We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit to Shanker Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shanker

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shanker to your Saves list
Hotel Shanker
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Secret Deal - (Private)
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Kathmandu
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“3rd visit to Shanker Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is our third trip to Kathmandu, and yet again we decided to stay in Shanker Hotel. The place is very welcoming, staff courteous, and very well located to get around town. Shanker is now pretty much the choice destination in Kathmandu for us even in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Having clients like you reassures us that we are doing things right. We look forward to more return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    326
    109
    29
    8
See reviews for
143
221
96
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I spent 4 nights in Shanker Hotel in April 2012. Beautiful hotel that is an old converted palace. It has a lot of charm and the staff were amazing. After sightseeing it was nice to get away from the chaos and noise of the city to the nicely manicured garden which provided a nice oasis to relax. I only gave 4 stars due to the food. The breakfast buffet was OK. Not great but not terrible. I felt for this type of hotel the food would be better. My bed was a bit hard but I think I just prefer a softer mattress naturally. Other than that, I had a delightful stay and would stay here in a heartbeat.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you very much for referring to our hotel as an Oasis! That we believe it certainly is! Our Chef's team works very hard to make sure that the breakfast is perfect. I shall note down your comments and investigate further into this matter and find out what might have gone wrong with the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the heart of Thamel the first few nights in Kathmandu. So when we arrived at the Shanker it was like an oasis. We had such a good time and relaxing time hanging out at the pool. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Great to hear your account! 90% of our guests spend complete afternoons just hanging around our pool and garden. I can confidently assert the fact that we have one of the best maintained gardens and pool areas of any hotel in the world. We are happy to know that you have such a great time hanging out with us. Look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

We just spent three nights. The hotel has very nice decorations. Service (morning breakfast, laundry and dinner) are very good. This is Kathmandu I believe what we get is luxury. We paid for our Internet which was really fast and stable. The only thing I like to point it out is the constant noises from water pipe (that was what we been told). My son liked it, he thinks it is funny. I was not amused though. I am not sure whether the noise is specific to our room or to other rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
You uploaded beautiful photos! Thanks for taking the time to do so! We have fit high pressure pumps in all rooms so that you get to take that perfect shower! Perhaps due to excessive pressure there was some noise in the pipe. Although it is a minor issue, I will have the plumbing team investigate into this. Overall I am happy that you were delighted with what we had to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

we needed late check out due to our tight schedule and they assisst! we realy appreciate them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
We're always there to help you out in any way possible. Be it late check out, travel plans or anything else, our team will make sure all your needs are met. Thank you for choosing to stay at Shanker and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My wife & I stayed at Shanker Hotel for 3 nights. The staffs were terrific (Ramesh, Meenu, Tabita, etc...) and the suite was great. Shanker Hotel is such an oasis in the middle of Kathmandu. The hotel itself has a lots of history and charm.
We also booked for a pickup at the airport on arrival and it was ontime. The taxi needs to have A/C though.

Lee P.& Dr. Jo P.

Room Tip: Book a suite. Terrific value for $20 more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
The reception team (Ramesh, Meenu, Babita and co.) will be delighted to hear about this. They work very hard round the clock to give Guests great service. I am happy that their efforts are delighting you. Thank you for appreciating the histroric nature of our property. It used to be the palace of the country's ruling elite about 50 years ago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanuet
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Shanker Hotel in Kathmandu. it is a converted palace. the whole building seems to throb with life and history and is spacious . Serenity defines it pretty well ! the staff was great, the currency exchange was pretty darn good ! the decor is wonderful and worth enjoying and examining. the staff alerted us to local happenings and festivals which proved to be the highlights of our stay in the Kathmandu region. can't say enough good about this hotel. if you are looking for nouvo industrial chic modern polished steel, which you can find in any city in the world, look elsewhere and be prepared for a second (or third) mortgage. loved just walking around the gardens too. Enjoy your stay ! We also had a view of Swayambhunath from our window ! (in the distance) . we'll be back !

Room Tip: you can count on a prompt response via email on whatever issues or concerns or questions you will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pratikshr, Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Yes, we are a 4.4 acre property amidst a bustling metropolis. It used to be the palace of the rulilng elite of Nepal as early as fifty years ago. Our hotel is packed with history and interesting stories at every turn. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shanker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#19 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shanker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.