one night, thank goodness. Looking at the foyer you might believe that the hotel has high standards. I too saw the floor in the foyer being cleaned with a toothbrush but it's a pity that cleanliness seemed to stop at the foyer. The standard room we were given had been booked through our trekking company and it was very disappointing- shabby, dirty and uncomfortable. In addition the reception staff were frankly unpleasant and offhand and obviously saved their attentiveness for the guests who were staying in the higher priced rooms. To add insult to injury we were charged for wifi!

Room Tip: Stay at The Excelsior, around the corner, if you want value for money, comfort, helpful staff and fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Considering it is in the chaos of the Thamel district in Nepal - where electricity is 'shed' every day and water cannot be drunk straight from the tap - this hotel was great for the week our group stayed there.
Staff are pleasant and helpful if you show genuine interest in them and get to know them. They can organise anything for you and still be smiling at the end.
The rooms vary from basic to quite luxurious - relative to Kathmandu - and had some great areas for a quiet sit and think.
Downsides - WiFi was very slow and, after a week, the menu was getting repetitive. But it will anywhere...
Thanks to all the staff who worked so hard and made our stay a pleasant and enjoyable one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

When thinking about the Kathmandu Guest House the phrase 'Fur coat and no knickers' comes to mind. While sitting in the foyer we watched two men cleaning the grouting on the floor tiles with toothbrushes, but by the time we did get a room the room and bathroom looked as though they had never seen a cleaner!!

We booked a room in the KGH for the night before going off on our trek. When we arrived they told us that they didn't have a room for us that we had only made a 'tentative booking'. We had in fact gone to the hotel personally to book the room three days earlier, we'd offered to pay for the room / give our credit card details but were told that it wouldn't be necessary. When we arrived the reception staff were rude, inefficient and unhelpful. Eventually they found us a room in The Excelsior Hotel which was around the corner. After our trek we returned to the KGH as this had been booked for us by the company we were trekking with. This time they did have a room for us, although it took the inefficient staff quite a time to find the booking. The twin room was small, dark and smelt of drains. The bathroom was dirty and the shower didn't drain properly. The beds were close together, hard and uncomfortable. When we asked about breakfast we were told, unpolitely, that it wasn't included!! We'd had enough so went around the corner to Pumperknickel

Room Tip: If you want a good room go to The Excelsior Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Having stayed at the guesthouse many times in the past we didn't question booking it for this trip. We stayed in 3 different standard rooms both with and without bathrooms for a total of 10 nights spread out over our 6 weeks stay in Nepal. We prebooked our rooms knowing from previous visits it is nearly always full. Although all the rooms we stayed in were clean and serviced daily they are looking a little tired, but it didn't impair our stay and the beautifully manicured garden more that makes up for a slightly dated room! Despite the load shedding in Kathmandu there was plenty very hot water and power. We ate at the guesthouse numerous times in the garden and cafe, both service and food is always good. All the staff were very friendly and attentive from front of house right through to the room cleaners. The garden is the perfect place to relax, a tranquil sanctuary from the madness that is Thamel. The general ambience of the guesthouse is fantastic and I recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Pre booking essential, if you can afford it book a room in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We've stayed here at either end of two trekking holidays in the last 3 years as our Trekking company of choice has it's offices right outside. We found it clean and comfortable and in a great position for exploring and shopping in Thamel. An ATM is handily placed right in the hotel grounds. The courtyard garden is lovely and a great place for a relaxing cup of tea or a drink after a busy day. It can be true that you don't always get what you've requested as you need to keep in mind that the Nepali hate to say no to guests - if you get no response the answer is probably no. We've found you need to have a great sense of humour in Nepal but if you are pleasant and polite then you tend to get the same in return. We're hoping to return next year!

Room Tip: We've discovered that requesting certain rooms works...sometimes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Address: KGH Sqaure | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathmandu Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.