We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shanker to your Saves list
Hotel Shanker
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50th Anniversary Offer →
Ranked #39 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were there in the end of May. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good.
Room and window is small but nice.
Only problem: you can not rest at the poolside because there are many local people with children. They jump to water and they are very noisy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    383
    124
    31
    11
See reviews for
170
259
108
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

In comparison to many hotels I have stayed globally this hotel is not in my top ten, however this is Nepal and I am reviewing based on comparisons in this country and standards commensurate to this culture and way of living.

The Hotel is run by friendly professional management who have a workforce of dedicated helpful employees. I stayed in a suite room which was roomy and clean. The whole hotel is dated and tired but it is maintained in an efficient way by it's employees using all resources they have available to them. The breakfast room is large and has no atmosphere but again was adequate and fairly good for standards in this country.

The best part of the stay was being able to return to peace and quiet because of the grounds that this hotel is fortunate to sit in. Perhaps they should open up a pathway through the gardens towards the main entrance so that you don't have to walk along the whole entrance road way where taxis and cars frequent.

There was a problem with the satellite channels for more than 24 hours which we were not informed about and also the internet was intermittent but worked well between this. Again this is Nepal where some situations are not controlled directly by any hotel management team. It would have been nice to be informed of the situation.

Overall I enjoyed the stay and would come back here because I know you get hot water and a clean comfortable bed. It was my first visit to Nepal and I expected low standards of living but received better than my expectations from this hotel.

Nepal is an interesting country with beautiful , friendly people , it is landlocked which in my opinion keeps this country from becoming more prosperous.

If you are not sure which hotel to book and have this on your short list it will provide you with comfort , cleanliness and a safe place to sleep , it is slightly away from any central activity but taxis are available and the peace and quiet with the swimming pool in the gardens is a bonus.

Room Tip: Suite rooms are large and have the comfort of sofas in the living area which is worth the extra mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I am sorry to learn that our team could not satisfy your needs. Nothing that we say this point forward will change anything about the way you feel about your stay at our hotel -- but we do take each and every customer feedback seriously and dissect every critical remark to further improve the way we conduct our institution.

Your complaints have been duly noted and we will act on them so that future guests do not experience the same inconveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The gardens are the real highlight of this slightly faded old hotel. In a very hot and dusty and crazy city, it is an amazing refuge of green, space and calm. Not a fan of the over friendly and obsequious Indian style service, but I am sure many people like it.
Restaurant food good and very cheap.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Premium room for a lot more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello, Glad to know that you greatly enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope that you stay with us again!

Best, Pratik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Having returned from an intensive trek in Khumbu Valley (and sleeping on the Nepalese equivalent to plywood for a couple of nights) our expectations weren't particularly high for a hotel in Kathmandu. Hotel Shanker was a brilliant surprise - a stunning property, beautiful heritage building in a convenient location (walkable distance to Thamel and Durbar square) and the staff was an absolute pleasure upon checkin. The beds are comfortable, bathrooms are clean and oversized. Wifi works well in the guest rooms. An exceptionally charming ending to an incredible Nepalese adventure. Highly worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your detailed comments following your stay at our hotel.

On an overall basis, I am happy that we were able to keep you happy during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Hotel Shankar is located within easy walking distance of Thamel and Durbar Square but it provides a wonderful respite from the hectic nature of Kathmandu . The suites are spacious and great value . We enjoyed the breakfasts and the grounds and pool are better in real life than the pictures . Staff are friendly and plentiful . Having stayed at the Crowne Plaza four years ago this is a better option on all fronts ; authenticity , value and location !

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for the review. Appreciate your spreading the word.
Best,
Pratik S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Having shifted from Yak & Yeti due to the musty odor in the room, Hotel Shanker with its "period" and heritage was a mighty fine hotel to stay in (Indians please note that Rs.500/- & 1000/- notes do not get accepted here). The staff is very courteous and the elegance of the years gone by shows in the decor and the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello there!

Thank you for your most wonderful comments!

Glad to know that you appreciated all that we had to offer.

Look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I booked Hotel Shanker off a popular booking website for 4 days. Saved $25 per night compared to booking directly. Complimentary breakfast & wifi. Well worth the money. If you've been trekking in Nepal and want a little bit of old world charm to end your holiday, stay at Hotel Shanker. The rooms were spacious, western facilities, bed was extremely comfortable, air conditioner & television were perfect. The buffet breakfast caters for all tastes and has many selections. The staff are approachable and courteous. The Kunti Bar is fun. 200 rupee taxi ride to Thamel nightlife & shops. The pool area is fantastic with a great menu. I'd definitely come back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratik S, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the lovely recommendation.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Pratik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#20 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shanker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.