We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The attraction of an old palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shanker

Save Saved
You added Hotel Shanker to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 134 hotels in Kathmandu
Italia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The attraction of an old palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

We spent two nights in this wonderful hotel at the end of our trekking to Annapurna Base Camp and we experienced a very pleasant stay. Rooms were of high level, very clean and comfortable, in this old palace transformed in a modern hotel, with a large garden and pool with every service. Service very friendly.
Not very near to downtown (15' walking to Thamel), but taxis very inexpensive (200 rps, equal to 2 Euros).
Wireless Internet only in lobby and not in rooms, 4 Euros 1/2 an hour.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    294
    97
    27
    8
See reviews for
131
196
91
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.A.E
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed for around 4 days at the Shanker Hotel, the staff were very courteous and helpful and though the windows in most rooms are a little small, it didnt really matter as the long as the rooms and bath were spotless;beds were comfortable . The best part of the experience is that it was an old renovated rana's palace and you feel that when you see all the murals painted in the rooms as well as the glass paintings around the hotel. Breakfast is standard fare, though restaurant food was not upto much and I suggest you eat at the restaurants in Thamel which is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Taxis are also easily available.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed three times in Kathmandu over the last month - at the Shanker, the Dwarika, and the Yak & Yeti. We wanted a hotel with character, but also with a generator for the frequent power outages. The Shanker was the best overall, because of the location and value for money. The room was fine, and service was OK. The Dwarika was expensive and in a poor location for any sightseeing. The Yak & Yeti suffered from damp.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

As you've read this used to be a palace, so bear that in mind when you are there. This wasn't designed as a hotel, so some of the rooms are odd shaped. The floors can be split level, the window might be small and other little oddities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean, the rooms can be tight, at least the one I was in, but it was nice. It has a very good location, within walking distance of the tourist area and palace area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

There seem to be different room categories at this hotel, as we overheard some guests complaining about there rooms - and ours were absolutely fabulous well appointed guest rooms.
Make sure to be on time for breakfast. We slept in on the first morning after our flight and were sitting by ourselves for breakfast with all the staff watching us.
We also enjoyed a dinner which was very very nice (buffet). Tip: Book a massage with the desk. Very affordable and VERY enjoyable.
The only thing that turned us insane was the doorman/security guy saluting us every time we walked by. We felt it was a bit over the top. Oh - and careful with the shower; hot water really is HOT!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

I and my wife stayed in Shanker Hotel for ten nights and we really loved it. Its garden is magnificent and the swimming pool is just perfect! In addition, it is located near to Thamel and Durbar Marg where the tourists visit frequently (especially Thamel). The only thing I did not like was the available TV channels selection. We checked some other hotels in Kathmandu too, but regarding the room rates Shanker proved to be the best choice.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Very friendly staff and very helpful - for that reason I loved it.. but, What i did not like was that it was not possible to get a look at the view outside. We had a view at the wall with two small windows. Almost no view from the window, so room was very dark, and only a small window to open to get some fresh air. Housekeeping was really good. Breakfast very poor. Beverages too expensive. Location good if you want to go to Thamel. Very good hotel for first time travelers in groups to Nepal.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#20 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shanker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.