We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to see Kathmandu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shanker to your Saves list
Hotel Shanker
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50th Anniversary Offer →
Ranked #39 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
climping
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Good base to see Kathmandu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A good quality hotel by Nepali standards.
Staff riendly and rooms very clean. The breakfast was excellant with an array of local and western choices.
Also a good size pool.
A great benefit was the location..5 minute walk from the lively Thamel area.
Tip: take a torch with you as there a frequent power cuts and at night the streets are not illuminated and the standard of pavements and road are poor to say the least!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write down such a helpful review. I am happy to hear that you were happy with our breakfast spread and our hotel facilities.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Kathmandu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    382
    124
    31
    11
See reviews for
170
259
108
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hi,

A few point to note on this hotel:

1) The front staff are friendly but more fake and business like. This is not typical Nepal culture. Other staffs were overly greeting and clearly expecting tips. Made us quite uncomfortable.
2) Our room had plumbing problems for two days. Was quite irritating. We were finally upgraded after continuous complaining. However, I have to give credit to the head house keeping lady (a bit elderly, don't know her name but had red hair). She really was apologetic and tried her best to get it solved. She even arranged a temp room for us while they tried to repair. Even the next day, she kept asking if our new room was ok.
3) The hotel is actually a gorgeous palace. Beautiful garden. Some painting will do it good.
4) The breakfast is not as spectacular as other reviewers said. I travelled extensively in Asia and this is the lowest basic fare for a star hotel. No quality items e.g. the jam, cereal, butter,, bread etc were all real cheap stuffs. There were fresh fruits and juices which I would love to take but I usually would avoid as I don't know how it has been cleaned or handled.
5) We also ordered room service. That was pretty ok and price was reasonable too.
6) The complimentary mineral water was sealed but still leaking. So, we dared not drink it. This was a general problem in Nepal where we could not be sure of getting clean water.
7) Bed was ok. Comfortable enough to sleep.
8) Room is spacious
9) Bath also spacious but not that clean. Toilets n tub pretty stained. Would be nice if they had new toilets
10) walking distance to Thamel, but was of no interest to us.
11) Narayanhiti palace is just next door. Closed Tuesday and Wednesday.
12) If your room does not come with wifi package, it can be quite expensive for wifi charges. Go down the street to the sports shop whereby there's cafe along side it. There is free wifi there with good signal and decent coffee. In the next street, there is Barista coffee. Nice coffee and free wifi too.
13) There is swimming pool but quite small..
Thank you

Room Tip: 1.Use your local driver/guide to get the booking. They get a cheaper rate than us tourist. 2. Down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank for taking time to write such a detailed account about your stay. I love the photographs that you uploaded.

I am happy to hear that you loved the neo classical style architecture of our hotel. But I am surprised to hear about your comments from the reception staff. Customer satisfaction is our No. 1 priority. I will personally look into this matter and ensure guests do not feel that way.

Overall, I am happy to hear that you liked most of our service offerings. We have noted down the points where you were not satisfied and we'll be working on them right away.

Hope you see you again where you're in Kathmandu next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Historical building!
Excellent, friendly staff!
Stone's throw from the heart of the biz area - Thamel!!
Completely away from the bustle of it all, yet!
Icing in cake - great breakfast buffet in a wonderful ornate hall!
What more can one ask for?!!

We had a wonderful 4 nights in KTM thanks to Hotel Shanker!

Room Tip: Bathroom doesn't have exhaust fans, so keep the room a/c going after ur shower!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks for your review! Our chef's team could not be happier to hear that you loved the breakfast spread. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel is a bit rundown, but very nice for Kathmandu standards. The pool was great to soak in at the end of a long (dirty) day. It's definitely a historic hotel, so it was nice to have some culture. They front desk staff were relatively friendly.

If we'd do it again, we'd probably stay in a hotel in the middle of Thamel. They all looked equally as nice and we loved that area. This hotel is close to Thamel, but not in the middle of the madness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks for writing this review. I will take this as an opportunity to identify key areas where you were not delighted with us. Customer Delight is our No. 1 priority, and we take it very seriously. I am happy to hear that you were happy with our Customer Service of Front Desk staff.

Thanks again, for having chosen us and we hope you choose to stay with us the next time you're around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Hotel is well located within a short walk to the Thamel area with its markets and narrow streets. However despite this it has beautiful gardens and is a peaceful oasis in a frantic city. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was magnificent, and the food was good and reasoably priced. The pool was clean and with the poolside cafe a great place to relax in the sun. I would definitely return. Don't miss out on a flight round Everest!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I am delighted to hear about your stay. Yes, we are a 4 Star 4.4 acre Heritage property located in the heart of the city. Despite all the luxuries provided we are very reasonably priced. Most staff working here have been with us for more than 15-20 years. That's where the loyalties come from. Years of service and dedication to satisfy guests is our team's primary objective.

I am glad that you used our Travel Desk services to book that Everest Flight. Thank you for appreciating our hotel. I look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in 2 different rooms (2 weeks apart) and had a lovely time. The hotel used to be a palace so is very grand, some areas could be doing with a lick of paint but on the whole it is very nice. The rooms were of decent size with fridge and air-con. Beds and pillows were very comfy and we got a good nights sleep, the rooms were all very clean and tidy. Breakfast was superb, with a good choice to please everyone, with the usual cereals, bacon, eggs, fresh fruit etc and is of buffet style so you can have as much or as little as required, again the dining room was very grand. Overall a very enjoyable stay and would go straight back there if in Kathmandu again. It is in easy walking distance (15 mins) of Thamel and has lovely gardens and pool which is a quiet haven away from the busy noisy streets of Kathmandu. It is in a secure complex and all staff are very professional and polite, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thanks for your wonderful review! We're delighted to learn that we were able to satisfy all your needs during your short visit. In particular, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food. Chef Lama is very happy to hear positive feedback about his work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great location and superb old style building with most helpful staff.
Lovely greeting on arrival and check in kept quick and simple after our long flights.
Room not luxourious but very good standard, especially in Kathmandu and of good size. When problems with the AC, they fixed very quickly and could not do enough to help.
The dinning hall for breakfast is stunning and a superb buffet offering along with great unlimited coffee to get you up and going.
The restaurant is more intimate with great food if you want a night in.
The shops on site were surprisingly good given you have Thamel and the thousands of shops on your doorstep. I still managed to find my prize necklace there after much research locally as well as a more unusual pashmina for a fair price.
The reception staff were excellent, in particular Meenu who was not just efficient, but most kind and helpful.
The pool area is an oasis in this city and a welcome retreat at any time of day. To be honest, we hung out a lot at the hotel and pool whilst we aclimatised and got ready for our big trek.
Will definately be back as this is great value in an unusual setting with super facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Our staff members are very happy to have read your review! (Meenu is particular). We eagerly look forward to seeing you again on your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#19 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shanker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.