We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shanker

Save Saved
You added Hotel Shanker to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Shanker
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Secret Deal - (Private)
Ranked #31 of 133 Hotels in Kathmandu
East Berne, New York
1 review
“great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our stay was made perfect thru the actions of your personnel... Special Thx to Meenu, Raj Dongal, Ashok, Rajmendra, Syam and all others....the personal touch they provided added to the warmth of your hotel. Beautiful place great shower and thx for the generator that kicks in when the power go away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
They are all delighted to hear about your review! Special brownie points to them! Here at Shanker, Customer Service is our No. 1 priority. We will do anything and everything that is possible by us to make sure that you are comfortable. That is our driving principle. Thank you for having chosen to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    311
    100
    28
    8
See reviews for
138
207
92
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here either side of a trek that we did. We found the rooms to be comfortable, some are bigger than others; our first room had just enough room to get around the bed, whereas our second one was much larger and accommodated a couch as well as extra cupboards and shelves for suitcases etc. The bathrooms were clean and while not necessarily modern weren't outdated either.

We made use of the Kailash restaurant and the food was very good. Kunti bar was a cosy and intimate and a great way to relax after the day out. The hotel is a short walk to Thamel and it was nice to escape into a less bustling part of Kathmandu. The hotel is down a long driveway so there is virtually no noise from the street, you can almost forget the honking horns and manic streets out there.

We enjoyed the pool, the facilities were great and the pool bar with wait staff were a bonus. In the afternoons the pool is used by local children for their swimming lessons and it can feel as though you are interrupting them by getting in the pool. Also many people like to go and hang out at the pool fully clad, this could make some people feel a little uncomfortable as I definitely got rather a few stares whilst in my bikini, but if you don't mind it's really nothing to worry about.

The staff of the hotel were extremely friendly and always greeted us, even if we were walking past them in the building, gardens or even walking up the driveway. The only issue we had was with a lady at reception who gave us a difficult time when we wanted to exchange our money. She refused to change the amount we asked, saying that as we were trekking we'd only need this amount. At the end of the same day after some shopping, we needed to get more money exchanged - frustrated was the word of the day! Thankfully there was a man on duty and he happily exchanged the amount we requested - as it should've been done in the first place. Unfortunately we encountered this same lady upon check out, we asked if we could exchange the left-over money, but alas she responded with "You can do it at the airport." We had known that already, but we had wanted to do it at the hotel. We can't fathom why she would not do as we asked, surely the hotel makes commission from it. She may have thought she was helping us out, but it was more of a hassle for us than if she'd just done it as requested; we certainly didn't appreciate her abrupt, almost rude, manner.

On the whole however, we would happily stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
I apologize on behalf of the unprofessional behaviour of our receptionist. The matter should been dealt with more gently. The fact is it is the government's written law that Hotel Currency Exchange Counters can change foreign currency to local but we do not have the permission to exchange local currency to foreign. That is the Govt. rule. That exchange can only happen at the airport while departing the country.

On the whole, we're glad that you were happy with us and hope that you choose to stay with us again where in Nepal the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

The advantage of this hotel is that it suits a small budget.
The snacks are good, particularly the "pakodas".
It is close to big hotels like Radisson. The ATM is also very close to the hotel. The location is not in the middle of market and so it you are not bothered with crowd.
Beware of people who always expect tips from foreigners; but that is a general tendacy of Kathmandu.
It is advisable to hire vehicle from outside; since the travel desk of this hotel charge you more.
The corner rooms near the stairs are bigger. All rooms are non smoking.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for rating us on Trip Advisor! We're so happy to hear that you were happy with our restaurant offerings. I am very sorry that you were turned off with one of our waiters behavior regarding Tips. I shall investigate further into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

A beautiful building with garden and swimming pool, friendly and attentive staff. The rooms at first sight seem basic but in comparison with others in the city are actually very good.

The only downside is that there is no sign on the main road to let you know it even exists - and the building on the corner of the driveway had been demolished so was just a pile of bricks. Fortunately we were driven there otherwise we would never have found such an oasis of calm. However, it is really quite close to the tourist area of Thamel (but not actually in it like most hotels) if you don't mind a strange walk through local streets

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for describing our hotel as an oasis in the middle of Kathmandu! Yes, we are a 4.4 acre property in the City's Downtown area. The city authorities are widening the roads, hence our sign was collateral damage. Soon this road widening drive will be over and we'll put up our sign back on the road! Hope you stay with us again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Excellent service. Decor was grand and kept the historic value of the building. Rooms are spacious and very nicely decorated. Would definitely recommend it :) !!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your ratings! We're honoured! Yes, we go great lengths to maintain the historic character of the building. We've got history at every footstep of this hotel. Built in 1894, this was the palace of Nepal's erstwhile ruling elite. Acquired by current management in 1964, this has been a world class establishment ever since..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

we stayed there for 3 nights and the staff was extremely helpful. The hotel restaurant was great. Terrific food, although they take their time in preparing your dishes. Only thing we didn't like was a lack of exhaust fan in the bathroom and it's spaciousness. Very well decorated. We were told that it is an old palace turned into a hotel. DO contact Natraj Tours and Travels for local sightseeing or your entire itinerary for Nepal. They were so flexible w/ us and provided an awesome service. Mr. Tamang is my man....

Room Tip: Contact the hotel staff/manager Mr. Anil Shrestha, ahead of time and they'll take good care of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Yes, our travel desk is beautifully handled by Natraj. They are our sister concern. We are very glad to hear that your logistical needs were smoothly handled by Mr. Anil and Mr. Tamang. Our responsibility towards does not end with providing you with food and accommodation but also to ensure that your trip to Nepal will be memorable and organised. Hope to choose to stay with us again on your future visit to Nepal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I visited Nepal with friends in June 2012. Shanker was a nice clean property with very comfortable beds in Kathmandu - much better than I was expecting. It was within walking distance to Thamel and a couple of supermarkets, which was convenient. We ate several meals at the hotel and found them huge, very tasty and incredibly cheap. The pool area was large and well maintained. Negatives - internet in the BC is painfully slow, so be prepared and we called the front desk to book cabs for us a few times and found that they had forgotten to do so when we ventured down to catch them, which was disappointing, but not catastrophic. The building and grounds had a "palace" feel and we were treated well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you writing such lovely review about our Hotel. Customer satisfaction is our No. 1 priority. We take all aspects about your stay very seriously. We're glad that you we were able to have delighted you with our service and we hope that you decide to stay with us when you're in Nepal again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#19 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Venere, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shanker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.